7 Symptoms That Indicate You Maybe Be Overthinking

in #life5 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I have written a post where I shared my concern that I maybe overthinking about my autistic son’s future. This was followed by another post where I then shared 5 strategies to stop overthinking.

From the response that I received it seems that overthinking is quite common and a lot of readers shared their own experiences of overthinking and this affect their lives. So how do you know that you are overthinking? Look out for these 7 symptoms.

1 Your Mind Gets Hijacked

In certain circumstances your mind gets hijacked and race away on its own. It is as if someone else is now in control of your thoughts. For example, just as you are about to give a sales presentation, these kind of thoughts come racing through your mind. Should I be giving this talk or will my co-worker be able to do a better job? Am I qualified or have I been given adequate training to do the sales presentation? What if the client does not like my ideas? Should I be wearing my black tie, perhaps my grey tie will make me look more confident? Your thoughts now have a life of its own and you become totally distracted from your present task.

2 The Smallest Things Can Trigger Your Overthinking

Your overthinking is triggered by the smallest things for example what somebody innocently says, the way someone looks at you, what someone does or what someone does not do. Going back to the sales presentation example, suppose that the client glances at his watch. You will start thinking along this line. Oh My God, why is he looking at his watch? Is he being bored by my presentation? Perhaps I gave too many facts and figures at the beginning of the presentation. He is not going to buy my products. What will happen to my job?

3 You Agonize Over Even The Smallest Decision

Decision making becomes tougher and tougher as you agonize over the smallest decision. You over analyse over each and every situation and also on all the possible consequences of your action. Take the example of calling a person who has been out on a few dates with you. Should I call him now or later on? If I call him now, will he think that I am too clingy and will this make me look desperate? If I don’t call him now, will he think that I do not care about him or that I am not interested in him? What if he does not want to take my call? What if my call interrupts him?


Image Source

4 You Are Restless and Anxious

You become restless and anxious. I will consider this as both a symptom and a consequence of overthinking. Overthinking will make you both restless and anxious. The physiology in your body changes as you worry and become more anxious. Your throat becomes dry, your heart suddenly beat faster and you get butterflies in your stomach. These physical changes in the body are symptoms that you are overthinking.

5. You Are Having Problems Sleeping

Once you start to overthink and become anxious, you will have difficulty in sleeping at night. It is quite common for you to wake up in the middle of the night and think of all kinds of things. You may eventually suffer from sleep deprivation.

6. You Become Irritable and Are Prone To Anger

Once you are prone to overthinking, you become irritable and angry easily. Your anger can be triggered by the smallest things and you may lash out at those around you especially your loved ones. It becomes harder and harder for you to control and manage your anger.

7. Your Work At The Office Will Be Affected.

As your overthinking begins to spiral, it will become harder and harder for your colleagues to work with you. You will tend to micro-manage a lot of situations. You will find difficulty in trusting your subordinates. Eventually the quality of your work will declined.

If you do have these symptoms, know that you are not alone. A lot of us tend to overthink and end up over anxious. A lot of us too have overcome such situations as well and have emerged stronger. The first step is to acknowledge and admit that you have such a problem and then look for resources which can help you.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Life After Hardfork 20

Am I Overthinking About My Autistic Son’s Future

Thinking Is Additive: 5 Strategies To Help Us Stop Overthinking

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

<ahref="https://steemit.com/@positivesteem">

Sort:  

Your post reminded me of this

51re4wzkycL._SX355_.jpg

You are right ,sir.I will try follow your suggestion about over thinking.

I hope that it helps.

Masturbating is also addictive. Any strategies to help with that sir?

gr8ly written sir...

Thank you. Great to have you here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nicely written my friend. Yeah I know I am an over thinker. LOL Thanks!

You are most welcome. Thanks for dropping by.

It's really good to have come across this post as I was having a tough week. Yes, it's all attributed to overthinking. It's a good thing to just step back and notice that sometimes we're just overthinking things and it can be mistaken for real life.

I am happy that you find this post useful. It is not easy to deal with over thinking. The first step is to realize that you are doing it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great article, thanks

You are most welcome. Thanks for visiting.

Yes overthinking is the sickness problem. We have to try over come it

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems to be quite a common problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @positivesteem!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.794 which ranks you at #1323 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1325).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The 4th point is truly relatable !!!
can we make community where all stressed people can share their feelings ? @positivesteem

That is why I try to write positive thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72