Sweet Mother Of Donk Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20190316185600613.jpg

Look at these beauties!! Two astonishing gifts from the grizzled Gods of beer. And what fruity gifts they are. A strawberry praline versus a sour cherry chocolate stout!?! The latter being barrel aged too!! Magnificent.

Am I sure I didn't get the cake shop and the beer shop mistaken for one another!?! Perhaps I did, that would be the least of my sins on this earth I am sure.

They are both a couple of strong un's so without any funky dunk do, let's get fruity! That's code, for drunk!

yfufxyyx.jpg

First up, let's deal with the elephant in the room... An American Stout, what's that? Isn't a stout just a stout? Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, you're my only hope?

Not only American but hoaching full of unusual things to find in a beer. I certainly don't think I have had hazelnuts before.

So here goes...

20190316_194408.jpg

Well, well, well. She's a fine looking one alright. All tan and black like a sassy liquid Doberman slinking into my little stubby receptacle.

I like the look, it must be said!

To the taste-mobile! Na na, na na, nah nah, nah nah, beerman!

Oh flubbery jubbery, this is a good one! It's bitter but the bitterness is offset by the sweetness from the strawberry which, almost fortunately you can't really taste. Instead it's roasted malts, coffee and a pleasing hazelnut woody background.

I couldn't taste the American in it but I tell you, this is so Woodily delightful, if I were a hedgehog, I would live in it! 8/10 booms!

Hurrah for that! We are already easy ahead of the dismal tasting last week. The aftertaste of which haunted me for days.

So, after a fine start. What next?

yfufxyyx_20190316200215481.jpg

Cherry? Chocolate? Isn't this a gateau!?

As Spartan thingymybob from The 300 would say: This is madness!!!

I was sold on the bourbon barrel aging. But was I sold a French chocolate pup? Let us see!!

20190316_200735.jpg

No brown or tan here, this is straight up black. Black as a wet Otter's arse. And probably just as shiny.

Well I'm no stranger to a wet Otter's arse so without further ado.

Oooffft!! Flippity flap, man, it's kind of like when you drink the vinegar from the jar of jalapenos. It's horribly addictive. This obviously is much nicer than that. But boy, that is sour. The bourbon barrel aging is quite subtle but it suits it.

After the sourness comes the bitter from the chocolate and then the sweet vanilla tones of the bourbon. Awesomes!

I am muy feliz as they say in Japan!!! 8.5/10 booms!!

Well that wraps up a pleasurable week. Who knew that life could be so good?

Time for me to demolish more of these cheeky chaps and pretend I am in a submarine.

Dive dive dive!

20190316_202313.jpg

Have a good weekend everyone and cheers!!

Sort:  

Hey man u makin me tersti!

Then pop the top on a cold one!! :0D

I’ve moved on tonight!

7D9986EC-2D14-4887-A8ED-A98E0AA20BB5.png

Oh my, that looks pretty dashed good. I am quite fond of a prosecco cocktail!!!

Cool, refreshing and packs a punch!

Hehe, they always do. I am quite fond of a Caribbean royale which is Banana liqueur, white rum topped up with prosecco. It tastes fantastic bit lordy ho, what a punch!

My wife says that we are destined to meet one day. I hope it is on a Saturday at beer tasting time.

I hope it is at the very same time, in your Jedi of the woods!!!

I'm glad these were much better than last weeks - no need for the walk to the fridge this time!

How many did you have of each?They both sound unlike a session ale but tempting nonetheless 🍺🍺🍺

They were awesome indeed. I usually get two of each, which is great if they were like last night but shite if they were like last week!

After a wine with the missus I felt quite gished!

what a great change from last week.

I was quite happy thankfully!!!

In more ways than one, I'll bet.

yipeee a double header to the good side! I can't quite explain it, but the earthiness of a farmer's sock quite excites me lol

Bitter chocolate has come up in quite a few things I've had lately, from fiery chocolate hot sauce to bitter chocolate over melon. It must be becoming a 'thing'

Ooh, right enough. I have seen it many a place myself. A bitter chocolate hot sauce should lie a lovely thing indeed!!


and you are an entertaining addition to every weekend.

Hehe, I do my best! Maybe the beer helps! ;0)

Strawberry praline beer just sounds weird. Strawberries and pralines should be on a cake! But the sour cherry choc... bitter chocolate. Mmm - I'll have to try this one.

I thought the same, I was like whaaa? When I saw the strawberries and Praline. Thankfully three strawberries were not discernible in it at all apart from lending a slight sweet edge.

The sour cherry, that was funny. My first sip I thought one of my eyes was going to pop out but it actually turned out great. Madness!!

Literally eye-popping! I have to try this.

I hope you like it!! The beer and not your eyes falling out that is

Hahaha! Wait and see.

You certainly have a talent for writing in a lighthearted, manner which keeps me wanting to read your reviews all the way to the end... and with a smile on my face, I might add (so I will :>)

Wayhay!! That's a relief, when I saw the notification saying angryman had commented, I was like oh shit! :0D

My anger has been tempered by the onset of senility in my old age...yet, the 'name' does serve to ward off the enemy at times, or send them scurrying away in downtrodden, disgust should they brave a peek at my posts...

You obviously are 'not' the enemy...too much humor in your soul for 'that' label.

Glad to hear it :0)

I have followed you and as soon as I am not drinking beer I shall be sure to check them out!!

Isn't it shit great how old age tempers us all :0)

TOO MANY BEERS
too little checking your messages!!! :))

Oh no!! I uninstalled telegram!! WhatsApp!!!

Merikuh! Whoop Whoop! 'Bout to crack open a dark 'un ma self, an old faithful double milk stout, cheers to the freakin weekend! Cheers to you me boom!

Oh that sounds tops!! Get that cracked open!! Enjoy lady girl!!! :0D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07