Day 232, Prompt: Depression - 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge

in #life6 years ago

IMG_6639.JPG

When I saw this prompt my heart skipped a beat. It's something that hits me too close to home.

Depression has been my dreaded next door neighbour for about four years. I think of depression as a person, a lifeless person who tries to suck all the good out of everything. A person who has no heart and is there for you only in your darkest times. Depression is there to drag you down a black hole and it's only hope is that you never get out.

A lot of us are lucky and find a way out of depressions grasp, but some unfortunate souls don't make it. I feel for those people, I understand why they gave in, I don't blame them.

It's hard for me to describe depression to people who've never experienced it. It's hard for those people to completely understand what it's like.

I get depressed randomly or something can trigger it. I call depression my next door neighbour because that's what 'he' is.

He likes to pop by and make sure his presence is known. He doesn't like to be forgotten. He likes to know all of my business and just when things are looking up, he's more than happy to bring them crumbling down.
At the moment he's looking at me through his window, but is yet to make another move.

Until next time,

Meliss

This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt was 'Depression.' If you're wanting to participate in the #dailyfreewritechallenge, just follow the link: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-232-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-depression

Image Cred: https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/toshijoc.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/177/amp/

Sort:  

Let's hope that he will stay away!! and I am rooting for you that better neighbors are going to move in for you!!
Thank you for sharing yourself with us.

If you haven't seen the most recent prompt yet, here it is.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-234-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-caterpillar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39