Sunset from the Cubicle #4: fairy floss skies and Sydney's Shit Buses

in #life6 years ago (edited)

f2b23678-8c38-493c-a26b-35271886f62b.jpeg


My sunset from the cubicle series has been waylaid by poorly timed customer enquiries and early finishes. You will be pleased to know that I leave the office after dark for the next two weeks. Wandering dazed into the dimly lit mean streets of Parramatta.

This was last night's fairy floss goodness. I have entitled it Sunset from the Cubicle: The Artsy Fartsy Version.

I would have posted it yesterday but was too tired due to another adventure on Sydney's Shit Buses

A passed out drug addict forced my already late bus to a halt. The driver and three brave passengers stood in a circle prodding him back to consciousness. We all watched our connecting buses tumble away on transport trackers as he stumbled to and made a furrow-browed effort to ascertain his precise location in the universe. Ermo for the curious Sydney siders - no real surprise there - an Ermo kebab will pep him right up.

I have managed to relocate to a public transport black hole. Yet to find a bus that has run on time. More often than not I watch the dots disappear on my tracking app without explanation. The bus rolling along just fine toward me and then suddenly gone. I regularly find myself walking lengthy distances home along dark alleyways in eerie industrial areas. You know, those locations on TV where women are usually raped and cut into little pieces.

I click my heels through the echoing darkness cursing and contemplate whether one calls police, border patrol or the CSIRO for alien bus abductions. More than once I have phoned a friend amidst my profanities to advise that if I am murdered on the way home they are to assist my son in finding a lawyer to sue whoever is responsible for these disappearing buses.

It happens so often and leads to such absurdities that I have decided to chronicle my adventures.

Welcome to Sydney's Shit Buses: Episode 1


15/5/2018: 5:25pm: The M54 did not stop at Smith St, Parramatta - despite being hailed by a good number of commuters at the bus stop.

The M54 was near empty and appeared to make an intentional manoeuvre to AVOID stopping. The M54 swerved around the bus in front almost striking another vehicle and a pedestrian in its effort to NOT do it's job of picking up passengers at bus stops.

The M54 has lost it's mind. The M54 requires a thorough going over of it's job description and quite possibly a performance management plan.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

_______

All words and pictures are my own. This is original Steemit content.

More words and pictures can be found at the following locations:


Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog


You can also find me on LinkedIn

Sort:  

Haha I love the name!

And oh how I miss Pazzamatta. Sounds like things are going from bad to worse.

Beautiful sky colours though so that's a bonus

ha ha I love Pazzamatta. My friends and I say "Parrahmahtahta" with very posh voices. I love the characters of Parra. Good writing material.

Haha...yasss! Great material indeed.

Nice views you have there.

Here's some from Melbourne....

)

I miss those Sydney buses....Safe ride home!

That's quite a cool shot

Resteem Promo Offer
Re-steem Post Unlimited For 1 Week
anime.gif
Send 2 SBD or 2 STEEM To @stoneboy - Post Url in the Memo - Your Post Will Be Re-steem to 9500+ followers 2 different accounts.

Note : This offer is only for one time. After that the regular rate will be applied.

Gorgeous shot, and glad to see your words are back. 😊

Thanks. They're back at a lower level but still battling that block :O

You're welcome, and yeah - it's annoying when they come back as a trickle, instead of a steady stream. Have you bribed your muse lately? If not, maybe some chocolate and vodka is in order... 😉 😊

ha ha my muse has a preference for beer. You might be onto something there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85