Millennials and Political Correctness

in #life6 years ago

Believe it or not, the right to not be offended does not exists. Political correctness has been attributed to the millennial generation, but it's not just them and it's not their fault. And I don't mean every member of the millennial generation, every group has it's exceptions.

The first amendment of the constitution states:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

The first amendment gives me the freedom to express myself in any way I choose. There are limits on this of course. When I was growing up it was taught to us that although we had freedom of speech, this did not extend to yelling "FIRE" in a crowded movie theater. So, if I am told that I cannot express myself in a certain way (no matter how rude or crass), my first amendment rights are being violated.

I checked the Bill of Rights this morning, there is no freedom from offense.

But the millennial generation isn't alone, they are being aided. Parents and the education system are also at fault.

It started off in a world of participation trophies. Not keeping score during childhood sporting events, to save the children from the potential heartbreak of loosing. At the end of the season, everyone was a winner with a participation trophy. Eventually this was taken further to over protect children, the millennial generation. Protecting the millennials from any form of disappointment and always reassuring them they were special, unique and deserved everything the world had to offer.

After parents, academia is the largest support group for these young people. Everything from safe spaces to banning terms on campus as microaggressions. In 2015, the University of Tennessee adopted a policy that students and teachers would refrain from using pronouns like he/him/his or she/her/hers in favor of more gender neutral pronouns as ze/zir/zirs, and xe/xem/xyrs [1]. If I tried to comply with this policy, I would probably offend someone with my poor pronunciation of the pronouns.

These people are not millennials, these are of the same generation as the millennial's parents. Academia for decades has set itself apart from the rest of the population, insulated themselves from the real world. As a result, instead of helping these young people grow up to be adults, they continue the coddling the kids received from their parents.

One of the best articles I have read is by Richard Watts, A Boomer Parent’s Apology to Millennials. If you don't want to read the entire article, the apology goes like this

“Kids, we are sorry. We thought we had your best interest at heart, but in reality, we were making you look good to make us look good. We wanted a best friend and failed to realize that parenting was more valuable to you than our friendship. We let our love for you hijack our parenting skills. We prevented you from experiencing the natural consequences of your own actions. We were afraid to risk your affection when we should have equipped you with the life tools that only come from allowing you to struggle, persist and recover on your own. We felt obligated to explain every time we said ‘No!’ We handed you an allowance when you didn’t do anything for it. We gave you too much and anesthetized your drive. But most egregious, we prevented you from exploring and honing your passions. We put blinders on you to keep your head looking in the direction we carefully mapped and now you are without expression. We are most sincerely sorry and ask you to recognize, accept, and forgive our failure.”

As a result of our love, affection, and protection, we have young people that while they are chronologically of adult age, have missed out on the valuable life lessons that failure can provide. If you want to help a millennial, let them fail.

Sort:  

I agree completely, and your conclusion hits the nail on the head.
From being protected from 'feeling bad' these adults today still have a mindset of young children.
Free speech and debate is an important way for us to create character and learn how to think critically.

That may be the case!
I now teach people of all ages, and I can see the difference in how they act.
I'm hoping the next generation will be a bit more clued up. I know how I will bring up my children anyway.

Impressed. You really got the point acrosss in a few words...I would have rambled forever. Good subject!

I remember when 'because I said so' was the only explanation you got from a parent! I even remember them being so 'uncaring' (lol) when I complained they would say horrible things like "oh well, told you so!"

Our daughter started out with 100% BS when parenting. A list of do's and don'ts a mile long. After I was done rolling my eyes and biting my toungue I would comply. If I heard her say 'Be safe, kind and helpful' one more time....!

After child 2 all hell broke lose. Reality set in. Thank God

She is still 'out there' on a lot of issues. Really trying to convince her that our Granddaughter needs some tough love right now. She is still trying to negotiate or something. The discipline has gone out the window and she wants to be a friend and a mom. That comes later. Now you are mom.

Wish it was that easy but we all know better.

I would imagine that when we were younger our parents disagreed with some of our choices as well. There is some quote out there along the lines of "the older I get, the wiser my parents become".

I shouuld be a genius by now. Our youngest turened 32 on Wednesday.

From what you just said, i am made to understand that political correctness is used to describe language, policies, or measures that are intended to avoid offense or disadvantage to members of particular groups in society. I'm i right? @mikehamm

Yes, you are correct. The way I am using it is to describe language that is intended to avoid offending particular groups in society. One problem with it is that it continuously changes as someone else becomes offended by a certain term. Older people, like me, aren't always up to date and may sound insensitive when that wasn't the intent.

Currently it's my understanding that the term politically correct is not even politically correct.

I have actually been puposefully aware of how I state things here on Steemit as typically I don't care to fancy up what I think when I put it in writing. But, in keeping up with the times....best not to attract any attention. Think before you speak is always good advice but now you have to have a current checklist to see what is proper and what has been deemed offensive.

I'm offended that people are offended. So there.

I think as I was growing up the only time anyone got offended by what others said was when someone was cursing in front of a lady. That one has just gone away completely!

Our family and friends were somewhat lax in cussing. We were the working class. Mechanics, construction, factory. So am not easily offended.

Sometimes it seems it is hard for me. I used to just talk now I have to phrase things. Bummer. Thinking before you speak is a good idea but stopping to hit a checklist before you speak sucks.

I am guilty of poor language but am respectful in public. I am aware of my surroundings and present myself accordingly. It is that easy. Reminds me of a story of my mom (nothing unusual about that) and the 'F' word. Will share with you someday.

But it is nice when gentlemen especially make an effort to curb the language, and/or topic, when ladies are present. It still happens occasionally

More than just being a gentleman back then. I was always told there was a law in Alabama about cursing in front of women. It may or not be true, but it certainly wasn't socially acceptable since no one in any class did it that I remember.

In one sense, it is true that having no children of my own is the greatest regret of my life. In another sense, I do suspect that I might well have mucked it up completely.

But the main point I'm trying to make is that I don't really feel I have any right to criticise. I have never been a parent, who am I to critique the parenting of others? Oh, I have nieces and nephews galore, and I'm cool with being Uncle Possum. But that's not the same, by any means.

I am technically a tag-end Boomer. I was born at the very end of the bulge in the python, but I have never really identified with the Boomers. My attitudes and world view are really much more akin to Gen X. And I'm really, really tired of Boomers endlessly ragging on the Millenials. Some of them never shut up about it.

Someone without children might be a good person to chime in......neutral!

You are in a unique position to see both sides. I imagine each generation of parents could really help the next but seems like we all like the 'just do exactly the opposite if our parents' theory. I think that is how we get from one extreme to the other. Never ending cycle.

I tend to think of human behavior as being on a huge pendulum. It seems to switch back and forth between extremes. Your example of doing the opposite of our parents but also look at politics. We tend to swing between conservative and liberal views hoping sooner or later one view will give us the results we are looking for.

None of this was really meant as a critique on the millennials or on the parenting skills of their parents. I just wanted to make the point that those of us that are older can't just blame the millennials.

I think very few parents wouldn't believe their children are special and want the best for them out of life. Sometimes, giving them the best isn't giving them everything. Some of the most valuable lessons I've learned in life came from mistakes I made. My parents were always there to make sure my mistakes weren't too large, but they did allow me to think on my own and make my own mistakes.

Hey, Mike. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

I wasn't talking about you, and I didn't take what you said as criticism of "the millennials or the parenting skills of their parents." I was just musing on the subject in general, in my usual rambling, long-winded way.

No problem, Possum. Not a snowflake here, pretty thick skinned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73