Day 13 of my attempt to stop smoking with champix

in #life6 years ago

Ok , taken a few steps back this week. was doing well until i had to fast for 24 hrs for a CT bowel scan.

I had to have a CT bowel scan with contrast on thursday, which required me to fast for 24 hrs, drink a barium meal and be injected with iodine.
You are meant to take champix with food as it can make you feel sick, so i missed 3 doses while fasting . the combination of missing the tablets and not eating brought the nicotine cravings back and i ended up smoking more.

Even so, i was still smoking less than usual.
At 1 point before missing the tablets, i was down to 8 cigs (was on 15 - 20 a day before champix)
i'm back to 10 a day atm but am back on the correct dose of champix, so, if at first you don't succeed, try, try again.

My aim was to stop smoking tomorrow, It now looks like i will have to extend my stop date.
I have an appointment at the stop smoking clinic on tuesday so i will ask their advice.

With regard to the champix, they have definiteley been affecting my mood. Ive been quite depressed, negative and unmotivated on them and also been getting bouts of bad tempered-ness. This was was to be expected as its one of the major side effects. Ive also now got a bit of a chest infection which has added to the misery lol. (possible side effect of the champix and also from the contrast injection)

however, i will persevere and will let you know how it goes.

Good luck to any one else trying to stop.

Thanks guys for your precious comments and support. :-)

My first post, day 2 of stoping smoking :
https://steemit.com/life/@pcste/the-time-has-come-for-me-to-stop-smoking-just-been-diagnosed-with-emphysema-day-2-of-my-attempt-to-quit-with-champix

My 2nd post :
https://steemit.com/life/@pcste/day-5-of-my-attempt-to-stop-smoking-with-champix

please vote pcste for witness.
to vote go to : https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Scroll to the bottom of the page and enter pcste into the box. click vote.
do not use the @sign

Sort:  

Persevere. Also, don't rely on drugs (champix) and doctors so much. I will use a phrase I tell my co-workers all the time....Doctors don't know shit. They are drug pushers. And I work in the medical industry. Just remember.....you have to REALLY want to quit to quit. No amount of drugs will fix that. So it just boils down to you. Skip the drugs and just do it. Good luck.

☝️As a former medical professional I agree wholeheartedly with the above. The companies that make pharmaceuticals have controlled medical education & media for far too long. I fully expect to see people’s overall health decline with every pill taken in most circumstances. But u gotta kick the cigs somehow & do what you think is best for your body. The chemical cocktail in the cigs is the true poison, engineered to addict & kill slow, like all pharmaceuticals

Spot on. Additionally, most people don't know how the pharmaceutical industry got its hooks into the medical field. Research "The Flexner Report" to see how it started.

I've never had nicotine cravings so I dont know what thats like. My advice is to not have any cigarettes around, and when those cravings kick in do something else. Chew gum, exercise, go run, lift weights. Something that can keep you physically busy and also train your mind that when it gives you that craving this is what youre going to do....

I really happy that you post so beautiful step to stop smoking. Really appreciate your step.All the best man.😊

I've used nicotine products for quite a while, started with snuff, smoked cigs for a couple years, back to snuff, but now I mostly vape. I'm not sure if vaping would be something you'd be interested in, but it would definitely help with the nicotine cravings. Start with stronger liquid and work your way down until you don't need it anymore. If you're interested or have any questions I'd be happy to help!

this is a good step for your health be strong ,you can get rid of it

You'll get there in the end Steve, still a smoker, in awe of your determination x

great healthy post. thanks for @pcste

Congratulations @pcste! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24