My work experience: There is fulfillment in touching lives

in #life6 years ago

Hi Steemians. How is your life touching others? Positively or is it negatively? Are you finding fulfillment in the things you do daily? Someone once said that to be fulfilled in life, your passion must align with your profession. Today I just want to share part of my daily routine and the joy I find in accomplishing them daily. This is not to depict and present myself as a perfect human, I obviously have so much to learn and a long way to go.


4649690892_0d24ce7d8d_z.jpg
[image credits: Flickr: Public Domain]



Usually I try to take a day from the week to leave the rural community on time so I can get some time to rest and eat a good meal at home. As some people are already aware, I am a volunteer teacher in a low income community in my country. Well, you might be wondering why I will be teaching in a low income school as a volunteer. Was it because I couldn’t get a job? No, far from it!


Although there is a high rate of unemployment in my country, but I am part of the few that got lucky. I resigned my role from a telecommunication company to embark on the life changing journey. Yes my finance was affected, but my greatest reward is putting smiles on my kids’ faces. Every day when I wake up, I feel fulfilled knowing that I am part of the solution and not the problem.


Seeing that kids achieve quality education has been my utmost desire. I have taking a secret oath with myself that I will not stop in ensuring that I have positive impact in children’s lives, and help them achieve greater feats. I do what I do not for vainglory, but to the glory of God and self-fulfillment.


This Week at School

visit 1.jpeg
[image by me: [At school]

This week I invited a longtime friend, who has made it with his skills in cinematography, and has been able to distinguish himself to rise above hurdles to be where he is today. He came in to talk with the kids on his life experiences and how getting an education has enable him to come this far. The 15mins talk when a long way. Many of the kids were happy that he was able to identify with their current reality. The saying:

Been there, done that... Re-ignite new hope and aspiration in the kids. Many of them are fully aware now that because they are from a disadvantaged and low income background does not mean they cannot be great in life.


My Kids

my kids 1.jpeg
[image by me: [At school]

I have watched my kids grow in the past 10 months we have been together. They were highly unruly and very destructive when I came here. But all that is changing progressively. Many could barely say a word in English, but now I can confidently tell you that even though some still struggle, they will not be ashamed to speak the little they have stored in their arsenal.


What of attitude to learning? Although not 100% yet, but I can say of a truth to about 70%. They are learning to take responsibilities. Confidence level keeps increasing day by day. They are now fully aware of what being young is, and how to relate with adults and within themselves.
All in all, my number one rule is love. I love all of them and I don’t hold back in mitting out consequences for misbehavior. In our usual morning reflection every day, we have been discussing the subject of child abuse and how to protect themselves.


Dear reader, is your life having a positive impact on others? Are you not just living for you and you alone? Please take time to think about this. The world well be a better place if we all give a helping hand to other and not try to put them down. There is nothing you have that you have not been given. There are various ways you can have impact. Even as simple as encouraging someone daily.

Live a life of impact



Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my post. I am at @obamike and a receiving teacher working with @openschool project. The open school project aims at making quality education available to students at every corner of the world. You don’t have to be a teacher to be part of this project. You can join us here on discord to find out more, and also visit our YouTube channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80