The Daily Rituals That Keep Me Sane

in #life5 years ago

Just because life is full of routines doesn’t necessarily mean that our habits have to be mundane and repetitive things we do mindlessly. I have many habits, but these three are more like rituals; beloved daily customs that I stick to for the sake of my sanity, actions that I find bring peace to my life.

breakfast-in-bed-1158270_1280.jpg

Hot Beverage in the Morning
Whether it is tea, hot water with a squeeze of lemon, or most likely my beloved cup of coffee, almost everyday of my adult life has began with a warm beverage. I like to take the time to sit down and prepare for the day with my coffee. I use this time to make to- do lists and organize my day in the company of a warm, comforting beverage to help wake me up.

Yoga
My stress shoots through the roof without the daily ritual of yoga. By hopping on the mat at least once a day, I get to check in with the status of my mind, body, and breath while cultivating strength and peace. Carving out at least 20 minutes every day is a habit that not only gifts me necessary me-time, but also helps me cope with the curveballs life throws my way.

Making My Bed
Life with a toddler and three dogs can be messy. It’s nice to have the comfortable oasis of my bed also be something that has an aura of neatness and order. There are many successful people who believe that this small habit can lead to greater success in life. If you make your bed at the beginning of the day, your day begins with accomplishment, and the ease of that small accomplishment will lead to other accomplishments.

Sort:  

All three of those activities have tangible benefits. I like how you called them rituals. They all have so much to do with he structured and organized you seem to be. It’s no wonder that you are successful and motivated to live a fulfilled life. I also take making my bed each day very seriously, but I don’t do yoga nearly as often as I should. It’s great that you sit down and relax with your morning beverage. I wish I did that. I end up putting my coffee in a to go cup and trying not to spill it as I’m driving. Lol I suppose my morning beverage routine is the opposite of its intended purpose of relaxation and enjoyment.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89