Why is the reason for Walmart and Safeway closing at Midnight ?

in #life6 years ago

This blog has to deal with a lot of things besides the stores closing at midnight.

After I got off work on Friday Night around 11PM I ventured home and decided to go do some late night shopping at my local Reno Walmart located at 5260 West 7th Street, Reno Nevada. When my wife Annie and I got there the parking lot was really empty only a few cars so I got out and watched a lady walk to the doors and they where locked.

So I see some workers inside the doors and I knock on the doors.

I asked are you closed ?

The reply was yes we close at midnight.

So I ask why because a few nights ago the store was open 24 hours?

I did not get an answer directly from Walmart employees as I am sure they got told not to answer this type of question.

So we ventured over to the Safeway at 5150 Mae AnneAve Reno,Nevada.

This store is open 24 hours as well.

While I was in the store I asked the employees if they knew why Walmart changed the hours and if Safeway was going to as well?

The answer I got shocked me a little because I just had not thought of this reason for the stores closing early. According to employees I directly talked to at Safeway it was all because of theft. According to Safeway Employees the Safeway was considering the same move as Walmart due to the amount of revenues and loses spent of thefts it was not profitable to keep the stores open past midnight.

So lets discuss a series I started with 4 episodes currently you can view on my youtube called Down and Out in Reno Nevada. My series is about poverty and homeless in Reno Nevada. I have also written several blogs on the cost of living in Reno and issues of current housing market spike and cost increases in and around Reno Nevada.

This is a real issue and really needs to be thought out and addressed by the people who live in and around Reno.

So I did a little research and came up with some numbers for Cost of Living in Reno.

The cost to live without Rent or a Mortgage in Reno for a family of 4 is estimated at $2,670 per month.

The cost of living without Rent or a Mortgage in Reno for a single person is estimated at $760 per month.

Reno is only around 39% lower than New York on the cost of living index.

Reno is ranked #288 out of 532 cities in cost of living.

Reno has a 7% higher cost of living than the National Average.

So I did a little research on income in Reno Nevada as well.

Nevada Tax rate is 7.73%

Average income for the Reno area is around $26,352, and if you break that down to monthly $2,196, and if you break that down to weekly $549. The hourly wage is estimated at $13.72.

Of course this does not include insurance, taxes, social security or other things taken out of paychecks. Also tips are not included in this estimate.

In a story done by KOLO News in Reno Nevada in 2018 about the Homeless they released this info:

In January 2017 it was estimated that 2000 people in Reno where considered homeless and over 25,000 in Southern Nevada.

The City of Reno spends an estimated $40,000 per year per on a single homeless person and is estimated at around 20 million dollars per year is spent for the homeless in Reno Nevada alone.

Information was provided by outside resources from local government agencies and news organisations in and around Reno Nevada.

The Outlaw Micheal Tomsik

Sort:  

guess the extra cost for maintaining the utilities and manpower doesn't commensurate the risk for operating it past midnight

Congratulations @michealtomsik! You have received a personal award!

Steemcleaners Verified Profile
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70