Tales from the dark side of retail

in #life6 years ago

I dislike talking on the phone and working in a bookstore has made me start to view the telephone as an instrument of torture. I think that some people have the philosophy: "have telephone, why not bother others?" They start dialing on impulse, before they have formed a coherent train of thought and once you have picked up, they start waffling and spewing half-formed sentences, leaving you to try and figure out what it is they actually want.

birds eye view1.jpg
Random picture of the leftovers of a cat victim

For this reason, I prefer to work night shift and on weekends as the phone seldom rings at those times. After 9pm the other night, I had finished cashing up and was on the verge of locking up and going home when the phone rang. Thinking it was my boss, I picked up.

Him: "Hello, I have been looking online and I found your shop and I see that it is next to a coffee shop. Do you think it would be a good venue for a first date?"

Me: "Well I suppose that depends on whether or not she likes reading. Why don't you just ask her to go for coffee?"

Him: "But don't you think that would be an original idea?"

Me: "Well I hope you aren't planning on doing that right now because we are closed and so is the coffee shop"

Him: "No, not now, I'm just planning in advance and trying to think of something that would make an impression".

Me: "How about if you ask her what it is that she would enjoy doing? Bye."

I suppose that's full marks for trying but I think that someone needs to take him aside and teach him that grand gestures often have unintended consequences, especially when you ask everyone else except the object of your intentions...

Sort:  

Hahaha😂 So funny! Sometimes I wonder about the human race! I actually hate phones too, if mine rings it gives me anxiety, because its usually someone annoying wanting something from you anyway.

Retail really shows you the weirder side. Many people should not be allowed out unaccompanied and others shouldn't be allowed to use a phone!

Photo, of course, beautiful, but the bird is a pity ...
Phone conversation:
Maybe he wanted to meet you? :-)

You know what cats are like.... It did cross my mind afterwards but while we were actually talking, it seemed to me that he had someone else in mind. I have had men try and flirt with me before and they behave a little differently, lol

Just a thought. Is it possible that you were the object of his intentions?

Well then he really went about it the wrong way!

Pardon my intrusion. I did have the same thought. 🐓🐓

Sometimes people who have a lot of time call everyone in order to talk about their problems and thereby distract people from work. But they do not think about it. They need to state their problems

lol that was such a bizarre phone call enquiry.

What would you have said he responded to your statement with this....

Him: "So what do you enjoy doing?"

"slamming the phone down on morons!". Click.

weird story and weird pic! hahaha :) don't answer the phone after 9:00 no more hahah ;)

Usually, I don't. I will never do it again!

😁😁😁 for sure! Hahah

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

lol, you were in a bad mood, i suppose. the poor guy just needed some pep-talk.

I am there to sell books, not give dating advice

Phones are, indeed, instruments of torture... at least for introverts. As a cat, I'm blessed to not deal with them... my Humans, not so much.

People just behave strangely with retail stores. One of the "family businesses" is a small art gallery, and people call all the time with the strangest questions:

"Yeah, do you know the hours of that place upstairs from you that sells cookies?"

Umm... why don't you call THEM?

=^..^=

Yeah, asking for neighbour's phone number or operating hours is a regular thing

Oh, I feel for you. Worked for more than a decade in retail and have been yelled at, assaulted, treated like human garbage, and had to deal with things I never should have seen. You were extremely kind to your caller in my mind.

It's amazing how badly people can behave. I hope you aren't still working under those conditions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69