My Birthday, Age in Korea, and Why it Matters

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So, it was my birthday yesterday, or today depending on your timezone. Because of the local voting this week, I had Wednesday off, and we visited the Naju Image Theme Park and had some ice cream. Plans for the weekend include going to Seoul, get some good food, hang out with friends, and drink. Probably, profusely drink and get into shenanigans together, because what else are friends for?



Never been a big cake person anyways.

Anyways, Korea has a unique way of counting age. It is based on the Confucius thinking that life starts at conception, so you are considered one year old when you are born. Then, you turn another year old at New Years (technically lunar, legally Jan. 1st) So, for me, my western age is 24, my Korean age is 25, I will turn another Korean year older on New Year's Day. Is that confusing? If you said yes, don't worry, it is.

Why does Age matter?

Well, going back to Confucius, it comes from the pillars of this belief for living a good life. That belief is respect for elders and those above you. So, if someone is older than you, you should call them by different titles. Examples of these are:

For men

  • to an older man: 형 (hyung)
  • to an older woman: 누나 (noona)

For women

  • to an older woman: 언니 (unnie)
  • to an older man: 오빠 (oppa)

Same age: 친구 (chingu) means friend
Younger than you (men and women): 동생 (dongsaeng) or just call them by name

Even the way you talk to people is different with the highest forms reserved for your grandparents or the CEO of your company. I could go on with other examples, but you understand what I mean.

Other Important age-related things

First birthday 돌잔치 (doljanchi)

I've had one experience of this; it was my friend's nephew's first birthday. He told me it was a big thing. I didn't think it would be that big of a celebration though. They had a whole reception hall that is specifically for first birthdays reserved. An entire buffet with sushi and dessert, a professional photographer, and a comedian. Never seen such a thing for a baby's birthday in my life. Then, they also put a bunch of items in front of the kid to decide what their strengths will be. So, if the baby picks up a microphone (entertainer), food (won't go hungry), money (wealthy), pen (smarts), thread (long life). There are other things as well that can be options.

60th birthday 환갑 (Hwangap)

This is basically what we think of like the over the hill birthday in Korea, a celebration of your long life. It also has to do with zodiac signs aligning every 60 years. With everyone having longer lives today, a lot of people are starting to move the big celebration to 70 years, instead of 60.

Alright, I hope you learned something new reading this post about age in Korea. There are tons of other things that I could go on about, but I think this is enough for today. Now, I have to start preparing for my birthday weekend!!




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

So you get to age a year every 6 months? New years, and then your other birthday in June? So you age twice as fast as most people? I guess we know how Confucius got his name now, by confusing everyone as to how old they are.

Its just two different ways of counting birthdays.
So Korean way, is you are one year when you are born, then add a year everytime the Lunar New Year passes.
Then, the Western way that we use.
Yeah, he was pretty confusing at times lol

Happy birthday!
The information about birthday and respect to elders and others is a refresher for me. I am well familiar with it but I always forget it haha! They consider 60 as long life? I was of the thought that they live longer and probably longer than 60 is long like say 80 perhaps?

Anyway, have a great blast!

Congratulations @mr-bike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76