A Netflix Nugget: Umbrella AcademysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

ua_show_promo.jpg

Don't worry. There are no spoilers in this review.

I was going to post about this show last week, but I decided to wait until I finished the entire season. After all, what if it started to suck as the show got closer to the end, right?

In the meantime, it was nice to see other Steemians who were also captivated by this fun, quirkly, stylistic "super hero" show. If you haven't checked out this review by @bryan-imhoff, you should go read what he has to say:
https://steemit.com/comics/@bryan-imhoff/i-hate-the-umbrella-academy

Umbrella Academy is amazing. It's friggin' awesome. I actually had FUN watching it.

"But, Nate...how do you have FUN watching TV...?"

I dunno. But that's what it was like. There was mystery, suspense, drama, and twists. Great visuals. Great music. Great acting. Great directing.

Each scene appeared to be carefully orchestrated. I appreciated the nuances and attention to detail. I loved the characters. Casting was excellent. Everybody in the show seemed to fully embrace the story and put their heart into it.

ua_show_funeral.jpeg

There was a bit of profanity and plenty of violence, but I didn't feel like a horrible parent for letting my kid watch it. He loved it. My wife enjoyed it.

It's just a REALLY good show. From episode one, you get the feeling that this is not a "normal" show. It takes a road less travelled. It finds its own identity. By episode two, you're hooked. After that, it's a real effort not to binge through the rest, because each episode gets better and better.

Probably it's biggest draw is the offbeat sense of humor. There's a character named Klaus who can see dead people. He did such an amazing job at injecting funny into every scene. And yet, he wasn't a clown. He had depth and emotional scars and a complexity to him.

Even the CGI characters had an emotional depth that made you care about them.

So if you haven't noticed already, I dig the show. The final episode didn't disappoint. I thought it was fun all the way til the end.

Thankfully, season two has already been green lit.

Since I was so eager for more, More, MORE Umbrella Academy, I decided to go grab up the comics. I never read them (or even heard of them), so I was curious to see how they compared to the show.

ua_comic_team.jpg

So far, I've only read through the first "run" of 6 issues called Apocalypse Suite.

I enjoyed the art style. It reminded me of Mike Mignola's Hellboy. And I liked the story's "vibe". It reminded me of Moore's League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

The pacing was a bit fast for my taste. I would have preferred that it slowed things down to give the reader a chance to care about the characters or dive into sub-plots. So in that respect, I think the Netflix show is actually superior to the comic.

Speaking of which, it looks like the show very clearly used the comic as the basis for season one's storyline.

It was cool to explore the Umbrella Academy universe in a different way.

I'll try to make time to read through the second "run" of issues (called Dallas). Maybe later this week.

For those who love toys and collectibles, apparently there's some floating around out there. Just be ready to pay big bucks, since I don't think there was that many made. So there's a hefty premium.

ua_pvc.jpg

So that's what I have to say about that. Go check out the show. I think you'll like it.

If anyone has any recommendations for what to watch next, let me know. Ending the season left a big void to fill.

NOTE: I do not claim any of the images as my own. Umbrella Academy show images are from Netflix and comic images from Dark Horse comics. All legal rights belong to them and use of images is purely for editorial purposes.

sigsteem_nateaguila.png

Sort:  

I heard of this show called Peaky Blinders on Netflix. Pretty awesome.

Hello dear @nateaguila, it’s been a little while here!

But I’m glad that you’re here with something big, something fun and lovely as usual.

It's just a REALLY good show..

Yes I believe those words! I’m off to the office, I’ll definitely use my spare time at the office to watch the the show. UMBRELLA ACADEMY is fun!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, you should definitely watch it at the office.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just knowing the comic is relatively brief, I was pretty sure it would be more “high concept” but not rival the character driven aspect of the show. I’ll still be reading it when I get the time!

I enjoy how the show drops you into this alternate reality but doesn’t feel the need to explain everything. It took me a while to put my finger on it, but I was struck by how they chose to minimize modern day technology. I’m curious if there’s an eventual plot explanation (like the birth event, one of the children, or Hargreaves altering how tech evolved from our version of the world) or if it was simply a conscious worldbuilding choice to create more anachronistic charm and enhance drama by eliminating ubiquitous cellphones and computers.

I believe that this is intended to be an alternate universe where historical events and innovations in technology happened differently in very specific and unique ways.

For instance, they’ve already made reference to the Kennedy assassination. Five was there, but he didn’t pull the trigger.

How does all this time jumping change the world?

Or maybe it’s all just a stylistic choice.

I’m eager to find out as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Wow ... Your amazing posts friends

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice post. Interesting reading of

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.106 which ranks you at #984 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 985).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @nateaguila!

You just got a 1.88% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @nateaguila! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09