Thursdays With Uncle Boom #91

in #life5 years ago

meesterboom-uncleboom_mp.jpg

The problem is, old chap that by all accounts he was last seen at the club, with you?

I chewed the end of my pipe with some vigour before noticing it had gone out. I lit it up again with a devilishly handsome hand.

That is preposterous. You say this was on Monday? It couldn't possibly have been me. I was visiting a dear old friend in Colchester.

Chief Inspector Hilton reached across the desk in my sitting room and lifted the bottle of 30 year old MacAllan that was there.

He had come to see me regarding my dear old friend Dobbers, who apparently had been missing for some days.

Mind if I top myself up?

He waggled the bottle and looked at me as if he were a Labrador and I, was his owner with a pocket full of beef treats.

I waved my assent.

Chief Inspector Hilton was an old acquaintance from the club, a decent enough fellow despite having a face like vaginal cartilage.

He slopped a good measure of the Malt whisky into his glass, his third so far.

I do hate to be a frightful bore, old chap but could you possibly tell me just who this old friend in Colchester was?

I lowered my brow at this as if Hilton had asked to ride my diddies.

For goodness sake, Hilton. Dobbers is a grown man. Why this concern for his whereabouts? It's only been a few days?

Hilton sipped appreciatively at his Whisky then sighed.

This is difficult indeed. You see, well, to put it bluntly. Dobbers, like us, is a gentleman. Yes?

I harrumphed loudly.

Of course he is.

A cloud of baccy smoke lazily curled up from my pipe. It was a good baccy from the Tobago's. Dark and spicy with a hint of ladies vinegar.

Us gentlemen, we abide by a code do we not?

Said Hilton somewhat tentatively.

Of course we do. Get to the fucking point man.

Hilton nodded resignedly.

Fair enough. The point is that Dobbers maid reported him missing when he didn't come home on Monday night. It was too early for a missing persons but I thought I could at least check to see if anyone at the club knew anything...

He looked at me pointedly.

I spoke to the barman at the club who did remember seeing him. His memory largely being that of him having quite the heated argument with you. He said Dobbers was furious and stormed out.

It was my turn to pour myself another Whisky. Which I did whilst shaking my head.

I have already told you quite emphatically that I was not at the club that night. Nor did I see Dobbers. In fact I haven't seen him since last Thursday.

I stated holding Hilton's eye steadily.

Fair enough.

Hilton raised himself to his feet.

Well, thank you for your time, Boomy. I am sorry to have disturbed you.

I stood too.

I'm sorry I couldn't be any more help, old fellow.

Hilton paused midway to the door and turned.

You never answered when I asked, who this old friend you visited in Colchester was?

One corner of Hilton's mouth quirked up in a strange half-smile and he cocked his head slightly to the side.

I patted him on the back and answered with a smile of my own. A somewhat colder one.

No I didn't did I? Well you should know old fellow...

agentnvrtells (4).jpg

Sort:  

Dobbers was clearly upset about you forcing him to bang that pigeon. I'm sure he'll get over it when he finds out that the other parties present when the machine aired his thoughts have been terminated...

There is certainly something in the wind! Who would have thought that Pigeon fucking would be the last straw?

Learned a new word today

diddies

Ah yes, the coarse Scottish words flow freely here!! :0)

The world is about to self destruct, a Thursday and no dead bodies lying around, what an unheard of situation, even if a gentleman never tells.

No dead bodies and a missing Dobbers, whatever next!

howdy sir meesterboom! oh, no, not Dobbers! But in the last Uncle Boom post he did say that he would deal with Dobbers later. uh oh. lol.

That's Dobbers I'm afraid, dead as a dodo. But then, who killed him? ;0)

oh man, just when you get used to a guy he gets killed off. He was such a loyal helper too, despite having a face like a....

lol..but yes, the plot thickens and the mystery deepens!

Hehe, the plot will thicken like a three day of stew!!

I canb't wait to see what happens sir meesterboom!

Hehe cheers man. I hope it will be alright!

@meesterboom Hello dear friend, we have traveled a long way with Uncle Boom. In a few weeks we will celebrate episode 100.
Inspector Hilton's visit is paying dearly to Boom, how much whiskey he consumes at each visit. friend like that who needs enemy.
I wish you an excellent weekend

Almost there! The end is in sight @jlufer! A long road well traveled!!

Happy Thursday

And to you dudeski! Its nearly the weekend!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.241 which ranks you at #257 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 254).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 165 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 17.51% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meesterboom! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83