Why Do We Give Gifts At Christmas?

in #life5 years ago

Why do we give Christmas presents? Is there a point… a deeper meaning to our gift giving? Shouldn't there be?

I don't know if it was always the case, but I find I love the experience of giving. I love picking just the right gift, that, to me, seems to be the perfect something that person would love. I often give gifts I would personally never want, but am convinced the recipient will love. (I wish I could say the same of gifts I've received; but I digress.) I want my son to know that feeling too and hope I’ve done the right things to teach him how to give.

How and why do should we give?

We should give selflessly. Gifts should always be about the recipient and never the giver. You simply don’t give gifts expecting something of equal value in return. I think it’s okay to expect equal sentiment, though. Don’t give someone what you’d like to receive; that’s just plain self-centered. And, it’s the height of egoism to presume that because you’d love to have it, so would anyone else. This is a wide and varied world and it’s our differences that paint the truest wonders of this existence " how very dull life would be if everyone had the identical tastes in everything.

Santa is a lesson in selfless giving – gifts given in generosity and anonymity for all the years of our childhood. Through the magic of Santa we may learn to give selflessly and generously, with no immediate hope of gratitude or accolades. But, why do we give gifts? Why do we continue to uphold the magic of Santa in memory of a bishop who lived so very long ago in place so far away?

I uphold the ideal of Santa because St. Nicholas gave selflessly in honor of Christ. Christ is the point. We give gifts in remembrance of the Gifts of the Magi to the infant Christ. More importantly, we give gifts in honor of the great Gift of Christ, our Lord Emmanuel to all the world… the birth of the Gift of Salvation.

As parents… as Christians… let us not forget to impart the reason, the foundation of our sacred Christmas. Let us remember why the season seems to engender so much of our better natures as human beings. Further, please, don’t forget that the gift of our time and our service to those in need and at risk are greater and more necessary gifts than all the worldly trinkets we might purchase.

© c. 2014, by D. Denise Dianaty

feb06f22ef3e46a32ec964d9545cd321.jpeg

img src public domain
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You are absolutely right, Denise. Gifts are all about love and care, about joy and happiness. I remember I saw a documentary about how to give presents to our kids on Christmas.
These gifts should not be conditioned by their behavior or school results. Christmas gifts are supposed to tell our children (and not only) how grateful we are for having them in our lives.

Absolutely. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77