I Think I Want a Job

in #life5 years ago

It's not always easy working from home. Being a full-time mum and working around that from an office in the back garden is not all its cracked up to be.

source

Of course, there are many benefits.  My kids have had me home all the time and I have been able to make sure I am always available.  Summer holidays, Christmas, Easter, Midterms, sick days.  Whatever the weather, whatever the day, mum is home.  I never have to worry about the logistics of childcare or the cost.

For my kids this is awesome, but for me, well it can be very isolating.  Ten years I have been doing this now. Very often the only people I see for the day are the kids.  When the kids have school, I drop them, come home and work, collect them from school, homework, dinners, activities, bed for the kids, do a little more work and then bed for me.

I often feel lonely and I miss the buzz of an office.  People to talk with and a different environment. I miss having people there for a morning cuppa tea. I miss the feeling of adding value and being part of something and I miss the respect and the gratitude that you just don’t get from kids for all the stuff you do.  

I was always rather lucky with work. I am a CPA accountant by profession, and I worked my way up the corporate ladder rather quickly.  I always had great jobs, for great organizations that paid well, had a good culture and fantastic benefits.  I know many people don’t feel valued in work, but that was never the case for me.  I always seemed to get ad hog bonuses and well there is only so high you can climb before a company just can’t promote you anymore. 😊

Although I have been working for myself for 10 years, I did also work part-time for 4 years.  But the last 4 years I have been at home and I think its time for a change.

The school holidays end in 3 weeks.  My youngest moves from infant classes which end at 1:30 to 1st class.  This change gives me an extra hour every day and she will now finish at the same time as my son which is 2:30. That hour makes a big difference if you want to work part-time and get back for the school collections.  The only problem with a part-time job is the actual amount of time the kids are not in school and getting a childminder for those periods. 

So, I am going to look for a job. And I am feeling rather excited. Do you think I will land on my feet?  I always did before and I bet I will again 😊  Id love like a week a month full time rather than working part-time.  That would only make me quarter-time lol but sounds like fun.  I still have plenty of contacts as I work closely with Accounting bodies and organizations anyway. So it's not like I closed the doors behind me on the way out!  

What awesome too is that I can run my business efficiently with the time I have left, but won't be taking so many months break each year as I won't have the time to work so far head.  Working more and more from my brand account here on steem, I could also just reduce the time I spend on this personal account and I might still be able to work ahead on my branded stuff.  Exciting times ahead.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Working for and with other people can be a huge pain in the backside. However, it does also give you something that working for yourself doesn't.

I''m not sure what that is exactly, perhaps it's just solidarity, but I totally get where you're coming from.

I 'proper work' about 3-6 days most months now, and It's quite nice.

When I had 6 months just to myself earlier this year it was starting to do my head in.

its hard being with kids all the time as my main company. 3-6 days a month sounds good :-)

Good luck on your next journey I think it doesn't have to be either or you can write your own path and there is value in getting a job sometimes to learn or generate some additional capital. Its really all about making sure you're stimulated and staying constructive and growing

Good luck with your next step

I need to be stimulated way more than I am now. I so need people on my own level for a while :-)

I understand you perfectly in everything you say because I have been working at home for 13 years.
One of the solutions I found was to look for a second job away from home on weekends or seasons, so I could cope with the loneliness of work at home, working alongside a team of people and also in a job facing the public.

I wish you good luck in this change of life. Surely it helps you find happiness. And if it goes wrong, you can always return to your previous situation. Regards!

If I were to take a job at weekends or seasons I would have big childcare costs. working along with people I really miss. But you are so right, I can put as much or as little into my own thing as I want, once I keep it ticking over it will always be there. But I reckon i can do more than just keep it ticking over if I have a little job too

Of course, it all depends on the family situation of each one. In my case, I still don't have children, so I can have more time to work, or to rest! ;) Surely you have made the right decision.

I think you are insane but whatever floats your boat!

if I didn't have kids Asher and my non-working time was spent with people of my own level I wouldn't want a job. Its shit going from a quiet office to just kid chat all day every day.

This week I just got my first job and I was so scared, you know, the nerves! It's interesting to see the good points of working in an office from someone who has been working in home for so long period of time. I think I should appreciate more what I'm doing now. Thank you for sharing it.

Posted using Partiko Android

work can be fun, if you have a job you like. I always liked my jobs so its a plus

I wish this crypto winter would be over and we all can move the Bahamas leaving our jobs behind. Forever...

heheheh that would be fun

You're life sounds similar to mine. A happy mom means happy family. You'll land on your feet. Good luck with deciding. 🤞🌸

Posted using Partiko Android

I admire what you are doing, it's not easy...........I just so want intelligent conversation and to actually 'feel' valued. lol I don't get that at home at all.

@paulag true story. That yearning for adult conversation. I've been on my own so long with hubby always being away. Even though my kids are now almost 20 and 18 it's still not the same as conversations with same age peers and friends. That's something I've missed a lot over the years and now I've become so accustomed to having no one to talk to at night once hubby's home for a while he tires me out in five seconds flat wanting to talk.. 😂 😂 Life sure is funny that way. The feeling valued thing has hit me extra hard this year not being able to work on the island. I often feel 'worthless and purpose-less' and it's a hard one to deal with. Once we feel valued and that's something that I crave we are indeed happier human beings. I've started arranging coffee mornings for Expats and it gives me a tad more purpose but it's not my endgame. I'm still looking for that and that's why I understand your post so well. It's a journey. ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

it is indeed a journey. the coffee morning is a good start. I use to enjoy sitting on committees, that might be something you could consider if its up your alley.

I can assure you that you are not 'worthless and purpose-less' but I know that feeling when it comes to being valued. Your kids are grown, you can get your self back to it slowly. I dont think I can wait that long 😂 😂 Damn girl you did well

For my kids this is awesome, but for me, well it can be very isolating. Ten years I have been doing this now. Very often the only people I see for the day are the kids.

Ah! @paulag. I'm already seeing you can't wait any longer to exert the foot treatment on your little Beaky Buzzards. LoL

lmfao, that is so me. I am the most unmaternal full-time mum you will ever meet

lmfao, that is so me.

Hahaha yeah. I could feel it!! :)

Hey Paula! I can feel your deep longing for peer companionship. I am here to support you every step along the way. #youvegotthis❤🔥🏅

awe thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76