DESPERATE TIMES CALL FOR DESPERATE MEASURES

in #life6 years ago

I can't believe that I'm actually doing this...


I'm currently in a battle. Part of it is mental, and part of it is physical. It's getting tougher every day, but I'm hoping that I'll come out of it. This video explains more.

THE DESPERATION OF PAPA-PEPPER VLOG

WHAT'S GOING ON PAPA?

This is really hard on me. After years of desiring to do so, I'm trying to grow some hominy this year, Unfortunately, I'm currently in a battle with "the idiots of the woods" also known as squirrels. Every morning they sneak out before I can make it to the garden and uproot my little hominy plants.

A while back I saw a video on YouTube about planting plastic forks in your garden. Supposedly this helps deter the animals. I know it sounds crazy, but I'm desperate. I just need a solution, so I figured I'd try it. Plus, the plastic forks are cheap, so this could be a quick cheap solution to my woes.

Unfortunately, the forks that I picked up did not have any planting instructions. Normally, anything that I put in my garden has some sort of instructions about planting depth, sunlight requirements, spacing, etc... However, this time there was nothing! Man, this makes it even tougher when you are desperate.

As you can tell from this photo of my raised bed, I had to guess on how to plant the forks. Also, you can tell how desperate I'm getting. Thankfully, the neighbors already question my sanity, and I live in the middle of nowhere.

So, do you think it'll work? I'll give it a few days and do an update.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-papa-pepper-getting-incredibly-desperate

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

LOL @ "idiots of the forest."

Can't you just put up some kind of mesh/mosquito net above the plants to protect them from these barbarian squirrels?

That would be a lot of netting.... like, a lot.

Great idea, how it work.

Were the forks able to keep the squirrels away? Hey, if it works, why would any one question your sanity. Probably would question their own for not coming up this solution in the first place. At this restaurant this use to big fake owl to keep the black birds away. I'm sure it worked initially, but the black birds are back.

Maybe I'll make a scarecrow with an owl statue for a head!

Yeah, that'll scare them for sure!

If these soft forks won't do try with a hard fork. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
No, really I think the world is already full of plastic to also put it in your garden. I hopes it works for you but I also hope you can find a less cleanier solution.

I'm desperate... but we will see.

I am no fork planting expert, but I would recommend planting them 6-12 inches apart. I would plant tines up with you are looking for a menacing look. I would plant tines down if you are going for stability.

You made me smile! Best of luck as you continue to battle.

I hope this work papa, i cant wait for somefew days to here from you if it work weldon sir

We will see. I REALLY, REALLY hope it works.

LOL Great post. I hope it works. "May the Fork be with you." - Yoda

Thank you kindly.

Lol wish I was there to see that! Missed seeing you this weekend when I was up there. But I saw your garden and sheep and etc 😜

Yeah, we've been working at it!

Squirrels are annoying
The way they invaded our farm was disheartening. I wish this step you took works so that i can my parents to adopt such

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27