🎃 Halloween Village 🎃 The “Trick or treat"

in #life5 years ago

“Trick or treat" says a boy wearing a bizarre rubber mask, standing on the front porch of a quaint cottage style house with a white picket fence.
image
Source# header
“What are you talking about young man? It's not Halloween. This is July,” says a little old lady wearing a blue bonnet, with yellow daisies, her puzzled blue eyes squinting down at the strange boy.

“Sorry ma'am. Where I come from it's Halloween everyday,” says Frank.
“Trick or treat,” he repeats in a deeper voice than before.

“Oh, alright. I'll play along with your little game. I think I have some candy bars. And who is your little friend?”
A short pudgy boy, in a strange, surrealistic costume, is standing next to Frank.

“This is Ogre The Monster. He never says anything. I do all the talking. Ogre follows me everywhere I go. Kinda like my shadow.” And my name is Frank N. Stein.”

Momentarily enchanted, the woman covers her lips with a pale, wrinkled hand, and softly chuckles.
“Ok, Frank. You two are most definitely odd, but I'll have to admit, you're cute. You just may have made my day. I live by myself, and it gets rather lonely sometimes. I'll be right back with your candy.”

Three days later. +++

“Trick or,Treat,” says Frank.

The old lady laughs. “You two again. Don't tell me. It's still Halloween, right?”

“Of course ma'am, everyday,” says Frank.

“I see you have a different friend with you today,” she says.

“Nope. Same guy, different costume.”

“Don't tell me. Dracula?”

“Close, but no banana. He’s Vlad The Impaler. A real bad guy,” Frank snickers, looking down at his younger brother, perfectly still in dead silence, head cocked up staring at the smiling old lady.

“For a little fellow, you have quite a sense of humor,” she says. The old lady leaves, and returns in a few minutes.
“Here you go.” She drops three candy bars in each of their plastic pumpkins.
“That should tidy you over until next time. Odd, you don't have have any other candy in your pumpkins.”
Her curled lips teeter tottered on the edge of a loud giggle.

“This is our first stop ma'am. We'll have plenty by the end of the day,” Frank says his blank face slightly blushing.

“Ok boys. Have a nice time Trick or Treating. See you next time.” She waves at them as they scurry away, her red painted lips stretched out into a pleasant smile.

The brothers stride down the sidewalk, and around the corner, to a bright yellow house, decorated with red wooden shutters. They saunter in without knocking, tiptoe across the wooden living room, and down the long hall to the last door on the left. Frank grasps the door knob after entering, and gently pushes the door closed, without making a sound.

The boys sit on the edge of the bed, feet dangling over the side. They each reach into their pumpkins with an eager hand, pull out a candy bar, and tear off the plastic covering.

“These sure are good,” says Vlad, chewing on the scrumptious chocolate bar. “You sure are smart, Frank. I'm glad you're my big brother, but why can't I say Trick or Treat, too?”

“I can disguise my voice, but you stink. She'd recognize your squeaky one. Anybody would,” says Frank, mouth full chomping up and down.

“You're smart. That’s why you do all the talking, not me.” Vlad’s tongue licks chocolate off his plump lips, as he stares down at the last bite of gooey delight in his hand.

“Thanks, but you’re pretty smart, too, little brother,” he says, patting him on the knee.

“Frank?”

“Yeah, Vlad?”

“Do you think Grandma will find out it's us?”

“Not if you swear not to open your mouth,” says Frank.

Vlad holds up a hand in a truth salute.
“Ok, big brother, swear I won't. I love these Snickers Bars, don't you?”

Happy Halloween Everyone.
I would have loved to ask you to vote for witness. But I don't really understand the governance mode of this platform.

I hope you enjoyed reading this poem.

You can place your advert for more visibility on other social networks
celebrity hangout with michaelcj
Contact us on Email

Follow me
@michaelcjshow on Facebook | 4600 likes
@michaelcjshow on Instagram | 1208 followers


You can also donate to this show
Bts : Michael007
Btc : 3GB6QYoP3tbLrkdPWJQrz5dv9nybkPQ973
ETH: 0x1c98835c5f62df7b9a3beebc4854e319bbb26f70


michaelcj avatar

michaelcj fonts

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is such a cute story :D I love the childish naivety of these brothers :) And I like that their grandma is playing around :) Thank you for sharing! You made me laugh :)

What a sweet story! I'm pretty sure grandma is delighted to keep candy bars on hand for her little monsters!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25