Of Course It's Gluten Free: It Contains Zero Wheat.

in #life5 years ago

Public service announcement: You don't have to warn people that your hair product is gluten free. (Unless the customer plans to eat it)

ceswcczjak.jpg

Gluten sensitivity happens in the digestive system, not on your skin.

Although I appreciate that companies are trying to help people out by warning them about potential allergies, I am feeling like more often they are trying to appeal to ignorance for financial gain.

Gluten is a protein which is a component of wheat, rye, barley and triticale. It's very important in the making of bread, as it makes the dough elastic when water is added.

Gluten is not some random chemical, or some GMO biproduct. It isn't something that is in everything that you eat or drink. It's not in the groundwater. It isn't in your mashed potatoes.

I mention potatoes because I bought a big bag the other day that proudly announced 'gluten free' on the packaging.

nu475573wu.jpg

Oh, here you go. This bag of potato chips that I am eating right now as I write this. It proudly states that it is gluten free. The ingredients are potatoes, vegetable oil and salt. Why would there be gluten on my potatos?

I suppose it isn't as bad on the chips, being that you could conceivably make some kind of coating with flour.

5g3q76bfzg.jpg

Once again, you don't have to tell me that there is no gluten in my coriander seeds. It's friggin seeds for goodness sakes. Do you think that because I like to eat organic food that I'm a stupid hippie that falls for buzzwords?

va9ksixzcb.jpg

This same company also offers pure ginger root that, you guessed it, is gluten free. So as I was saying, I get it that people are gluten sensitive. I personally don't have a gluten allergy, but I do think I have a bit of a gluten sensitivity.

I think that it is more to do with the pesticides and chemicals used in growing the wheat than the actual gluten itself. That being said, I would really like it if companies would stop treating people like they are stupid by labeling non-wheat products as gluten free.

I know that my bottled water contains no gluten. You don't have to tell me!

edzumtfy0e.jpg

I realize that I am getting to the bottom of the barrel here with this post. I just want to let you all know that I'm still alive and recovering from a prolonged nuclear crypto winter.

I am gathering together some photos for another great travel post. Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Just saw this on whaleshares. Too funny. Looks like posting similar post on both sides isn't a problem.
Have you ever regained access to your weku account?

Yeah, they reactivated it (Weku). I'm not putting much money in that one though because the token is not yet trade-able. I don't quite trust it that much. I will post on there and see how it goes over the next few months.

Yeah, I talked to people around whaleshares and it is totally cool to repost steemit posts. In fact, they even have a tool on their homepage that does it for you. haha. I will just do it manually!

I used to advertise that our french fries are gluten-free on my menu and then as a footnote state they are gluten-free because all french fries are gluten-free.

haha! Nice. Well, at least you gave full disclosure.

Ahahaha boneless glutenfree banananas :DD You're totally right that companies are juicing the glutenfree word. To your remark about the digestive system vs. skin. Have you heard Novak Djokovic found out he's allergic to gluten when he layed a slice of bread on his belly and immediatelly lost all his skills for the next couple ofminutes? :DD it's in his book Serve to win, no joke :D. Btw the name of the book is such an amazing word play :D

LOL! I had to look that up:

Next Cetojevic gave Djokovic a slice of bread. He told the bemused player not to eat it but to hold it against his stomach with his left hand while he again pushed down on his outstretched right arm. To Djokovic’s astonishment, the arm felt appreciably weaker.

I don't know about that... What, is the bread sending instant signals to his brain? That sounds like a load of BS. I'd like to see the science behind that. haha! If that is true I will virtually eat this post.

Lol... Is it a trend going on in there to state gluten free on every groceries and food items.. Haha... 😂😂
Bte, I see HIMALAYAN SALT potato chips. Is it real himalayan salt transported from India to US? 🤓
Well, if they are also writing gluten free on water bottles, then they are on the edge and I have nothing to say! 😅

Stay well @nuthman and keep posting.

Sorry I was not active for a couple of days!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's all a bit silly! Anything to exploit small minds, I suppose. :)

People are crazy about Himalayan salt in America. It is everywhere...

Wow! Fun fact. Didnt know that.. 😅😊😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep that is crazy. Greed, greed, greed

LOL a grass-fed bananas.
They had overdone the labeling of products so that it can sound good to the consumers @nuthman

Yeah. Haha... It is a bit much!

Its been 2 days mate... Where are you? 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I am alive.. just super busy with work

Looks good by looking at it. where will it be? and last time you asked about bounvita ? so bournvita is a Energy drink and can anyone drink it.

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.892 which ranks you at #11398 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

We curated this post of yours in our last Algorithmic Curation Round, which included the curation of in total 185 contributions. Unfortunately, your post ranked last, at #185.

Evaluation of your UA score:

:* Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.

  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hehe. Well, I guess someone has to be last.

Hi, @nuthman!

You just got a 12.92% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71