Do you have a hard time making tough decisions? 6 tips to fix that

in #life5 years ago

If you've got a tough decision to make, you may find yourself rocking back and forth on the floor in agony like the creepy girl from the Ring (did she do that?)

Or maybe you're not dealing with your indecision creepy-girl style, but you still need some help.

So alright.

Here are some tips to keep you sane and off the floor when making a decision:

1. Ask yourself- Is it a hell yes?

If it's not, then it's a no.

2. Will you regret saying no?

If you think you'd regret not trying something, then by all means, go for it! If it fails, okay. But at least you tried and at least you know. You won't be stuck always wondering about "what could have been."

3. What would I do if I wasn't trying to show off on social media?

This one is for more of a small decision, like if you're on a vacation and you're trying to decide if you should be a lazy bum and just relax all day vs. going out and doing something epic like hiking a volcano with awesome views and then posting pics all over social media.

If social media didn't exist, what are you in the mood to do TODAY? Hike or relax?

This works for bigger decisions as well when you think about it, because it comes down to one thing- What truly makes YOU happy?

If you take away social media and you know deep down you're in the mood to just lay around, then you're doing something that pleases YOU, not other people.

4. What will your life be like 5 years from now based on which choice you make?

When I decided to quit being a Spanish teacher forever, my co-workers and principal told me I'd regret it.

That I was ruining my career.

That I'd have a hard time finding a good job.

That I'd wasted my time in college.

And yada yada yada.

But I knew deep down, that teaching wasn't what I wanted to do with my life. It just hit me like a ton of bricks one day that the longer I stayed there, the more time I was taking away from being able to find out what it was that I TRULY wanted to do.

I was spending my time teaching instead of learning new skills to find out what new career I wanted to do.

So I quit.

I didn't even bother to stick it out until the end of the school year like a "responsible" person would do.

I didn't want to waste another second when I knew that 5 years from that moment, I did not want to be in a classroom.

5. What's my end goal?

This kind of goes with number 4, but sometimes you need to ask yourself if the decision will move your further away from your end goal, or closer to it.

Some decisions, like taking a certain job, might be nice in the meantime, but ultimately don't get you closer to where you REALLY want to be in the future. Go with the option that your future self will thank you for.

6. What are the pros and cons?

Whip out that infamous pros and cons list, boo. You know you need it.

And maybe you need a lifeline, too, like on the show "Who wants to be a millionaire." Phone a friend.

How do you go about making a tough decision?

Sort:  

All great advice, @nomadicsoul.

Point 3 is particularly poignant (currently travelling in SEA I see so much activity that is clearly ‘just for the gram.’). No judgement here, but I agree with you that it is altering people’s behaviour.

5 is my favourite; I like to think of decisions being the pieces of a puzzle, with each one hopefully getting you closer to your end goal.

Anyway, thanks again for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love that puzzle analogy! That's a good point... You need to know the bigger picture to know what pieces fit into it.

I see that a lot in SEA too. Pretty happy I'm not a gram slave. But I know for some people it's necessary for their job or brands

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome :). Inspirational as always!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

thanks for sharing this with us... hope it is going to help me in ahead...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13