How to make the walnut liquer

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Even a small amount of walnut liqueur has a good effect on stomach problems. I know that we (adults of course) are using it always, when our stomach hurts. Usually at the end of June or in early July, it's a good time to gather green walnuts and prepare a home-made walnut liquer or "orehovec" in the Slovenian language.

IMG_20180621_200937.jpg

In the past, I used the home-made one made by my relatives. But this year I took some time and make it myself. If you want to know how to make it, just read on.

IMG_20180710_160346_2.jpg

First prepare following kitchen accessories: large glass jar with cover (or aluminum foil), board and knife, rubber gloves, kitchen scale, sifter, and in a few weeks glass flasks.

Ingredients wise, you will need 15 green walnuts, 400 g sugar, 1 vanilla sugar, 1 lemon (preferably bio), 1 orange (preferably bio) 10 whole grains of coffee, 5 - 10 klinckov, and 1 - 1,5 l spirits (schnops).

When picking walnuts have in mind, that suitable mature are those that are not brown in the middle, but white. Cut the nuts into quarters and place them in a glass jar. For this work, I highly recommend the use of gloves, otherwise the tough stains will remain on your hands.

Lemon and orange have to be washed and cut into circles. Stack in a glass jar, and add all the other ingredients. Finally, pour in the schnaps, and close the jar with a lid or aluminum foil. Then put such prepared glass on a sunny window shelf or a balcony for four weeks. Mix several times in order to dissolve the sugar. After four weeks, the walnut liquer have to be sifted, and poured into bottles. You will get a dark brown colored drink, which is best offered well-chilled.

IMG_20180710_181346_2.jpg

Cheers!

Photos for @juliank's #foodphotography contest were made by me, and my Vernee smartphone.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T18:41:03
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 330.40/400.00
Total Photos: 50
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I made walnut jam this year for the first time and the recipe says pick the walnuts max 40 days from flowering. I have respected that and the inside of the walnuts were still white.

It's really nice to see how people like you exploit everything our mother nature is offering us. I never tried it before in my life. But not because I didn't have the opportunity, but because I didn't have such problems. But now, after I read how you made one, using this simple recipe and natural ingredients, I know what I need to do if my stomach will hurt.

Great post, and thank you for sharing this useful recipe.

@mommybear is it permited making liquor in home. in india its illigal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86