Smoky Wolfy Beers!

in #life6 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20180811135209026.jpg

Hangovers! Why? Why would anyone invent such a fiendish thing?!?

Yes, I admit it. I was out last night. On the lash, the ran-dan, on the mawkit and a million and one other ways of describing it. As a result I am feeling very delicate. But as someone wise once said...

The beer must go on!

So I have roped in the good lady to help me with the tasting because my mouth tastes of ash and crushed hope.

I hope she is up for the challenge.

Firstly we have

Datdud_20180707150822755_20180714102056118_20180721131224161_20180728163501919_20180811142056012.jpg

A smoked witbier? Well, I don't mind if I do. Let me at this little sparky beast!

20180811_154010.jpg

What. The. Fuck.

I gave it the gentlest of pours. I even used my patented lady-cheek stroking hand and this is what I get? Boo hiss. Try again.

20180811_154142.jpg

That is as good as I can get. I am distinctly unamused. What does video man say?

There you have it. There is no smokiness and it tastes like washing up liquid. Or as my American cousins are fond of saying, dish soap.

I will give it 4/10 booms simply because it might not be as bad as my kebab mouth says it is.

Hmm. Oh sweet Tempest Brewery, can you save me once more?

Datdud_20180707150822755_20180714102056118_20180721131224161_20180728163501919_20180811142448380.jpg

I do like the name, The Wolf Of Selkirk indeed. The can is a barrel of riotous colour too. Can it set the juice loose aboot my Hoose though?

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

It's a stunner on the pour. Look at that mango-esque gold colour. Like the left breast of a luscious leopard.

To the tasting!

Ah, that is lovely. Passion fruit and hops all wrapped up in a delicious IPA coating. This is a balm on a troubled man's soul. A solid 8/10 booms.

Look how pained I am in the video! Poor hungover man, I sense his bed is calling him!

Cheers everyone.

20180811_155655.jpg

Have a happy weekend!

Sort:  

Any beer that pours that much foam deserves the sink. Good on you for having the bravery to do this in such a state. I could see the anguish in your eyes. Thankfully you finished off with something bearable. Nothing like a little passion fruit to save the day.

I am quite surprised to be saying the same. Long live passion fruit!!

Well, that's what you get after a tenner. A fruity beer for a winner and foam that didn't seem like it would go down! Have you found out what was the second hall of famer??

No. I thought it was the old engine oil. But it was a 9. Maybe there was only one 10?

Perhaps we were only lying to ourselves, thinking that we should knock down Traquair from the lofty pedestal we perched it upon. For the good of our sanity and good public standing, that is. Perhaps we deluded ourselves into thinking there was a great hall where there are at least two choices of beverage that can be supped from the teats of the fertility goddess. Not because we were insecure, but because we didn't know any better.

Alas now there are truly two. All hail Traquair! All hail the Double Barreled Chew Chew!

Huzzah! I agree, we shall be happy in the twoness!!

You know what they say, one is lonely, two's a company, three's getting freaky!!

My friend moved to Holland and they also have that Witbier thing and his reaction was about the same. O how brave you are to still do the weekly tasting with a hangover. A true warrior hahaha

I felt that way, horribly it perked me up for about an hour and then it was all bad again lol!

O and it is true, even though I am still in my 20's we cannot party anymore like we use to - or no, we can still party that way, we just take longer to recover....

Oh man, wait till you are in your forties, recovery takes forever!!!

The first beer was not what you expected and I leave a bad taste in the mouth, but the second compensated the bad taste of the first, in fact even looks more delicious!

That is a fair summing up!! I liked the second very much!

OK, we got your score, what was the Good Ladies score?
Your taster was overused from the night before, therefore, suspect..
The clean-living Good Lady, who lives the life of a paragon, would have given a truer score.
Beware, she may suggest doing the tasting just before bedtime, recommend doing a couple of weeks testing at once, and in the glorious feelings of some good beers a change in your lifestyle in the (9 months) future could occur.

Hahaha! In that case she will be getting kept far away from any more beer!!

you miserable git.
all the petticoat brigade will be after you.
You can sample all the good brews, apply a little pressure for bedroom frolics and that is OK,
the poor "Good Lady" can't.
so long it's been good to know you :-)

It's a man's world do they say ;0)

Another master class of beer tasting the @meesterboom way. You obviously like giving good head from the first one. I also find it crappy no matter how carefully you pour some beers like to boast.

Good head, lolz!!

It was very bizarre, I don't think I have ever seen all foam before

Beer tasting with a bad hangover, you are truly a king among men!

Lolz, oh it was a bad one alright!! Horrifyingly the beers have seemingly sorted me out and now I am full of the jazz!

Thankfully the Good Lady is there to help out with the tasting. She's done well! lol the first beer had a detached head eh? Dead before it ever made it out of the can lol..blech!

Luckily Tempest saves the day :D

It seems like Tempest always save the day!!!

Lol, she quite enjoyed sharing the beer today!

Seems like the sensual look of that woman on that bottle was just to frame you and a cover up for that foamy (or should I say phoney?) beer.

Cheers.

Hehe, you got it right. That must be their plan, fill everybody with a picture of a nice lady to get them to buy it!

Hey man! You should review some beers with "zero hangover" effect! hahahaha There is something like that in the world? Imagine: you drink like 20 beers, all the joy and happiness but with no after effects! I think there is a sausage in Germany (I'm not sure) with added taurine to fight the hangover (kind of red bull sausage)

Haha, that would be a great thing. Then again can you imagine how much beer would be drunk if there was no price to pay!!

The real question here is:
Is this sausage London sausage? (you know, named after the cockneys)
https://steemit.com/life/@meesterboom/thursdays-with-uncle-boom-27

Ah, that was another one of my favourites!! I presume it would be!

Mad Agnes! That good old Mad Agnes. I was actually reminded of it 3 weeks ago by that horrid potato beer, it did seem to taste like some sort of weak Mad Agnes.

Though now that I'm thinking about it, perhaps that episode is best forgotten. Uncle Boom was actually nice to a peon! (Well, he felt that it was nice, anyway). Camaraderie with a peon? You should know by this point
agentnvrtells.jpg

Haha, but was he nice? Did he really give him a bottle of mad Agnes??

agentnvrtells (1).jpg

Hmm, poison. An interesting take on things. Not the way I interpreted it, but then again, you are the author... though I suppose by this point it's as much anyone else's to interpret as it is yours. I just thought he gave him Mad Agnes (a blessing and a curse) for managing to amuse him and play such a great joke on the unwashed masses.

You know, Uncle Boom isn't actually all that bad. He actually had a bit of a generous spirit, so long as whoever is on the other end doesn't annoy him or act above their station. You remember the early episodes, don't you? And consider the case of Button - Boomy treated him rather well until he decided it was worthwhile to betray him.

He is indeed a fine chap as long as people don't presume to be alone themselves. And if they are loyal then he is too. I think he is a smashing chap!

I actually didn't know which I preferred, at first it was going to be the bottle of piss that they had been using. Then I thought it would be Mad Agnes. In the end I left it ambiguous so that anyone could decide.

I liked button, I liked his recruitment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82