I'm a biker, and I did something very irresponsible

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is me wearing the red scarf and my best friend (RIP) posing in the low lands in Scotland aside his wife's bike back in 2007.

I have been riding motorbikes for longer than i remember, my first own bike, was a 125 yahama cross motorbike i used to ride on the sand dunes of Coro in venezuela back when i was 14 years old, it was lots of fun and i still bear the marks of burns and falls while riding in the desert wearing shorts lol.

But i actually started riding earlier... I'm not sure how old i was but i remember having lots of fun in a micro motorbike a friend of had when we where just kids.

Later on i had a few other bikes (I'll tell you about it in some other post).

Because today i want to tell you about something very stupid i did recently that even though i'm not proud of it in retrospective, now it is done there is no reason not to enjoy the fun we had.

My son who is barely 3 years old had his first pillion ride on my 1991 1400 Suzuki intruder last weekend.

My wife wanted to kill me but he and i had a lot of fun.

It all started when a couple of friends called us to invite us to share a box of oysters by the river in our city last weekend, they had bougth a box of 48 oysters (caliber 2) and 2 bottles of muscadet (I live in the region where muscadet is made so we have a great choice of them.)

I had spent the morning de-hibernating the bike and all i wanted was to go for a stroll, and this was the perfect opportunity.

But of course my wife declined and took the tramway with Valentin, while i set off for a little stroll and joined them by the river some 30 minutes later.

This is europe, and this is winter time... But a real biker only needs a road, be it cold, rainy or snowy, the roar of the engine and owning a proper set of biker leathers are enough to cope with whatever weather it happens to be.

Sunday was a warm winter day, 1degree C and the intruder was idlying at some nice 80C being air cooled they are hot like hell so not so nice in summer time they make a perfect winter bike that keeps you warm.

Well, after the oyster we were ready to go back home and we realized my son was shivering (usually one looses about 1 or 2 C by the river) and i was letting the bike idle to reach riding temperature and we decided to sit my son on it while we waiter...

He was thrilled, he owns a little pushbike made of wood called the early rider and it has a mean chopper looks and there he was in a loud chopper (My mistake: un silenced Highway hawk straight pipes, but they look and sound mean just your hears bleed after a long ride hahaha)

IMG_2021.JPG

So obviously he was warm on an idling huge chopper motorbike (I might tell you some other day how i spend a lot of time with the engine disassembled in my living room while restoring and modifying it but not today) and he wanted to ride with dad...

My wife refused categorically, but once back in the stroller my son started shivering again, so i insisted a little, i had figured out since the teardrop shaped tank covers my knees it should not be unfeasible to sit my son in front have his legs under the tank and holding him with my own legs (Easier said than done with forward controls but still feasible... )

So she accepted wrapped him in a polar blanket and I made a makeshift harness with spider bunjee cord to secure Valentin to me, we set him and while a very unconvinced wife left on foot with the stroller towards the tramway station, i set off with Val to join her there.

I never seen him so happy and exited, he forgot he was cold, he forgot everything, the exhilaration from his smile was enough to convince me that being a biker is a genetic disorder, and my son inherited from me.

I cannot wait for him to be of age to own his first micro bike... But well I think it will be wiser not to do this again, i am sure i must have broke at least 10 road rules and laws... And probably if the police had caught me my son would end in social services... So I wont advice you try the same.

Al the same was a great day, my son is an early rider and i hope you enjoyed this little adventure that changes from the constant bitching my posts usually are.

Thanks for reading!

If you like my stuff you know what to do, i'll sure be honored...

Disclaimer: To whoever may concern, the above works constitute a text of fiction emanated purely and solely from my imagination, and cannot and should not be accepted or proposed as evidence (And i had somewhere a helmet... )

Este bello GIF animado lo realizo el amigo @jimramones y lo pueden encontrar aqui: Como realizo mis sueños

Sort:  

Great pictures from you! Well done
Is cute Haha
Thanks for sharing

Wololo!

(RandoHealer has conducted healing on this post due to downvotes incurred here)

I rode a motorcycle with my father when I was 5 years old so I don't really see the problem with you taking your son for a ride at such a young age and it sounds like you were responsible and drove safely. I think its good for kids to have experiences in life rather than have a ton of things bought for them so I think you gave him a good experience =)
Ivy

Yes i know, i'm sure you have come across this text comparing the laws and rules we have today regarding safety with what we grew up knowing and doing...

As long as prudence prevails there is no real reason to worry...

After all people has survived climbing Everest to die falling of a chair...

Exactly! And what is life without a little bit of risk?
Ivy

Life without risk would be: A very boring, long amount of time...

amigo esa es la actitud, estar siempre animado y sonriente.saludos y mucho exito con la familia 🙂

Gracias mano, si hoy me provoco hacer un post chevere, no pensar en vainas y escribir de lo que amo... Mi hijo y mi moto hahaha....

claro amigo, hablar de lo que amas alivia mucho. Gran moto espero tener una algun día...


Cuando quieras competimos

No sé mucho de motos pero me tomaron una foto hace años atrás, tomada en captura para que vean pura potencia en marcha.

525892_4002777583758_88829280_n.jpg

Excelente la primera foto, que en paz descanse.

hahaha asi era la primare que tuve una bichita asi, como se jodia con esos peroles.

Estoy enamorada de ese bebé tan hermoso...

Te lo vendo...

Por cierto vamos a hacerte un steem aprende pa que te pongas una fotico chica ;)

Tu hijo es el niño más lindo que he visto, felicidades tienes una hermosa familia! Esa mujer es brava ay dios!
Está hermosa tu moto, mi novio y yo nos compramos una Vespa Lml nuestro primer vehículo sigue en el taller prometo pronto enviarte fotos!
Saludos amigo!

Gracias Carla!
Si es brava, y bueno que me ha agarrado confianza jajajaja.

Las vespas son geniales para la ciudad! Unos caballitos de batalla!

Usa siempre casco y al menos una chaqueta de cuero y guantes!! Nada mas feo que un raspon de asfalto :P

Yo siempre uso armadura total de cuero

I think your wife was very brave! I can't stand those nerves, he looked happy so I doubt you should wait for his 18, I'm sure he took the bike off you long before, by the way cross the itsmo Coro - Punto Fijo in motorbike is for crazies, I felt that the breeze carried me, surely you will do it again just have to have a little prudence. I hope the translator will help me because I don't speak any English.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

He he la pobre tiene guaramo :)
Arregla el itsmo y punto fijo que no deberia tradicirse por son nombres :)

I loved riding in the sand dunes in Paraguana peninsule.

gracias tienes razón

Your son... The future bike rider... Wish you the very best bike ride with your son as you tour round the world

¡Dios! Es que los niños saben lo que quieren desde que nacen. La cara de alegría de tu pequeño sobre la motocicleta lo dice todo. Creo que debes estar preparado para lo que te toca cuando crezca, jajaja... quizás entiendas un poco mas a tus padres. Por cierto, que hermosa familia tienes, Dios los guarde.

Gracias @syllem, jajaja peor que yo no puede ser... Ojala logre transmitirle el equilibrio que a mi me inculcaron entre no detenerse y no ponerse en riesgo jejejeje.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85