Wondering at Walmart

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Why is it that when we are presented with opportunities to make a difference we completely ignore the little chances given to us everyday while we search for some grand gesture in our lives? I made a quick trip to Walmart yesterday and saw something that made me ponder this exact question.



Image Source Pixabay

I have been in a management class all last week and the academy where the class is being held is about an hour drive each way. It has been a week of quite a bit of commuting and the older I get the more it begins to wear on my old bones...lol. I finished class early Friday and needed to come home, change, get my personal car, and head to the store. My daughter lives in Florida and like all of us do a young age, needed some money and we were completely out of dog food. So after a very long week on traveling I loaded up and headed to my nearest Walmart.

Walmart is my least favorite place to shop, but it is the easiest way for my daughter to pick up money I send her from time to time. So, if you follow me, you know how much craziness happens to me generally in public, but especially in grocery stores and markets! At his point, I'm creeping through Walmart like a spy on a top secret mission. I would probably belly-crawl through the dairy section if I thought it would avoid some of the weird interactions that seem to be attracted to me!

So I get to Walmart and it is as thoroughly packed as you would expect it to be on a Friday afternoon. I find a fairly decent parking spot and head inside. I send the money to my daughter first and get all the confirmation information to her before I head into the fray. I grabbed the biggest bag of dog food(I have a great dane!) and headed to check out. I formulated my exit strategy and, much to my surprise, I was in line and headed out the store without a hitch.

As I pushed my buggy through the automatic doors and allowed the cool air to envelop me and flood my senses, I started toward my vehicle parked in the lot. As I was strolling along enjoying the feelings of being blessed enough to be able to afford to feed a great dane and to have enough extra to help my daughter when she needs it, I began to notice all of the shopping carts strewn throughout the parking lot. There were carts against trees, half on and off the curbs, blocking handicap parking. Here is one of my favorite funny quotes:

There are two kind of people. Those who return their carts and those scum of the earth who don't deserve to share oxygen with the rest of humanity!

I know it may seem like a simple thing by not returning a cart. But, to me, it is the daily little things that either lead us to greatness or drown us in mediocrity. If a person is unwilling to humble themselves enough to return a cart, then what else in their lives are they too good to do? By not returning your cart, you are sending a huge message to the cosmos that your time is more important than everyone else's. You are implying that your comfort is more superior to that of the young men and women who have to go out into the elements and wrangle all of these stainless steel steers. You, in short, are showing that you feel you are better than the rest of us. Is that how you want to be seen and remembered?

I promise if you start with mastering the little things, such as returning your shopping cart. You will begin to have the discipline to master the more daunting situations. Immersion in difficulties and uncomfortable situations is the white hot forge that molds character into greatness and immortality. I will guarantee you that no one walking the halls of remembrance in Valhalla left their shopping cart in the parking lot!

Am I right, or am I just crazy? What do you think? Thanks, as always, for reading. I sincerely love you all!!

Originally published on my Weku profile.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/11/03/wondering-at-walmart/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

themancave


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

An alternative viewpoint?

You are implying that your comfort is more superior to that of the young men and women who have to go out into the elements and wrangle all of these stainless steel steers.

Have you asked those 'young men and women' how they would feel about not having a job because everyone followed your mental wish and took their carts back?

Of course, Walmart would just love you!

I'd prefer those given a job to bless me :), so I've going to be nasty and leave carts all over the place.

Definitely a good counterpoint. Maybe the compromise could be to push the carts to the collection points in the lot, so that they still would have a job of going out and getting them, but without the extra labor of going form end to end of the parking lot. Just my thoughts. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment, it is definitely appreciated.

I just don't understand peaple that don't return there trolley or can not be bothered to park the vehicle properly and instead take up two to four parking spots. They just have no consideration for anyone but themselves:(

Oh man, I wish I would have remembered to speak about the bad parking jobs!!!! I could have added 8 or 9 more paragraphs!!!! lol Thanks for commenting, buddy!

You can always make a post about parking issues :)

Hi @papacrusher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.128 which ranks you at #9098 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 45 places in the last three days (old rank 9143).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #173.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

With ref to

There are two kind of people. Those who return their carts and those scum of the earth who don't deserve to share oxygen with the rest of humanity!

I feel the same way, Arthur did make a reletive comment, but here they have multiple trolly return bays throughout the car park so the workers would still be needed to bring them back into the store but perhaps less of them would be needed, or perhaps they could be doing other duties such as having more checkout counters open, so all in all it is somehting that annoys me

I grabbed the biggest bag of dog food(I have a great dane!) and headed to check out.

It shocks me to find out, after our years of being cyber buddies, that you have a great dane! It seems like it would be a wealth of blog postings. 😎

With regards to those that don't return their carts.... scum of the earth. 🙄

How did you NOT know this?

20161122_190821.jpg

New series "sessions with Sasha"!

How did you NOT know this?

Mea culpa.

New series "sessions with Sasha"!

Looking forward to it! 😎

Howdy sir papacrusher! somehow I missed this post in the voting time so I'm sorry about that but I just wanted to say that I couldn't agree more and I've always returned carts or put them in the cart stations in the lot. It IS the little things that demonstrate character.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78