Smoke

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--727006520.jpg

It had been a long night. The little boom has a cough which, in the way of babies, he expressed angrily throughout the night by not sleeping. Instead it seemed to be preferable to shout at me and the good lady in turn.

Sleep was as sparse as the hairs on a Spartan's chest and so it was that I found myself staggering into work wondering how I was going to get through the day when I barely knew who I was and with my eyes hanging out puffily like dugs baws.
A quaint Scottish'ism for having big red sleep deprived eyes.

kgzhz6ehc.jpg

Somehow I managed to order myself a coffee from the little cafe in the street where I work. Flopping out of the cafe door like a toad out of an old boot, I clutched at my coffee desperately and lurched onward.

You can do this BoomDawgy.

I told myself. Only a few more steps and I will be in and at my desk.

In my sleep-deprived fog I noticed I had stopped outside a little shop.

Fags.

I thought.

kgzhz6ehc_20181102150135759.jpg

Don't worry, I hadn't suddenly decided to become a homophobe. In Scotland, cigarettes are commonly known as fags. Something which can cause a little confusion when you visit the States and tell a local that you are dying for a fag.

I used to smoke. I had given up lots of times but when the little boom was born I stopped again, this time for good. Indeed, I had stayed stopped for over a year now.

The sleep deprivation was making me weak however and despite no longer ever thinking about them, some reptilian part of my brain was at the controls.

kgzhz6ehc_20181102150701386.jpg

Fags.

It demanded.

Smoke fags.

It commanded.

But I don't smoke anymore?!

I muttered feebly to myself.

It was not to be however, as if in a dream I saw myself go in and buy a twenty deck and a lighter.

Outside the shop, I lit one and inhaled.

Bleergh. It was harsh. Hot and harsh and stinky. I felt a little dizzy. But the reptile in my head was happy.

Smoke all the fags!

It commanded.

kgzhz6ehc_20181102150930464.jpg

I shook my head at my own weakness and walked over to the smokers corner outside my work. There was only one other guy there. An annoying looking bastard.

I continued to puff on my cigarette, all the while wondering what I was doing.

The other smoker sidled up. He waggled his own cigarette around at the surroundings as if it were a penis and he were trying to put out a fire with it.

Once there were many of us.

He intoned in a deep voice.

kgzhz6ehc_20181102161829030.jpg

Some of the sleep was starting to clear from my head and I gave him a stern look as if he were a small dog trying to mount my leg.

Aye.

I said tersely. I had forgotten about the camaraderie of the smokers. I looked in the other direction, hoping he would fuck off.

He didn't.

This...

He gestured around at the grubby little street corner again with his penis-fag.

This is all that remains.

He said gravely.

Aye.

I said.

I could feel my gander rising and not the sexy sexy one.

The other smoker seemed to be gaining in confidence. He gestured to some passers-by.

We were here before these people...

Fuck sake, what are you, fucking Gandalf or something?!

I snapped.

Eh? Am only making conversation mate?

Fuckin hell.

I walked over to a bin and pulled my cigarettes out and scrunched them up before throwing them in and stomped angrily into work.

Dammit, maybe smoking isn't the answer.

Sort:  

Kinda wish you did not explain fags, but the explanation is to be expected when dealing with Muricans are around. Also explaining that will save your ass in some states haha. You should go give that guy a hearty handshake for putting you off smoking again then run before he invites you over to meet the parents. Could get a bit faggy quickly.

Haha, yeah. He did me a favour for sure. I am glad I threw them away or I would be back on em. I'm sure.

It is funny the whole fags thing!

Coffee is the answer.

Or a nap.

Or 42.

I am heading home for a nap after what seems like a million coffees

Ah, the joy. I was lucky. At an early age, some adult figure in my family cured me. I think he was a wise man. Watching him smoke away with boyish wonder, he asked if I'd 'like a puff'. "Why yes,", sure I was ohso cool. I took a big drag on the thing, and MY GOD, choked and had a fit. After recovering the major blowtorching of my alveoli, and turning pea green, I swore them off forever. Luckily it stuck. Though here in the States, we are a bit more down on them than your neck of the woods. So maybe that story will only create some ire in my direction. Though I feel for you, seems a tough one to kick. And double though, inane standby'ers will obviously help you to move on.
Gad, I hate not getting enough sleep too. More annoying than inane babblers.

Firstly, I'm an American and I do say fags, but of course I spend a LOT of time in England so people usually excuse my odd jumble of England, New England, American words all higgedly piggedly tossed like a fresh Spring salad!

I have never been addicted to fags, in that I never smoked like a chimney, but I do have them occasionally. Particularly when I AM in England as I find myself more in cities and at sidewalk cafes or behind the local and a fag just suits me then. I make it worth my while though and get good Dunhills or French cigarettes. And if I can't find filterless, I cut that bit right off.

Sometimes I picture you, in your Scottish ways, in the mix of one of my favourite shows, Still Game. I was so excited to see there were two more seasons I had not seen, but sad to see that season 9 shall be there last :(

Well this was an odd sort of rambling comment, see what becomes of one when their daily steemit schedule is interrupted?

Oh, and sorry about the 'wee one' I hope she gets over her cough.

Still Game! What an excellent show. I use to love it but haven't caught the last season yet.

Hehe, that's how I used to show, I think it's the reason I can stop quite easily!

You wanted to smoke quietly but they invaded your privacy. They didn't sense your aura of dominance surrounding the place. It is best to find another place to smoke which privacy is at the utmost importance. Upvoted!

A man needs privacy!

Come visit Colorado, our fags will put any shouting little boom to sleep in about 30 seconds.

Hahaha, yes, I have heard this!

oh sir meesterboom! you really tried the fags again? They taste like crap after a year don't they? Just think, if you went back to them you could hang out with the annoying guy everyday!
By the way, the artwork is amazing!

They do, they were pretty rank. To think I used to love them!!

I agree with @ocrdu , the only answer is 42 (sure, also coffee and a nap)! :P
I have to add "fag" to my dictionary, because (sorry) I use to smoke :(

Hehe fag is a great word but you have to be careful where in the world you say it!

Coffee and a nap worked wonders!

The only cool smoking circles left are the ones outside of bars...I realize this is because it's all the people who wisely quit the sticks save for those magical drunken nights out :)

Oh man even outside bars it's sparse in Scotland now. It's weird!!

This could never have happened to me.

I bought my children when they were at least 3 years old!

That's the way to do it, it skips all that sleepless nonsense!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88