My speech to high school students in 2002

in #life6 years ago

Whilst in my PhD studies, and only 8 years out of high school myself, I was invited back to my old school to give a speech to the higher achievers of that year. Here's the speech I gave to these students in 2002. Re-reading it now I realise how much life I have lived between now and then, but my life philosophy remains very similar, which is nice.

Year 11 & 12 Level A & B Commendations
Harristown State High School 2002-09-03

guest-speaker.jpg
Image Source

When I was asked to speak here this morning I thought about what I could offer you – perhaps some advice on what not to do, or perhaps offer you some insight or encouragement that I wish I had received or learned of before I actually did.

I guess first of all I should let you know a little about me, where I’ve come from, where I am at the moment and how I have made it here. I was sitting in this very hall like you about 8 years ago listening to a guest speaker like myself and probably wishing that it was lunch time so I could go & finish that game of footy with my mates down in front of the amenities block. I still recall my memories of Harristown with great fondness and many of my best friends from school still remain so. A lot of things have changed here at Harristown – infrastructure, some of the best sporting facilities in QLD are available here now. A lot of things haven’t changed – the school still offers all of you many opportunities that you may find more limited once you leave school. If you haven’t been involved in sports, the arts like the musicals or rock eisteddfods, even the academic pursuits that the school offers, and you have a chance to do so before you move on – make sure that you do! I left my involvement until grade 12, and wished that I had been involved much earlier! I still remember the musical production as one of the best times of my life.

At school I found that I was interested in biology, and always had a dream of becoming a medical researcher. Funny that I should find myself doing exactly that now! After school I began an undergraduate degree in Biology at USQ. I wasn’t a star performer at Uni, I enjoyed the lifestyle a little too much – those of you who are heading to Uni next year will find out what I mean. It’s important to have fun, to make uni a life experience, but don’t forget that you are there to study as well! I even failed a few subjects at Uni. I tell you this not because I’m proud of the fact, but I’m not embarrassed. I would like to encourage you that you can still succeed despite of small setbacks along your path, as long as you can keep the end goal in sight. After failing those 2 subjects, I was more determined than ever to finish my degree and pick up my grade-point average so that I could do honours.

I was fortunate that my supervisor for honours and now my PhD gave me an opportunity as my grade point average was not quite good enough to be able to do honours. Since that opportunity I have never looked back. I worked as hard as I could during my honours year – at times I was working 12 hour days, 6 days a week, partly because I didn’t want to let my supervisor down for the opportunity that he gave me, and partly because I wanted to show everybody what I was capable of. At the end of honours I was exhausted, but I was rewarded for my hard work – I received the faculty of sciences prize and the University Medal for my efforts. I was offered PhD scholarships in Melbourne and at USQ. I remained at USQ and began my current project which is researching new ways to treat boys with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. I have also worked hard throughout my PhD, and I was recently selected as a finalist for the premiers award for medical research. Not bad for a bloke sitting in this hall receiving a level B award about 8 years ago!

So that’s me, and where I have come from. If I could offer you some advice and pass on to you some hard learnt truths from my post school years. First I would encourage you to talk to people. Everybody knows something better than you do. Always ask questions, don’t be afraid to approach your lecturers, teachers, supervisors, bosses and ask questions. It’s the best way to learn, it requires minimal effort from you, and it’s quick! With the advent of the internet – and this shows my age! When I was in school the internet was only in its infancy, it is much easier to ask experts from the other side of the world questions. In the course of my studies I have often found somebody doing similar work to me in Canada, the UK, the US and e-mailed them with some questions. I have never had an e-mail not returned.

After saying that though, I would encourage you to all make things happen for yourselves. You will find that once you leave the school environment that people don’t encourage you like they are today quite as much. You have to learn to find satisfaction in what you do for yourself. Set goals and aim for them. My goal at this point in my career and life is to finish my PhD. I’m looking forward to being called Dr Woolf. I’m devoting 6 days a week to fulfilling this goal. It doesn’t come easy, it requires diligence, devotion, and a simple staying ability to get through a PhD. But I can now say that I am a leader in my field. I have had the opportunity to present my work in other countries. I have had many of my colleagues, and people that I admire and respect congratulate me on the quality of my work. That is fulfilling.

Finally I would like to say to you as you embark on your journey of life: enjoy it. First follow a career path that you enjoy. Confucious said if you choose a job that you love you will never work a day of your life. Second - maintain a balance between work and career and the things that you enjoy: sports, the outdoors, family and friends. I respect most my colleagues who make time to go home early to their family.

And to end - Stand up for what you believe in. You are the next generation of leaders. You are the people that will change the world and how we view it. Your ideas will shape our future. Don’t give in to apathy!

Congratulations & Thanks.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89