What's next? Seems like someone invented... a suicide machine.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

How are things people?

Well...judging from what I discovered on the web, seems like people and more specifically a controversial scientist named Philip Nitschke used his creativity to produce something... at least odd.

And that is because after repeatedly campaigning in Australia in order to have a legal euthanasia law, it seems that he finally made it... So, at a funeral festival in Amsterdam, Philip Nitschke, presented a suicide machine. He must have thought: "why risk falling from somewhere and live"? Get in there and in a few minutes you will say goodbye to this futile world...

This is his creation

It is a suicide pod called Sarco and I have to admit that it has a super cool design. It kinda looks like a spaceship, possibly to intrigue the imagination of those who will use it, that they will "travel" to outer space...

methode%2Ftimes%2Fprod%2Fweb%2Fbin%2F7c475e08-40c4-11e8-99ea-a5dd07dd144b.jpg

image source

According to Nitschke

Access to the device is only granted only after taking part in an online mental questionnaire which then provide the access code

Reclining in the capsule, the user can click a button to release liquid nitrogen as the oxygen level falls. He claims that a peaceful death would result in just a few minutes

Sarco does not use any restricted drugs or require any special expertise such as the insertion such as an intravenous needle Nitschke said

Anyone who can pass the entry test can enter the machine and legally end their life... he added

He even stated that once everything is ready designs will be free for downloading for the web if someone wishes to make his own device...

At the festival, attendees were also given the opportunity to acquire virtual reality glasses to get an idea of how it feels to sit in Sarco.

I get it...there are people all over the world that might suffer from a disease that no cure has been found and might consider this as an option...I just feel like the whole concept is a little macabre...
What do you think?

99ECC04D-DBE1-4290-ACB7-2035439DFD74.jpeg

Until next time...
Stay awesome!
Cheers @mindtrap

Sort:  

I don't want to die anytime soon or commit suicide, but I won't even lie; I prefer to be placed in such a sci-fi marvel when I am dead than a traditional coffin and have some old relatives crying over my corpse and spit on me lol

I prefer to be placed in such a sci-fi marvel when I am dead

Well buddy I think when you, or me or anyone is dead he wouldn't mind even if his corpse was launched in space either. But I find this idea of committing suicide in that chamber at least....creepy.
But yea...it looks way better than a traditional coffin

I get your point 100% (and I agree that once we are dead nothing really matters) and I did not focus on suicide AT ALL. I totally overlooked the suicide part. I just prefer my son to see me with an earing, a hip-hop hat, adidas shoes and rebel jacket inside this funky capsule than see me with a black suit, mustace and golden ring in an old-fashioned coffin. Last impression matters playa and we keep it real at all times huh? :P LOL

Well bro, last impression definitely matters I'll give you that.
These traditional old fashion coffins really suck so yeah...after death I would probably like to be remembered in a cool state of the art coffin too :)

It's too sad this device is legal. The creator should use it first to check if it works. For science purposes..

Blame the Australian government

Crazy Aussies back at it!

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6500 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @mindtrap Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.089 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.09 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Sucide Is never a Good Idea! If there is a Will, There is a Way!

I am definitely with you on that...
Thanks for stopping by!

Agreed with that! *edited

I am not a psychiatrist! Thus is what the Psychiatrist do! Bring Back a Dishearted person to life! To Motivate him , To help him find a way other than sucide! Your such arrogant bahaviour shows that you encourage sucide or you dont bother someone lives or die! I still say! Loosers do sucide! and I will keep on saying that

Flag me again. Let's see who wins.

You said people suffering from mental health issues are losers. You definitely have no clue what you are saying. Let's go, flag me again.

Yeah! You would Win! I Know! I am A Minnow! I am not here to fight! I just gave my point of you! And you started That downvoting Thing. Do What ever you want to! as you are happy :)

I haven't said anything about mental ilness! Ever ilness has a Cure! That doest mean We invent a Machine to let him die with ease! But we should descourage the Sucide and Help the person to recover! that was my point!

I am a minnow as well, but I have respect for all those who lost their lives to suicide. I lost a friend to suicide. I won't let anyone like you say such people are losers. Mental problems are just like physical problems, one needs treatment. The stigma is what causes many people suffering from depression to not seek help and end up taking their lives. Because tards like you make them think they are losers, because society pushes them to the edge. Do not write such bullshit again and I will take back my flags. DELETE THE WORD ''Looser'' (which is not correctly spelled by the way) and I will remove my flags. Edit your comments and be kind next time.

Brother ! I am not that good at English! you could have said that before! I will Remove That if it has hurted you! Sorry for your friend Death!
I have removed the flag and Removed the Word fo! Apologies

I removed all my flags from your posts. Glad this was sorted out. My apologies for lashing out on you, I just lost it a bit :)

Its okey! Fighting is never a way out :) We should Spread love and stop hatred :)

Plz @lordneroo let it go.
And let him express his opinion freely as long as this doesn't insult you.
there are no winners and losers in that topic...it is a very controversial subject and it is a matter of everyone's perspective

Well it did insult me a bit, but I get your point and it's already fixed.

Nice find,and good that you did a write up on it! I thinks its a cool idea, but what it limits the people who can use it, you must firstly be able to go online and do the questionaire, and then secondly to get yourself inside it (so if your paralized or something,how can you decided to die? )

To be honest i don't think it is cool idea at all. But that is just me...
I think people should use their imagination and creativity in order to make this world a better place. This looks like an easy solution and a temptation for those who might suffer from physical or mental problems

It's a touchy subject,this euthenasia thing. I think tgat sick people who want to die should be able to have an assisred death\suicide. I know that if i ever get so sick that im spoon fed etc,that i would ask to have an overdose or something. Theres are many flaws in this machine,like what if you buy one and can never unlock it because the computer says no lol

Interesting timing, this morning I read that Anthony Bourdain (the relatively well acclaimed food critic) committed suicide. I enjoyed, for the most part, his work. He was rather entertaining.

Also on that note the designer Kate Spade also offed herself this week. That one had no affect on time though as I wasn’t really familiar with the person or their work.

They seemed to kill themselves, as is the trend of celebrities, by overdose.

Which is a bit different than the suicide pod above, which to be more for euthanasia in response to a terminal illnesss.

It’s hard to pick and choose what ailment, be it physical or mental, should grant or prohibit an individual the right to take their own life.

But that thing looks cool. If I could preserve and display myself in there at a pre-mature-death stage of my life I’d consider it.

You guys should check out the (netflix?) tv series “altered carbon”.

Resteemed to over 18700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Well... I agree with you on the part of this being creepy. Like yeah, I understand the argument of people deserving to die with dignity, but still, I think society should focus more on the side of trying to help other people live with dignity rather than this.

Anyways, great post! This is sure an interesting fact to know ^^;

Life is a god gifted so suicide is a great mistake and I never support to suicide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86