Birthday Gift

in #life5 years ago

IMG_7593.JPG

Everyone in the family knows that I love to read. Fiction only. I have no head for non fiction and I dislike magazines.

It's easy for everyone when it comes to buying birthday presents for me. Just get me a book on mystery or a thriller.

The first book my young son gave me was a paperback by Anthony Trollope called Barchester Towers. Of course I kissed and thanked him for the 'wonderful' present. Privately, I shuddered at the thought of reading those four hundred and eighty pages of make believe by a nineteen century author. The uninteresting storyline about the church and its clergy would make the reading extra torturous.

IMG_7594.JPG

Fortunately, my son never asked me if I enjoyed the book. I did not read it until three years later. I had nothing to do and felt I ought to give it a go. I was immediately hooked. I loved it! Barchester Towers is the second of six books that made up the Chronicles of Barsetshire written about the power struggle within the clergy.

I got my hands on the other five books of the series, read and reread them several times. About three years ago, I searched and thoroughly enjoyed watching the BBC 1982 dramatisation of Anthony Trollope's Chronicles of Barchester on YouTube.

Sort:  

That's great to receive a book as a present especially the book genre you like. Love your tagline on your profile: Love to read, love to travel and cook for family. I guess we are like-minded on this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09