Learning to live without expectation

in #life6 years ago

One of the great disappointments

of my life was when I opened a parcel

BrokenOneHardrive 432.JPG

to find my dream, that it contained,

to have arrived already broken.

BrokenTwoHardrive 433.JPG

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

If you feel any compulsion to comment on this post,

please take the time to contemplate the following music video first:

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

ouzo and out,
@onceupontime

Sort:  

That is some moving and contemplative music.

I think you are onto something here that I have often thought about. One of my philosophies of life. I even did a short video about it.

Yup, your video gives one method that seems to work for some people. But for myself I would rather learn to have no expectations at all rather than have low expectations :-)

Back when @twiceuponatime and I were still speaking to each other, he told me something that I still occasionally contemplate. He said to me:

"When you are living out on the bleeding edge, the balance you want to have is between the Beauty and the Terror of it all." Normally I would discount anything @twiceuponatime says, but just maybe he had something there:-)

@onceuponatime,
Oh shit! How careless they are! Who gonna pay for this? Is this DHL?

Cheers~

"Who gonna pay for this?"

Maybe I should take up a collection from concerned donors :-)

The thought of this broken double-headed udu still crosses my mind every so often... It was really crushing! ;)

Thanks a lot for sharing this incredible video, taken from the sequel to BARAKA called SAMSARA, with music played by one of my very favourite bands, as you know, Dead Can Dance!

Namaste :)

This could end up getting really maudlin and Kierkegaard-ish, especially if I let Dead Can Dance accompany my typing...

Expectations. Not really related, for 15 years I kept shop and much of what we sold was blown glass and handmade pottery we shipped all over the world. I had expectations that my packing would be good enough that everything would arrive in one piece because thousands of buyers had expectations that it would be so. I know what that unpacking feels like...

I believe I have fairly successfully settled into a state of not expecting anything... in spite of naysayers who insist that "If you expect nothing, that's precisely what you'll get: NOTHING." To which I counter than maybe I expect nothing, but that doesn't mean I don't hope for something. Expectations and hopes are related... and yet quite different.

Yes, the grand trilogy is: "Faith Hope and Love", NOT: "Faith *Expectation and Love".

I would agree on not having expectations from others.
How about yourself?
And as for the dream, you can fix it. It's yours after all...

Ordinary dreams perhaps. But mine tend to be dreams within a dream (and occasionally even more layers deep) :-)

Like the movie? I find myself doing that too

May be there is a purpose behind it , to not break a bigger dream in future ? It would be best to think that way and accept it and relax.

Hey, that's a good way of looking at things!

I once expected so much from others and I always ended up being heartbroken (only once I got more than I even expected from someone, but I was too stupid, young and immature to handle it I guess).

Then I started to "hope" and have expectations from myself only. I am at the point that I fully realize that no matter how capable, tough, educated, strong-willed blah blah blah you may be, if luck and timing aren't there, you may end up building sand-castles every single day.

At this point, I am considering to follow my stars (and whatever they include). Like the great Arnold Schwarzenegger said, "Follow your stars, even if you never touch them, they will definitely take you somewhere."

Could it be true? I have no idea, but I am willing to try. Life's a bitch; I know that for sure!

PS. No matter how good you "fix" a shattered dream, it will still be a fixed shattered dream.

Pain makes man think. Thought makes man wise. Wisdom makes life endurable.

Or, at least, that's what they try to sell you, LOL

Lol, true talk. It's not a reliable thing to put so much confidence in people and have high expectation in them, though some people are trust worthy but we should position our minds in a way that can accommodate the fact that not everyone will meet up to our expectation.

Ouch! But this happens with people too: You travel a long distance (like your package), you hope and get excited to reach your destination and your "Sweet Penelope" waiting for you only to find yourself broken in the end (no matter how much bubble wrap you used). The good thing is most of the time someone else is there to help fix you ;)

Yeah, I never use enough bubble wrap :-)

This has been my feeling for the last 8 days after joining Steemit. I've been checking my posts every morning, hoping that one of them had received lots of upvotes and conversation, only to be disappointed that has not been the case. But I trek on...because maybe tomorrow will be different.

Or the day after tomorrow :-)

All it needs is some duct tape and it will be as good as new!

Although a little duct tape fixes most things, in this case it would muffle the resonances :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89