A moment in my life ... October Update

in #life6 years ago

Howdy folks,

it's been a minute so I figured I would recap what I've been doing with this life I have.

October has been wonderful so far. I have transitioned from house living into the boat life.

With this has come many ups and downs, but the sheer fact that I am living on a boat is pretty darn cool.

I had been living in Birch Bay, Washington, a quaint little town (if you can call it that) just south of the Canadian border.

Nestled along the coast I was working for a man I met , doing handyman and carpentry work. All was well but I knew that the situation could not last. While comfortable for the body, it was not comforting my soul. I knew I must move on.

Fortunately for me (ooh am I lucky!), the same man happened to have a sailboat in Bellingham that was not getting the use that it deserved. A few conversations later and here I am!

Living on a boat is pretty sweet (if you haven't done it before). While the space is small, it has everything that I need. I have access to bathrooms and showers in the marina and downtown Bellingham is a 15 minute walk away.

My days usually consist of waking up around 7, spending a bit of time preparing my mind and body for the world and then walking into town for a cup of coffee.

I feel like an adventurer ready for anything, and pack my bag accordingly (usually I spend all day in the city).

Bellingham is an interesting city. With a large population of young individuals (the University) and also a large population of homeless people (drug abuse) I often get mistaken for one or the other.

Depending on how I am dressed I am either addressed with a curt "get a job you bum!" or, "what are you studying?".

The variety leads to a lack of monotony in my day to day life, and a series of insights into human behavior that I believe I could have done without.

Alas, it is normal for people to dislike those that cause repulsion or disgust in their mindset and I do my best to not become angry, but Damn folks you can be mean!

Oh well, I do not let it dampen my spirits as I know my journey is more valuable to me than trying to come up with a retort to an overly snide comment (even though I have created my fare share of successful comebacks).

The future holds for me many more interesting journeys.

I have successfully convinced the owner of a cabinet shop that they should hire me (my writing style shows the remnants of a lack of self worth that bridled me with self pity and demise in younger years .... reminder to self ... eradicate remaining limiting beliefs)

I am actually quite excited about this. While I believe it will be a short term gig, I am eager to return to the world of fabrication and get my hands, and rest of my body, dirty and back to work. All of this keyboard typing gets boring after a while!

Soon I will venture into the great land of Seattle! A man that I met while traveling runs a general contracting business there and has offered to employ me for a period of time.

That brings me to my next big adventure ...

Japan!

While I don't want to spill all of the beans just yet, I will be headed off to the island nation later on this year! I have been eager to explore the country for a while and after reading the biography of Ernest Shackleton (highly recommend it by the way) I have an eager desire for my a grand adventure of my own (not that my life is not already an adventure).

I am grateful for all of the gifts that I have been given, and all of the love that I have been shown. So many friends have welcomed me into their homes and so many strangers have shown me their buddha nature. I am grateful to be alive in this wonderful time and so ecstatic that I can share my love and wisdom with the world.

I hope that I can inspire others to live in their truths and to really strive for greatness. We all are made of really wonderful things (I hear they started using better materials for our creation later in the 20th century) and we have such amazing potential.

Please share with your friends if you think they would enjoy this, and upvote to help support my goals and ambitions.

Enjoy these nice pictograms of my travels :) :) :)

IMG_20181010_182555171_HDR.jpg
a beautiful sunset from my boat life vantage point

IMG_20180926_145955065_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180831_192045470_HDR.jpg
I built this!

IMG_20180725_104651631.jpg
when the term house boat just isn't interesting enough

Sort:  

Hi, @metama!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70