the simple key to accomplishing anything in life

in #life5 years ago (edited)

know your why

before your what,
and definitely before your how,
needs to come your why.

it's your why that will keep you going when times get tough
it's your why that will help you make critical decisions

your why is everything

life is meaningless
we exist as carbon based life forms on this planet in the middle of no where ...
we will all die, turn into worm shit, and eventually be forgotten ...

so what are you going to do while you're here?

life is incredibly short ... something most of us really fail to grasp
in seeing ... and appreciation this ...
we start to see how beautiful it actual is ...

Even if are lives mean nothing ...
they still mean something to us ...

it is this personal definition that guides us through life
and helps us choose our own personal paths ...

what path have you chosen?

and why?

When we live for others, we give up our own personal ambitions and dreams.
Each time we say yes to someone else's request, we give up a bit of our personal freedom.

This is not a bad thing, but when it interferes with the activities that bring us the most joy, you must ask the question

why?

When you have a good answer tell me ...

most of us never take the time to ask why we are doing the things we are doing

why should we?
everyone else is doing the same things
it must be ok ...

this inadequate self discovery leads to living to many minutes, hours and years, doing things we don't want to do because someone else told us to.

This doesn't mean you should never say yes, but first ask yourself

why

Why am I saying yes?
Am i trying to appease someone else?
Do I have some ulterior motive?

We must always ask why

2vyh40.jpg

we have found ourselves in a world full of people searching for meaning

In Viktor Frankl's book, he discusses his personal journey (through the holocaust) and how he found meaning in the most dismal of circumstances. He attributes his survival to the fact that he was able to find meaning in his experience. Viktor choose to see his suffering as a way for him to ultimately serve others more effectively. This ability to view pain and suffering in such a positive light surely gave strength to him throughout his ordeal.

One of the main points of his book is we all create our own meaning. Whether you take a stance of divine destiny or you are a complete nihilist, we always have the option to create meaning in our life. Whether we believe life has meaning or we simply chose to create meaning, we are using a personal belief to add meaning to life.

9780807014264_p0_v1_s550x406.jpg
what a great time for a book reference

We can create wildly different circumstances based on the beliefs we hold.

what did you do today?
why did you do all of these things?

Take a moment and actually create a list ...

here ... I'll do it with you

Today :

  • make and drink coffee
  • journaling
  • wrote a post on steemit
  • checked emails / facebook
  • did a bit of yoga
  • made / ate breakfast
  • drove to work
  • drove again to work (had to get to the jobsite)
  • did a bunch of carpentry stuff
  • updated my drugwars account
  • checked on my post on steemit
  • responded to comments
  • spent time on tinder / social media
  • drove home
  • drank some beer
  • smoke some weed
  • took a shower
  • took a nap
  • played frisbee
  • bought groceries
  • cleaned my room
  • started writing this post ...

phew!

That's more than I thought
...

now

Of those things,

which ones are in alignment with your goals??

2vyhw4.jpg

Ok ...

i have to admit

I didn't do that well either

my personal why is a bit shaky ...

so let's all take a moment to explore

We are going to work from two different angles
and see if we can't create something ...

interesting

2vyi7p.jpg

Let's begin

If you knew you were going to die tomorrow, what would you do??

go sit in the woods and meditate

If you had one extra day ... what would you do??

build some really cool stuff out of wood and install them as public art pieces

If you had one last day, what would you do??

Cook food and share it with friends ...

The point of this exercise is simple.

We want to focus our intent and discover the things that are most important to us

keys to success

you have to commit to the 1 day left philosophy.
Imagine what you would feel like if you truly had one day left to live ....
then ask the question
use your first answer.
It doesn't have to make sense ...
write down your first thought

Ok ...

next!

What is one thing that really pisses you off?

Trump and his bullshit presidency

Why?

because he is fucking up the planet ... badly

What was the last thing that really frustrated you?

working with my new coworker

why

I don't like wasting my time and it is really frustrating working on a project and not doing as well as I can

What was the last thing that made you sad ... ?

seeing animals dying ...

go through these questions on your own time

you can find a blank copy of the exercise here

discover what is most important to you.

I recommend doing this exercise every day for a month.
At the end of a month look over your answers and discover the themes that are important to you.

I'm going to do a quick analyzation of my answers so you can see how I would move forward.

three things

my bucket list included :

  • spending time in nature
  • building things
  • cooking things
  • sharing things with others

From this I'm going to pull

  • nature is really important to me and I feel happy /fulfilled when I am in nature & when I am doing things that help mother earth
  • I really like building things / working with my hands
  • If what I create brings others joy / satisfaction I am winning
    2vyirj.jpg

I can't stand it!

This exercise is aimed to figure out what things you should be working on ...
But!!
if there are things that you find infuriating ... you might want to try solving those problems.

So, I dislike Trump ... and most of the federal government ...

What if I started being more politically active and took up a position in my local government?

hmmm ... I see where this is going

I'm frustrated with work because I feel like I can't control the quality ...

what if I started working on my own ...
OR
took responsibility for MY work and only did high quality work?

I like the sound of that.

I don't like unnecessary death ...

What if I volunteered at a shelter ???

Hmm ...

I see what you've done there ...

The fact is we all have things that we are passionate about ...

we just have to discover them ...

once we understand what we care about, we can start to ask why ...

Why does trump frustrate me??
Well ... he's reversed some important aspects of our climate policy ...
I want other people to see the world in it's beauty and I'm concerned that it will be damaged / destroyed ...

boom!

Now that's a why

Why do I want to create things??
When I build things I feel fulfilled. It brings me to the present moment and I find a peace / joy / satisfaction from it. It feels natural.

let's go!

We're on a roll here folks ...

Why do I feel sad when animals die??
I feel compassion for all of life and want to share my love ...
Why??
I have suffered a bunch myself and I know what it is like ....

We are cruising!!

Do you see how you can uncover these deep, core "whys" of your behavior with a few simple questions??

When we start to understand why we act as we do, we can really embrace who we are and start crafting a life that is authentic to our truest self.

We don't have to be ashamed of our feelings our desires, we can simply accept who we are through a better understanding.

I encourage you to try this exercise a few times.

I have created another post [link] with just the prompts.

You are welcome to copy and repost it with your own answers.

Use the tag #itsmywhy for upvotes from me

2vyj51.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed this episode of The Alt Rich

We are working hard to create content that is inspiring and valuable to you.

If there is anything in particular that you want to learn, leave us a note in the comments!!

I accept donations

ETH: 0x1B3eA4279A0D35B0e47860Ed55ad6A2F86Ae159d
BTC: bc1q4lmaasu5n6pf35862easdz52ue9rwl63qfeadg

Sort:  

After reading this article, I guess I have to descend deep into my mind and search for my own WHY...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha yes @cryptoeera !! Let me know what you discover!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi. @metama. I am doing the exercise of gratitude. This new exercise seems quite interesting to me, but it needs to be done more carefully. But if it was my last day, I would have sex in an exotic place.

thank you @ramonrene ... why do you think this one needs more care? How can I share this more responsibly?

care, I mean they are questions that must be answered carefully and with deep reflection.

Yes this is true

Posted using Partiko Android

The weed smoking part was enthralling. Overall loved it!

I am glad we can all appreciate a good smoke sesh @kunal4687

I like the smoking weed part

weed is life?

Tinder and no @steemityourway time!?!? I call unfair!
It's crazy man:P everything you write on here I've written about in previous posts of mine (Victor Frankl, finding your why) I'm telling you there's some real kind of psychic energy going on between us;)🔮

haha been on the clock @steemityourway

I’m guessing not a trump fan? I wouldn’t get to involved in politics. But that’s your choice.

lol, I don't know how you can be a trump fan ... and I think as a US citizen I have an obligation to get involved. Our policy impacts the world ... we need to do a better job.

Hi @metama in your todo list there is not find about time for your family, maybe all of a lot of your steemians freind that is your big family.
i'm only guessing it.

Ha I definitely am having some struggles with my family @ranggayusuf. Your insight is accurate. My family is the people here on Earth who want to share love.

Posted using Partiko Android

hehe...it sounds really good, all very happy always with our family.
@metama
forgive me.. when giving comments about personal.

it is ok @ranggayusuf ... you have made me ponder more deeply why I am making my own decisions. Thank you :)

Ein interessanter Artikel.
Ich bin begeistert.
Aber ich glaube, dass den meisten bei der Frage, was noch zu tun ist, bevor man "Morgen" stirbt, das begreifen fehlt.
Allerdings kann man natürlich auch "shit happens" sagen und alles einfach laufen lassen.

Schwierige Frage.

Hey!!! @metama I am trilled to find you in your niche here; very glad as it happens to be the niche I am happy about!!

Buddy; I love Probing Into Why and How What Happens do!!

No doubt , your discuss today is quite Important in the quest of human existence in this seemingly Aimless Journey of Life.
Much Love Bro!!!

why @whyaskwhy just why??? the question we need to ask more :P

Completely agree with you here @metama; the ‘why’ in life is so interesting.

I’m trying generally to be less selfish in life and more outward-looking - I’m going to give away 50% of my Steem to others (25% to good causes and 25% to other Steemians & their projects) at the end of 2019. I’m by no means a big account, and I’ve had trouble gaining any kind of traction, but as you say I’m focusing on the ‘why’ and I’m confident with enough perseverance I’ll get there.

Thanks for the post and inspiration to keep going 👊🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow @goodwithtravels ... you say i'm inspiring ... really awesome message you have ... I can feel the personal cringe thinking about giving away half of my steem. I still have this internal struggle thinking and feeling I need more. Do I need more or is this just a figment of my perception.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87