You'll Look At It — How Can You Not Look At It?

in #life5 years ago

I don't really want to talk about it.
So what if two years worth of art looks like crap now.

NoNamesLeftToUse - You're Looking At It.png
You're Looking At It

NoNamesLeftToUse - The World Inside.png
The World Inside

This is more of a test.

I guess.

As some of you might know, I've produced about 99% of the images on my blog.

By 'produce', I mean every pixel from nearly every image on this blog never existed until I made it exist. Majority of the images started out as nothing. They're not edited photos, all of the work was done using hand-eye coordination and based on imagination; none of that push button automation/filter stuff, no reference images were traced over.

Everything, made from scratch, thousands of hours worth of work.

I always took pride in offering high quality. I wanted my work to shine, not be full of artifacts and distortion.

For some folks, all they had to do was find an image online and upload it to their blog. The quality of those images means nothing to them. For me, seeing how images are now being displayed on this blog; it's much like waking up one day and noticing every blog post is full of typos. This is my 700th published post here; that's a lot of typos.

Oh well.

What can I do?

You might not notice the distortions in the images. You might think I wanted it to look like that. You might think I'm slipping, slacking off, being lazy; all kinds of negative shit. I have no control over how these images are being displayed here now.

I've made a few changes, did some experimenting with different file formats. Those two examples above are about as crisp, clear and as close to the originals as I can possibly get. Good from far but far from good.

I'm sorry.

How images are displayed here now is beyond my control.

I'm a bit of a perfectionist. Maybe the image quality doesn't bother you but on this end, I've gone completely bonkers; batshit crazy; no more marbles.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
NoNamesLeftToUse Outro.png

"Another brick in the wall."

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse.  All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I noticed the decrease. I think if you do your post on busy it still looks good. Not ideal if you love the Steemit front end i know.

I had a look on every different interface I could think of, I see distortions everywhere now. Maybe I'll look again to see if things changed or got better but as of this writing, the shit has hit the fan, and it's everywhere. One way for me to tell is my signature in the bottom right of every image. Those lines shouldn't be jagged unless you zoom right in.

I think if you upload it via steemit then it will loook shit everywhere because they are compressing them down hard. I uploaded mine on busy and I think my image is ok, then again, Its hard to tell with my images sometimes, lol

Does busy take a cut?

Nope, not a bit and also, if you use the tag busy they give you an upvote, strength dependant on some voodoo-esque formula related to followers sp totals or something

This should be your image unaltered cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmPm2dku1yzjYbx1zyHs8FPaKYehz2PLAChDKwZLPDfjjX/NoNamesLeftToUse I am not 100% sure though. A link to it.
cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmPm2dku1yzjYbx1zyHs8FPaKYehz2PLAChDKwZLPDfjjX/NoNamesLeftToUse

Open in a new window and when you click in the image it really opens big.

That's certainly some high quality, but it's hidden behind the scenes. I'll have to upload the .png so it at least looks somewhat okay here to those viewing, then offer an external link to the actual high quality image in jpeg format, but the only problem with that is: the moment I lead someone away from the post is the moment I lose potential votes and new followers.

Kind of makes you wonder though if they can change your internal HTML code on a post, what else can they change?

They embrace plagiarized nonsense, throw that on the trending page, make a mess of the actual content from two of the most popular tags/categories on the entire platform; I'm not too worried about changes at this point. If this place was underwear I'll just have to expect to see shit stains.

We all need a laugh some times and that was funny.

This @bashadow post includes some info about the images, might be useful; https://steemit.com/wednesdaywalk/@bashadow/a-driveway-walk-and-update

Thanks. Bashadow showed up but there's still a few problems with that approach.

When I got on here the other night and my followers had half disappeared, all my comments were gone, and I couldn't upvote things, I had an ominous feeling. Then I found busy working. I don't really like busy, but it got the job done that night.

Apparently, inside the world is mostly pretty. A little chilly looking, but pretty.

I might have to ditch this platform but all of the work I put in leading outside eyes to this place becomes a waste of time, and publishing elsewhere, then coming here to grab links so things remain consistent only means I'm attracting outside eyes to low quality... ugh... and I can't go back and "fix" all of my posts. What a mess.

All of these things certainly have a trickle down effect. I am not a prominent member on this platform, but I've lost a lot of interest in coming here since a few of the main people I interact with aren't very active. The numbers of little people losing interest must be growing by the day. That said, I made a goal a while back to continue my writing here for a full year, so I'll be sniffing around your blog still in case you figure this all out...at least until March :)

I've been through a severe lull here before. What helped keep people around back then was the fact everyone who stuck around was actually voting. Now, with so many being paid to look away, they're not here, they're not voting and if they do vote, they're being paid to do so, meaning the content producers with rewards beside their posts are only receiving about 10%, making this platform even less appealing, while those just starting out have very few people to turn to in the form of support for their work, and those of us who are sticking around are already maxed out and can't afford to vote for many more members, so if I wanted to help someone, I'd have to cut someone else off from my votes, which would be discouraging to the one who was receiving support, so yeah, major trickle down effect. What makes this one worse though are these folks selling votes. Soon there will only be a couple hundred buying votes, the rest will most likely be forced out. Then those selling votes no longer make money because those buying realize nobody is around to read, and this whole experiment is over. I'm sure that's what the vote sellers want though, otherwise they wouldn't be doing it.

What's pretty much impossible to control is how the website decides it's going to process the images for display. I've had issues on my own freaking blog where I do pretty much have full control over all the things (more or less, I'm too scared to go diving into some of the deeper code). I kind of just use png and less compression which means bigger file sizes and longer download times but better quality and then hotlink x_x

And compression issues aside I still like your art XP

I got muted by Ned for pointing out why it's important to give shop owners an early heads-up when changes are on the horizon, using the analogy of this place being one big shopping mall. Muted for being reasonable, and now what... crumpled up art work everywhere.

Ugh, I know!! I should have been able to my post today under photography, but my pics do not look nearly as good on the post :( I thought of you immediately when I noticed it. Hopefully someone out there will have the know how to fix it back up.

I don't know what to do or say. I've lost nearly all ambition to post now.

Just make a disclaimer for your posts right now, about the quality of pics on steemit- no one will hold it against you. I've seen a number of people talking about rising to the challenge of bettering the platform. Don't give up hope my friend!

Disclaimer: I shouldn't be around people right now.
LoL...

Good thing I'm not the plural that would constitute 'people'....vent on me, I can take it, I can always take it ;)

Offensive music therapy works best.

Hahaha, I love ICP! I see your Hair Up and raise you a

Since I've been uploading to Steemit from my Wordpress blog using SteemPress all my images now have a little icon beside them that goes to the original full res image.

Not like this one - (sorry, I was just testing here to see what happened)

But I have to say I think the Busy front end sucks!

I know there are ways around this. Trust me, I do. I also know, if you lead someone away from the post, you greatly decrease your odds of receiving votes and follows.

Until you pointed it out I hadn't even noticed the drop in image quality - do you know when it started?

Shortly before my previous post.

So was it OK on your post four days ago? (I just can't tell)

All of them look like shit now compared to when they were uploaded. Go to google, search NoNamesLeftToUse, hit the image tab, select one of my images, watch it go from ugly, cloudy, steemit display to what's actually there. This is like old tv resolution and I was uploading 4K high definition.

Might we suggest they don't do that to posts that will be permanently stored as art?

Making suggestions around here is sometimes just a fancy way of never seeing that request fulfilled.

Do we know who is the product manager? If it's going to drive away artists, they should know.

If they cared, they wouldn't allow folks to boost shit up to the front page.

That's a funny name... lol

Judging by ned's last post, the image change was intentional.

Post them on a free hosting site and link them. Does that help? Please let me know.

postimage.com is one you can try.

I tried using my old imgur method. Doesn't help.

Does it matter where they are hosted?

If I upload to imgur, I get the same distorted mess here. It simply won't display the full quality. To improve the appearance of quality here, I've had to upload .png format. Jpegs are far too ugly once squashed down to the display size here, then blown up to the current display standards. The jpeg files were about 2MB in size, give or take. The .png is 2x larger in file size, yet still doesn't appear as good as jpegs did when they displayed full quality with a smaller file size.

Imgur crushes them too I think. I use imgur for my hosting (mostly) because of the past issues with Steemit but, I don't worry too much about the quality as they aren't made for such purpose.

I'll continue trying to find something that works. If you took these though and stretched them out to fit a 4K display, monitor or tv, they'd look like crap, but they shouldn't look like crap, because they were produced to fit those screens perfectly.

I am having a chat to someone about some options now., I will get back to you if it leads anywhere

With 50 trillion RC, I should be able to upload whatever I want, until I run out of RC. That's how I see it.

Yeah, it is there but not in the interface view.

interface view:

https://steemitimages.com/p/Gr7d242AAPKdHsv38E62dikXDSFLLH7S1ZjNruB7UYasXL87cG3J6rQ6dJvMGycs8SWH8VwxNQ1tZqrpx8xtecDkoe5bHKysP8DTqk6bR77NDtz1e9JE8yNPzSPqrNEMxCWtHgfZn2Yz9pLmdbhMfeAoZH4aVTzaJaZ4uCYaVFFQHUpSL7g?format=match&mode=fit&width=640

full res:

https://steemitimages.com/p/Gr7d242AAPKdHsv38E62dikXDSFLLH7S1ZjNruB7UYasXL87cG3J6rQ6dJvMGycs8SWH8VwxNQ1tZqrpx8xtecDkoe5bHKysP8DTqk6bR77NDtz1e9JE8yNPzSPqrNEMxCWtHgfZn2Yz9pLmdbhMfeAoZH4aVTzaJaZ4uCYaVFFQHUpSL7g?

Essentially what can happen is that an interface can create options which to show or, give other options on how to show. The difference is the speed of load and actual server bandwidth I assume. What they are serving across the network is crushed but the server holds the entire image.

Yeah, everything I've tried displays the crushed edition. I know the full size exists, because like I was telling Frot, simply Google NoNamesLeftToUse, select the image tab, select one of my images, watch it go from cloudy mess to full res.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72