YES! - A NEW KIND OF GOURD FOR ONLY $1

in #life6 years ago

Stuff like this just excites me!


I wish I could do more of many things, and planting and harvesting is one of them. I came across a great deal while I was at the 18th Annual Spring Planting Festival at Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company! In this video, you can see just how excited I am about it!

MY EXCITING NEW GOURD VIDEO!!!

NEW SHAPE, CHEAP PURCHASE, AND FREE SEEDS

Here is a sampling of some gourds we've got right now. The "spoon" gourd is homegrown and we like to make feed scoops out of it, the new one is next, the birdhouse gourd is also homegrown and used for birdhouses, and the far right one is one that we got from Pa Mac, and it was another $1 buy.

Here we like to use what we grow and grow what we can use. Gourds are extremely underrated in the United States in my opinion but I've fallen in love with them and am looking forward to growing many varieties. So far, we are getting a good start.

Not only do we now have a new shape in our gourd collection, but it is full of seeds too. Just check out how many get collected from one of the gourds that we picked up from Pa Mac! Yeah, these are gifts that keep on giving! Now we've just got to get growing!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-dollar-gourd

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

very interesting papa-pepper, gourds probably are underused. Do you have a use for the new one or just get the seeds out of it? cool post as usual.

I like to dry them and make some birdhouses. paint them with primer and let the kids decorate them . I think the birds like them more natural, but the kids have fun making birdhouses. they last a few years before they fall apart.

We've made some natural ones already, but letting the @little-peppers paint some could be fun too! Thanks!

that's a great idea cavemanrob! a little more educational than using them for targets perhaps.

I've got some things in mind. We will see.

good because most people wouldn't know what to do with them
so seeing them used in a practical way would be educational.
I'd probably use them for target practice!
thanks!

They would make cheap targets too! Good thinking!

As soon as I saw it I was thinking that you could use it for some type of bowl or pitcher. If you were able to put a pour spout on it, you could have a nice pitcher for juice or water. That's cool you're on the lookout for new things that you can grow and get use out of.

Oh yeah, super versatile!

cool, pumpkin fruit is a very useful fruit for housewives, because in addition to their cooking and also danging it can be made for cake ingredients.

I know a guy who makes gourd bongs 4516-Gourd01.jpg

I've seen a lot of photos of those before.

wow
great
keep it up

your post I really like it. very interesting. permit me to resteem him back

I love the fact that in your own part of the world, You grow what you use. and also use what you can grow unlike my part of the world
I love what im seeing

I have just started growing my own vegetables, unfortunately I live in a 3rd floor appartement haha its quite a adventure. Any tips for a starting grower? I know my way around cannabis quite wel, but al them veggies are new to me haha
Love to see you grow stuff, if im honest seeing you steem about growing inspired me to grow other stuff beside cannabis. I am so used to going to the mall and buying al the stuff I could be growing!! But things are changing😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75