What the Cab Driver said...

in #life6 years ago

IMG_4768.JPG

Cab drivers are an interesting lot; most of them. They are eager to share their life story, political opinions and trivialities whether encouraged or otherwise.

I must reiterate that cab drivers are generally pretty friendly and helpful. It is actually not a bad thing to chat with them. We have office colleagues to talk with but cab drivers may have no one to talk with for hours on end. The trip may turn out to be highly entertaining if we give the man a chance to say his piece.

Here are some of the stories or narratives I had the 'privilege' to hear:

Ride 1

IMG_4770.JPG

"Here in this great city, if there is the Mafia, then the Chinese Triad is just next door!"

Ride 2 (40 minute monologue from airport to hotel)

IMG_4764.JPG

"My name is Irwan. Indonesian Chinese. My Chinese name is 'Chang'. My father's real birthdate is....... My children dislike........"

Ride 3

IMG_4765.JPG

"I am allergic to life. When I need to sneeze, I really give my loudest snort."

Ride 4

IMG_4767.JPG

"People are willing to pay a good thousand dollars just to be (snap)shot with the President or his wife. Are they mad?"

Ride 5

IMG_3121.JPG

"She is visiting and staying at the Fairmont. Just look at the number of security personnel. Who has ever heard of anyone trying to assassinate a President's wife?"

IMG_4766.JPG

Truly colourful encounters and free life tutorial!

Quote of the Day!

Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72