Fakenewsd by my ISP provider

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I don't know at the moment what is going on with my internet connection. As a matter of fact, the speed is so slow tonight's radio show was not recorded, as the streaming through OBS was simply impossible. I'm sure that if I would have lowered the quality of the video and audio to "potato with a cable" quality, something might have been recorded, but at this point, I just want to marinate in the hatred of my ISP for a second.




As we can see from the Internet Machine testings, the upload and download flirt with all different concepts of fakenewsery never seen before in this house. What in the hell happened? I want to know. Did a Firecracker hit the connection box or something? And... did this have to happen on the night of the show?

I know that it may sound like I'm complaining about something trivial, after all, here I am using the thing I'm complaining about to complain about it not working. But, please understand, we pay for the good kind of internet. As a matter of fact, as I was writing this somewhat complainty complaint, I tried using the yerterbs to see if I would be able to watch something at a decent quality. It works, but at 240 resolush....

I must ready the mean @meno voice and call comcast tomorrow, because this can't be. I know they will tell me it's not their fault, and that they will send out a tech, but it can't be weeks this time. That's how they like to always play it, but I won't let them pull a torero on me.

Sorry for the rant..

@meno

Sort:  

Don't marinate too long. Lol. Get you salty.

hahahaha you are right

Comcast like any corporation is harsh to the little guys.

Never in my life time have I seen the ISP claims being true , one can only hope that they deliver atleast 50% of speed they claim...

Hey meno!

What a bad situation dude, If I told you about my internet connection maybe I'll make you cry, and you are going to love yours, haha. Just joking man, see you!

@meno it's not good to do like this with fakenews . I am feeling sorry for you as you faced this much problem in night..

Comcast can be on that poop though

You just pay your internet provider a percent of the bill

I just might!

They really don't like this! It was a different country but I got in a similar type standoff with a similar type company (movistar) and ended up paying for the privledge to end our relationship.

we will see what happens... i'm being throttled, no doubt.

atleast you have over 3mb.. mine drops to half a megabit sometimes..cant even open a tab properly

This is the worst, is a big problem even unload a video on drive takes to me like 3 hour for just 1:00 of the video recording. I hope your connection don't become into a turtle 🐢.

P.D.: For me 2 Mbps is the fastest internet in Venezuela.

Sounds like you gettin throttled.

that could be it... its infuriating...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Dont you all have fibre optics, should be at nearly a gigabit per second if your using your home service, that seems rediculously slow.. technology will catch up though @meno just look at this article here! Imagine 0.0
https://www.google.ca/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/fastest-ever-commercial-internet-speeds-in-london-download-44-films-in-a-second-9077061.html%3Famp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86