I Knew I Was Dreaming So I Did Something Crazy - Steemit

in #life5 years ago

Have you ever had a lucid dream?

You know… the kind where you KNOW you’re dreaming?

I remember having my first one my freshman year of high school.

And it was the first lil’ piece of the puzzle that taught me that life doesn't have to be a certain way.

In my first lucid dream, I was at school.

And I ran around the hallways in my underwear, because why not?

I knew I was dreaming!

In a lucid dream, you can create your own reality.

Because you know there are no consequences when you wake up.

So I danced on the lunch tables.

I took ALL the junk food out of the vending machines and didn't pay for it.

I told the popular kids what I REALLY thought of them.

I ran around the halls in my underwear...

...because why not?

I knew none of it would matter in the morning.

For some reason, after waking up from that dream where I felt invincible to do whatever I wanted in life, I started thinking, "Well, maybe I can do what I want in life."

Within reason, anyway.

I thought, "if I do something embarrassing...it won't even matter because 5 years from now, no one will remember."

That's when I first started getting the confidence to do things that other people would be too afraid to do.

I felt so confident.

Or maybe what I felt was just a despicable lack of shame, I'm not sure.

For example, I wasn’t embarrassed to be the first one on the dance floor.

I remember at my friend’s birthday party in high school, she’d rented out a dance floor.

She was really upset because no one was dancing and it was awkward.

Her mom came up to me and said, “Hey, can you get people to dance?”

I didn’t really think about the reason she specifically asked me to help out until later.

She must have known that I had no shame.

She knew that I’d say “sure” and then go dance on the floor by myself like an idiot while everyone else stood in a circle and gawked at me.

But hey… slowly, one by one…I literally pulled people in with me.

And it worked!

She thanked me for saving the party.

I literally blame this on lucid dreaming (plus, ok, my mom is kinda shameless. I must’ve picked something up from her).

Have you had a lucid dream before? Did it effect you in any way?

Sort:  

I do get them from time to time, I love the thrill and knowing I'M in control.
For a moment I thought this was about that jam lucid dreams By Juice Wrld. :)))) Freaking Love that song! Happy Valentine's Day!

I have had several lucid dreams myself too, I learned how to fly, and now flying is always my first instinct when I become conscious in a dream :D

For example, I wasn’t embarrassed to be the first one on the dance floor.

Heh, that reminds of Steemfest and the Night of Steem in the club. Nobody was using the dance floor so I went there and dropped couple smooth moves. Half an hour later when I came back again, I found several people on the dance floor. I guess I succeeded :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You and I think a lot alike. Tho, I've never danced on lunch tables in my skivies lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's okey to dream the person you want the place you travel the woman you like... they come your way when you love yourself first

That’s really interesting, I’ve had a couple lucid dreams but I never thought to have them inspire me in real life. Good take away!

Half of the time I don't recall my dreams unless something unsettling, which I don't like.

Otherwise it's great to keep those dreams remaing as a dream where our brains have their let go hair moments.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've actually never had one, I never have control over my dreams i'm just like a hamster in a cage hoping it all works out and when it doesnt I normally wake up in such a panic lol

I do have them often and they can deeply affect me. They've certainly given me a clearer picture of reality than I have found in the physical earth. While the full spectrum of evolution can be found in the internal dream worlds, you can also reach pinnacles of consciousness that are seldom, if ever, experienced in the physical world.

been a while.. but used to love getting them

reminds me of that scene from Waking Life about dreams and reality..

from waking life

although your dream sounded funner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17