Life as a Lunch Lady.. Day 3

in #life5 years ago (edited)

You may be wondering, where is Life as a Lunch Lady day 1?

It is merely a memory, because I was so exhausted at the end of that day (Monday) that I came home and fixed dinner for my hunnies and then we watched an episode of The Great British Baking Show ..

Paul Hollywood is a jerk, by the way...

but Mary Berry makes me super amounts of happy, and watching amateur bakers do well in a baking competition gives hope to a kitchen misfit like me, who can barely boil a pot of water without burning the house down..


See? How could anyone not like this woman? This picture came from foodandwine.com

And then I went to bed.

I don't think it even was 8:30pm yet. Do you like how I am making little subtitles? I feel that it breaks up long bouts of random writing and tricks the reader (hi) into thinking that they aren't really reading as much as they actually are.

Anyway.. Today was a bit better.

My back hurts like someone has walked all over it for 6 hours and then stabbed me right in the middle of my spine with a pencil, and I have blisters on my feet, which makes no sense because my shoes are really broken in, they are the same ones I wore 3 years ago when I worked in a different school doing this same thing. (I thought I had given these away, but found them in the back of my closet on the day I was actually about to go buy a new pair.)

But they don't even wear the kitchen shoes!

At this school they kind of throw the basic rules of school cafeteria life out the window. Only my boss wears the non-skid kitchen shoes. The other girls wear normal athletic shoes. The other guy who works with us may or may not wear them.. I haven't yet noticed his feet.. I need to do that.

Notice Skippy's shoes - just added to tomorrow's to-do list.

His name isn't really Skippy. But in my head it is. I work with less than 10 people, 6 of which I am with all day, 3 or 4 others who work also at other schools but are I guess what you would call "floaters" .. they go back and forth between our school and others and help out where is needed.

I confess that yesterday one of the ladies offered me some pills..

her name is Gretta. She had all these supplements and vitamins in her purse, that she whipped out onto the table on our break. She kept asking me if I would like to take one because they are really good for women, and I finally said okay.

Yes. I took a prenatal vitamin from Gretta.

She's in her 70's I think. She takes them because they are good for women. And now, apparently, so do I. At least yesterday I did. Today she didn't offer because I told her the one from yesterday made me have bathroom problems. And it's not like I was lying. Do not take pills from strangers, people. Even if you know them.

Every day is an adventure.

That's really all I have for today. I did notice at the end of the day that I had not done a good job with my eye makeup this morning and by the time I got off of work I had prostitute eyes. Too much dark eye shadow in a hot and steamy kitchen all day.. I might as well be working in a meth lab if we're judging jobs based solely on after work-day eye appearances.

Yes, ladies and gentleman. Lunch ladies wear dark eye shadow sometimes.

We also sometimes wear pink bikini underwear and socks with Santa Claus on them. It ain't all granny panties and sports socks, people. (I save those for the weekends.)

Now you know.



Have a great day! I send you cookies from the kitchen.


Love forever,

♥- Serena

Sort:  

You may be wondering, where is Life as a Lunch Lady day 1?

I was so wondering where day 1 was and looked back to see if I missed it.

takes notes taking about pills from strangers

Did you actually miss it? Should I go back and look?
I learned a long time ago about taking pills from strangers...after that one acid trip...

I do love reading your posts! :-)
You have a lovely sense of humor...

Hi @paintingangels!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.276 which ranks you at #2633 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 2645).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I was wondering too about day 1 :) hahahah like everyone else LOL
One of my friends offered me also prenatal vitamins for my hair problems, when I was anemic it was falling, but then I came to Spain and asked and oh my they're expensive hahaha :)
Well at least you were not offered haribo sugarfree gummy bears, if you check amazon reviews for those, those are things you delivery with hate to someone you want to wish them hell in the toilet :)

The Great British Bake Off is a great show, not that I can cook but I like watching people who can.

Lol at the kitchen shoes, non slip is perfect if you throw more on the floor then the plate like I do.

Great post, made me laugh thank you.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You are hilarious btw.

I am a strong person on vitamins. I think the most important (among every other one) is vitamin D. I swear by that one. Also magnesium.... If ever you don't take them and want to, I say look it up for the benefits to see if it is something you need to take. I know vit D helps me with fatigue.

When I was working in the kitchen, I used to buy shoes that had thick soles. Like spongy one, especially at the heels. My feet hurt less that way but I also worked more than my 8hrs. Anti skid shoes I find should be a necessary. Your safety is your responsibility. Usually so is the boss but if they don't boss... well ... shit... lol.

On a side note.... YAY for granny panties and santa socks on weekends!

Too funny.Mary Berry is a delight! I need to get back to watching the newest season!

Hahaha, looks like a lot of fun to be a lunch lady :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80