Artful Wollongong. [Exploring the Capital of the Illawarra at Dawn].

in #life6 years ago (edited)

20180514_062404.jpg

Exploring your own home city is important. It's great to know your neck of the woods, but you don't want it to transform into a stale marriage.

I have been taking some very early walks this week. It's pretty special waking up so early to experience the city before most others do. The city sleeps, it rejuvenates and wakes up bright and fresh in the morning. I like being the one who takes the first sip of the day. Get in there and suck off the foam before anyone else gets a chance to even smell the brew.

To experience the city in another light, walking around before the sun even comes up is a good start. I'm used to driving past the same things all the time. And it can get boring and depressing. Moving slowly- walking- gives you a different perspective. You're able to take so much more in within far less range. It's super exciting, actually. I walked from our place in North Gong down to our main shopping district which is smack-bang in the centre of the CBD.

20180514_062627.jpg

Over the last few years, Wollongong City Council have made a pretty good effort to transform the "fugly old mall" into the vibrant Crown Street Mall. I strolled up and down it almost in total isolation except for another dude chilling out and the worker riding the street sweeper making passes up and down it's stretch.

I can hear the sounds of distant lone vehicles, the sound of my breathing and the rhythmic patter of my sneakers on the cement all while I'm inhaling what seems like virgin air.

Globe Lane. Wollongong's favourite missing sock.

No matter what part of the mall you're in, you are probably just one minute away from something huge and scarily realistic.

20180514_063304.jpg

Just before you get to the top of the mall, there's a little alley very much worth wandering down.

Globe Lane sports two huge mural portraits, my local comic book store and a very popular cafe that serves a sweet, doughy-spiral called a Kürtőskalács. For those who don't speak or read Hungarian, our English-speaking eyes would read it as "Kurtosh". I'm pretty sure they're all vegan except for the nutella one. I CANNOT get enough of the hazelnut variety. When it's baked, the sugar perfectly infuses with the hazelnut pieces forming a thousand crystalline-crunch bliss bombs.

20180514_063346.jpg

You'd probably expect self-portraits of local artists or the mugs of important locals. Not celebrities. And not Megan Fox. It's lovely artwork, though.

20180514_063803.jpg

Another minute down the road and I'm walking through a vacant youth centre outdoor hangout complete with skate ramps and more artwork.

Having bright, magnetic places are important for kids to exercise and inspire their own creativity. I've been here during daylight hours and it's bedlam. As a child, I would have avoided places like this in the same manner I avoid animal products - with extreme prejudice. I just wasn't really an outgoing child.

Wollongong City Library has its own Deadpool.

Last year (or the one before), I watched a mural of Deadpool being spray painted for Comic Gong, which incidentally is on tomorrow. It was being painted on the street and now resides within the library in the Youth graphic novel section. If you're lucky, I'll take some snaps of it tomorrow and talk more about it.

With a ton more steps logged, I headed home.

20180514_063847.jpg

Wollongong is worth wandering about. If you're in Sydney, take the train down here and see a less explored city. The beach and art culture collide in fireworks and sparks. You want to be a part of this light show.

Just don't walk at dawn. I like my peace.

It's time to pound the UPVOTE button. [COMMENT, FOLLOW, RESTEEM]

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

This post was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

really cool street art ! love it !

Thanks for stopping by, man. It was amazing pre dawn.

Take care.
Nick.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nickmorphew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=artful-wollongong-exploring-the-capital-of-the-illawarra-at-dawn


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 25 SBD worth and should receive 49 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @nickmorphew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I have a few friends who are "writers" :)
Around Melbourne's northern suburbs, Fitzroy, Brunswick, Northcote, we have some amazing street art.
When I have friends visiting from overseas, or interstate, the graff spots are some of the first places I take them.
Darebin Council on the other hand is totally anal about it, some of the greatest art I have ever seen has been whited over in 2-3 days XD
Peace.

Why do you call them "writers"?

And yes- I totally agree. I've written about our last rendezvous with Melbourne's art (or at least what we saw of it). Very cool place.

Thanks for dropping by.

Nick

I think the origins of writer, in relation to graff art, is from hip hop. Maybe even KRS-One?
Peace.

Ahhhh got ya!

More Than you Can Think

Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
CLICK HERE TO JOIN

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28