The Soul Food

in #life6 years ago (edited)

 

Make people around you feel important and loved


Nothing makes one feel bad like working with someone who sees you as unimportant. We all yearn to be recognized and accepted. It's a craving for the soul to be fed. We want the compliments, the sympathy, the appreciation, etc. This is called the "Soul Food". Just like we eat and drink to keep the body alive and healthy, we desire some treatments to keep the soul healthy and vibrant. 

No one truly wants to live the isolated life, not even the introverts...(I happen to be one). Just as you wish to be loved and accepted, that's the same way others feel. They want you to see them as special. They want you to acknowledge their gifts and talents. They want you to treat them like they are valuable. 

I remember the first time I met the owner of the house where I live, he never bothered telling me how great he is. He didn't tell me how being smart made him a house owner..... No, he was busy telling me how intelligent and smart I am. He told me things I never heard before.... He made me see my potentials and believe in myself more than I had ever done. Today, I have embarked on projects I never thought I would venture into.... he isn't among the wealthiest people I met, however in my heart, he is one of the greatest I have come across.

There are  few people whose memories will never leave my mind, among them are those who have gone ahead of me in terms of this life's pursuits but they still find a way to make me feel important and special..... And those who made me see the hidden genius in me. 

It's not all about shouting the praises of people you want help from, it's about genuine intentions of bringing out the best in others. No matter how someone does badly at a given task, there is at least one thing he does very well... Acknowledge that and inspire him to do more. 

Don't be a fault-finder. Don't treat other people with disdain. Don't allow pride and arrogance make you look down on anybody. We are all special and gifted differently. Don't be a manipulator who is only good at being kind to people at the top or those who are potentially going to be of service to you in future. 

Make your junior staff, househelp and servants feel special. While you are loving and being kind to those who have done nothing for you, don't forget to appreciate those who have helped you in one way or the other. Always appreciate even the smallest good deeds. Empathize with the sorrowful and those in pains. Be mindful of the feelings of others. 

Irrespective of your position in life, don't always give people the impression that they are fortunate to come across you, rather, make them feel you're pleased to meet them.

A text message could be all someone needs to feel important. A call could go a long way to reassure someone you value him or her. A simple "I'm sorry", "thank  you", "you look good" or "please" could do all the magic they need to feel special.  

The healthiest food for our souls comes from other people...

Even when you look in the mirror and see how pretty you look, you still want someone out there to tell you "you are pretty"... Ever imagine how you feel after hearing something like that? It's a fact that deep down, every human desire love and acceptance from others. There was a day I almost cried cos I was hurting, but when my friend said sorry, the tears rolled back...... These words ain't useless... They are both food and medicine for our souls. They heal pains, they spark up joy and make us vibrant. 

In as much as you provide food, clothing and shelter for the body, don't forget to feed the soul.

There are some parts of the world where we have shortage of food, but all over the world, the soul food is a scarce commodity... Be a distributor today

It cost you little or nothing to give people around you the soul food they hunger for. 

Whose soul will you feed today? 

Happy Sunday! 


All images are from imgur.com  

THANK YOU FOR READING 

I READ AND APPRECIATE ALL COMMENTS 

IF YOU LIKE MY ACTIVITIES HERE AND WILL LOVE TO SUPPORT ME, PLEASE UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND COMMENT. 

WOULD YOU LIKE TO TIP ME? I WILL HUMBLY APPRECIATE IT. 

Steem
@ogoowinner
Etherum
0x007BEd911D2D1a9a37D6507347287D52521FB689
Bitcoin
19W2Y9oi8NPDEgGYe3oJ3Qf7Kx7am8noXp
  

@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me
 

Sort:  

Hi @ogoowinner
A happy sunday to you.
I just hope someone out there gets your message because most people are so filled with self adoration they always think this world revolves around them especially those who are fortunate to have the longer fingers they are so full of them selves and they disregard anyone they feel is below thier standard. Yes self love is good but people's opinion about us also matters and we tend to get more when we make the people around us feel important too.
Thanks
@phunke

Jesus, @phunke una dey surprise me o! no sleep? Thanks for this awesome comment dear.

Lol was surprised to see your post too
No sleep o, i just hope i dont start sleeping in church

Oh dear
God bless your heart

Don't be a manipulator who is only good at being kind to people at the top or those who are potentially going to be of service to you in future.
.thank you for sharing this

@tojukaka, Thank you for reading and resteeming.

Hi @ogoowinner
In life, blowing someone else's trumpet and carrying someone's burden is what truly makes you extraordinary. I loved the little anecedote that went with it.
I enjoyed reading.

When we speak the love language of others, we are bound to hear ours too. It keep coming back at us. Thanks so much for this wonderpiece

Awesome post! I really enjoyed it and it inspired me a lot.

Great learning for today. Especially the first quote took me very hard. It tell a lot about yourself as an individual and also in group.
Followed n upvoted. Keep steeming

Yes, don't forget to feed the soul. Most of the people are not feeding the soul. The soul food is very important for your happy life, because without soul nothing is there. I appreciates your this important post. Thanks for sharing such out class post.

@ogoowinner unfortunately people are extremely angry and bitter that they lash out at any slightest provocation, i don't know if it's as a result of the current economic situation. I wish we can all learn embrace love and accommodate one another despite the odds, the world will be a better place. Btw, happy Sunday.

This is a really nice post. There is usually something good in most people, we just have to look for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30