Solder

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1743737061.jpg

It was a typical lazy Sunday afternoon. The children were running about like mini Viking berserkers. Their battle cries loud and piercing.

Throughout the midst of the battle, I heard a knocking at the front door.

I looked up at Mummy bear who was waiting in the wings and reached out a hand. She reached out for it, tapping herself in and leapt into the fray.

15522r401-picsay.jpg

I got to the front door and smoothed my clothes down so it didn't look as if I had just been jundered by an enthusiastically romantic Elephant.

On opening the door I was greeted by my older neighbour, The Jim.

Howdy, neighbour!

He boomed at me with the cheer of a man whose children have long since grown up and left home.

Alright, Jim. How are you doing?

I replied with as much cheer as I could muster on a cold Scottish, slightly hungover, Sunday morning.

15522r401-picsay_20190310144652999.jpg

It was just a quickie...

Said The Jim with a glint in his eye.

We both chuckled as if in some alternate universe it really would be a quickie and we would be frantically playing whack-a-mole with our pork hammers behind the backs of our wives.

Aye, mate. What is it?

I asked.

Can I borrow your soldering iron?

The Jim grinned.

I looked at him in puzzlement and waited for him to elaborate.

Oh don't worry, I've got plenty of solder! Just the iron I need, mines is broken.

15522r401-picsay_20190310145708013.jpg

I stared at him blankly.

Erm, haha! Right you are!

I made to close the door wondering if the dementias had caught up with him.

The Jim raised a hand as if to block the door.

So can I?

I swung the door back open and stared at him intently. It was a questioning stare. A stare so mighty and piercing that it had broken many a man and the occasional animal.

What are you talking about, Jim?

I said exasperatedly as my stare steadfastly refused to break down his brain shield.

Now it was his turn to look confused.

I just want to borrow your soldering iron? I mean, you DO have a soldering iron, don't you?

He sounded both a little cross and slightly amused at the fact that a man might not own a soldering iron.

15522r401-picsay_20190310145954362.jpg

I don't have a soldering iron, Jim?

I replied, my face crinkling like the skin on a baked potato that had been left out of the oven too long.

He recoiled slightly as if I had invited him to the ballet.

What?!?

What do you mean, what? I don't have a soldering iron. Why would I need a soldering iron?

I said.

I was beginning to be a bit narked, this was turning into a mammoth doorstep conversation. The Good Lady might need reinforcements at any second. In fact, what if they had beaten her and had already tied her to floor Gulliver style?

You don't have... What the??! You can't be serious? You are kidding me, right? Hahhaha, oh now I get it. You are teasing old Jim! Well, good one, you got me!

He clutched his chest as if he had just been shot and laughed, shaking his head at his own folly.

No seriously, I'm not joking. I don't have a soldering iron.

The Jim narrowed his eyes. All joking wiped from his face.

You... don't have a soldering iron?

He looked as if he was being asked to dip his baldy Weimaraner into a bowl of custard.

Nope, never needed one.

I watched The Jim's face as emotions warred across it. Eventually, it looked like disgust wearing a crown of contempt won.

Right you are.

He stated grimly as if he would be back later to set the house ablaze.

He marched off back to his house. No doubt the insides of which gleamed with once molten metal.

I went back inside. Remarkably it was quite calm.

What did The Jim want?

Asked the Good Lady.

He was asking to borrow a soldering iron. You should have seen his face when I said I didn't have one.

I laughed.

You don't have a soldering iron?

The Good Lady gasped in what sounded like horror.

That's it, I give up.

Sort:  

Wait, you don't have a soldering iron? Shame on you, what kind of man doesn't have a soldering iron! I sleep with mine under the pillow in case I need to solder something in the middle of the night...

PS: You are not alone, I don't actually have a soldering iron too

What!? You DON'T have a soldering iron!?

What the hell kind of man are you!?!

Lol, we could go round in circles for ages :0D. He was pure baffled at the idea a man didn't own one.

So am I, to be honest.

But what!? I mean why, I mean, my flabber is gasted!

You can fix electronics with it. And re-attach jack plugs to their cables. And look interesting and smart while you inhale fumes.

Oooo, actually I could do with fixing Jack plugs!!

A real man doesn't need a soldering iron... a real man uses duct tape for everything!

I think the two might be linked!!!

Meanwhile my partner wants a soldering iron but we couldn't have fun things like that and bunsen burners with the adhd child in the house XD Next house we're looking at has a workshop and the adhd child is older and less inclined to set things ablaze so these are now possibilities XD

So did you get a soldering iron after all that? XD

I ordered one from Amazon. I am going that when I have one suddenly everything will need soldered!!

Lol, I can imagine flame causing things are a matter of great care!

😂

Don't look over here for understanding. Even.... I .....have a soldering iron. I've had it for years. I think I have used it twice LOL....... but I STILL have one.

Omgz!?!

Like what did you use it for?

It's been too long. I can't remember....... some crafty thing I think....

...but I still have one.

My neighbor has WAY more toys than I do. I don't think he'll be coming over to ask to borrow it...... but if he does.......

If he does, you will be ready!!!

Listening to Grace Jones on vinyl whilst reading your post, I have a conflict of interests lol.

Haha, yes you really do!!! ;0)

Traveling Willburys now, ah that's better. :-)

There you go, all fixed!

Pink Floyd now, getting dark :-)

Not easy to buy here, so I grow my own. :-)

hahaa i don't have a soldering iron either, but then, i'm not a man so i don't count lol

I'm absolutely mystified as to when I would ever need one!!

probs when your thingamabob disconnects from your thingamajiggy..then you might need one.

Phew, I don't think that's ever happened or will!

You really should get one. They're pretty handy to have. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, I am going to get one now, it seems I have been missing out!!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Hurrah for the luvbug!! :0)

that is just the start, then you get the gas welding bottles, then upgrade to the fill neon gas arc welder.
then when the little Booms break their favourite toy you can instantly repair it for them.
during the weekends, particularly Sundays, you can crawl into your men cave, put on the welding helmet, with very dark, no light allowed, lens, put the creeper under the car and gain an extra few hours ZZZzzzzzz, "Just thought I herd a bump and was checking it out"

Lol, I dread to think what kind of toys they might have that would be fixed by an arc welder!

It might be worth it for the crazy helmet though

On Mondays, many years ago, before you were a glint in your Dad's eye, we were working on Vampire Aircraft, that are close to the ground. We would go under the wing on a creeper trolley, undo a couple of panels and pass a piece of thin rope in one hole, along inside the wing, and out the other hole, add a couple of nooses that fitted over the wrists, and lay back to collect a few ZZZzzzzs
The bosses thought we were working, and so dedicated, they worked through morning tea time.
Can't really do that with a computer unfortunately.

Lol, that is rather clever!! Yes, with a computer the effect might not seem so good!!

haha! well if that don't beat all, no soldering iron huh? And you managed just fine in that condition all these years! lol. I have one but I never use it. This line cracked me up.."He recoiled slightly as if I had invited him to the ballet."
And the artwork is hilarious!

I have managed absolutely fine. In fact, I have now ordered one and so can't think what I will use it for!!

Did you really? lol. that's priceless! Unless you're repairing electrical wiring or connections there are very few uses for one but maybe you can think up some new ones.

I have a little soldering iron use it for jewelry making....dang Boom!...you don't have a soldering iron?!?!?...what the hell???....lol

upvoted and resteemed

Ha, ridiculous, I just never knew they were a thing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04