Ode to a dear friend that just passed away today

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'm in shock. I haven't really processed this right now, but I must share this.
I just found out that a dear friend of mine, Dan Schreiber, has passed away today.
RIP
DecolonizingHumanity
He was a former Wind-surfing world champion before he moved to subtropical rainforests of the mountains behind the alternative mecca known as Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia more than 2 decades ago.

He was a beautiful man on a powerful mission to reconnect all our people back to having a harmonic relationship with Mother Earth.

I'm not going to attempt explaining his mission because he's better at explaining it as you can see for yourself in this TedX talk he gave. It’s an awesome ted talk well worth watching if you wish to be inspired.

Friendship


Back when we were close friends, just before the births of our daughters nearly 2 decades ago, we would eat freshly picked psilocybin mushrooms and journey together doing what Aboriginal people referred to as sacred men's business whilst our pregnant partners at the time did their sacred women's business.
At the time, he was doing high-level landscaping for the rich and tried to launch his own organic clothing label, The Urban Monk, which failed.
He knew that I was one of a small group of people who were ethnobotanical psychedelic explorers who were amongst the first in Australia to have partaken in the Amazonian South American Native sacred psychedelic brew, Ayahuasca, so he would often pick my brain to find out more about this sacred medicine.
I explained as vividly as I could what the medicine does and what it showed to me personally for my life path.
Within a matter of months (circa 2000) he had flown to Ecuador to visit with the shamans of the Amazon there and began his long journey with these amazing people. I love how he would just focus on something and do it, rather than slowly think about doing things, like most people.
Eventually, he brought some of the elders over to Australia to host sacred ritual here with the local Aboriginal people.
My music career in that time had begun to take me far and wide, and the relationships with our previous partners had ended at the same time, so our contact with each other dwindled, but we would often bump into each other and proceed to have amazing philosophical discussions as if no time had passed at all.
Isn’t it strangely beautiful that you can be close to someone for about a year and then your paths bifurcate in different directions.

Dan deeply touched everyone who had come into his life with his warm, compassionate, loving energy and such a deep well of profound wisdom he shared with us all.

I am forever changed for the positive for having had him in my life and blessed for the amazing memories we shared together.

Big love and gratitude to you Dan!
May your soul be blessed on it's onward journey into infinity, my friend...

Here’s an article of his:
https://upliftconnect.com/decolonizing-humanity/

Lessons


A big change is coming in my life soon, and I feel that his sudden departure is like the spirits beyond the veil calling me to remember who I really am and rapidly catapult the trajectory of why I am here.
What am I waiting for?

What are you waiting for?

Why are you taking so long wasting time with trivialities and distractions instead of shining that radiant heart of yours with the gifts you requested from Great Spirit before entering this world?

Dive in.
Start doing what you came here on this planet to do and be a part of. If you are already on your path, turn up the volume of your focus to get it into motion faster. The world needs you and your gifts. The sooner the better.

Thanks so much for reading all of this. That isn’t the sign that you are a patient, respectful, compassionate and intelligent being.
Blessings and smiles,
In joy
Nathan
NK


Please make sure you vote for @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @followbtcnews, @aggroed as witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses. These beautiful beings do lotsa good.


Thanks so much for commenting below
(because I'm hoping you're about to ).
If you felt the vibe of this article, or it's helped you shift perspective,
please do click upvote, click resteem, click follow and comment.
Let's connect, be friends!
I'd really love to hear from you.

I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…

Also, I'm a proud helpinaut!
Visit @helpie to find out what that means and
to find out if you'd be a proper fit for our discord group!
Helping is the #1 goal!



![Nathan-Kaye-Steemit-Banner-01.jpg]()
Sort:  

I'm so sorry for the pain that you must be feeling right now and for the loss of such a wonderful man. One point that you made in this post really hit home for me:
"A big change is coming in my life soon, and I feel that his sudden departure is like the spirits beyond the veil calling me to remember who I really am and rapidly catapult the trajectory of why I am here.
What am I waiting for?"
because I feel the same way about my boyfriend that passed on a couple of months ago. I feel like he gave me the next piece of my journey and now it's up to me to use what he gave me to create something wonderful that is soulful while keeping in line with my true purpose on this Earth.
Sending you love and light while you mourn your friend and enjoy the precious memories.
hugs
Ivy

Thanks so much Ivy.
It's been an interesting death for me to process. I haven't really felt pain for Dan's departure. I know that sounds cold, but on the contrary, it's liberating. I have felt pain with the death of other loved ones, but with Dan I feel inspired and reignited. It could be that we have had only sporadic connections throughout the years that has allowed me to have enough of a gap to process this in a different way. I mean, there's moments of feeling surreality that I'll never have another face to face conversation with him again, but I have enough memories to satisfy the hole left.
So, rather than mourning death, I feel like I'm celebrating his life.

I'm sorry for your loss. It's so fresh for you so it must be an intense thing to deal with.
But we can get a positive out of this, in that life is to be lived fully now.
Blessings and love 🙏🏽

Ah, I am inspired by your wonderful sentiments, memorializing your friend. And I greatly appreciate your call to action for all of us:

Why are you taking so long wasting time with trivialities and distractions instead of shining that radiant heart of yours with the gifts you requested from Great Spirit before entering this world?

Thanks so much @cabelindsay.
That's the takeaway for me from this experience and I just wanted to share how positively this has affected me in the hope others get inspired to live in presence.
Blessings
🙏🏽

You are very blessed to have known such a beautiful soul personally and that you could learn from each other. I feel with you for your loss....may he have a good journey ...I will watch his Ted talk later and send him all my love while listening to his words...

Thanks so much @psionic-tremors. Yes. Dan's TedX talk is worth watching.
Blessings
🙏🏽

This is a beautiful tribute, Nathan.

Having read all of it, I'm left with a feeling of gratitude for your having known him. A year is actually quite a good chunk of time. Even if your paths diverged, he clearly had a deep impact on your spirit.

I do believe we come into each other's lives just long enough to teach and be taught by. Once we've exchanged those gifts, we move on. The same could be said for how long we remain in these bodies. When our work is done here...we graduate. <3

Sending heaps of love and warm hugs to you, dear.

bm14-1522.jpg

Very true indeed, Zippy.
That was my intention - to transmit his wisdom and the reignition caused by his passing.
ANd you're right, a year is a decent enough chunk of time to have been deeply affected. Heck! I have had connections with certain beings that only lasted a matter of days that last with me for my whole life.
Blessings and love 🙏🏽

Dan seems to be a great person, just like you are, and the friendship between the two of you seems undying...

I'm so sorry for your loss, @nathankaye... <3

Thank you kindly, Whinston. I appreciate that immensely. Blessings 🙏🏽

Im sorry for you loss brother... he will always live on in your memories mate and in that sense he will never be completely gone.

Indeed this is true, my friend. Thanks so much. 🙏🏽

Sorry for the loss man, hurts.

Thank you mate... 🙏🏽

Sorry for your loss brother. Sending you our condolences.

Thanks so much, you two lovelies! 🙏🏽

I am deeply sorry for your loss Nathan

Thank you, Pris. 🙏🏽

Sorry to hear mate. Sounds like a character. Was just chattimg to someone about Wade Davis book ONE RIVER .. have you read it? Ethnobotany is an incredible subject. Never done Ayahuasca though have read alot about it and mates are into it.

Warm hugs to yiu. X

Thanks @riverflows.
I don't know Wade Davis' book. Is it about ethnobotany?
Ayahuasca isn't for everybody, but it's powerful medicine.
Blessings 🙏🏽

Yes, it's all about ethnobotany in the Amazon. I loved it! Highly recommended.

Ok, kewl! I'll have to seek that one out... Have you seen the documentary SHamans of the Amazon by Dean Jefferys? First doco of it's kind... Unfortunately it got aired on national TV here in Australia and then the next day it got banned and the federal police raided homes of friends making Aya...
Dean's one of my close friends..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82