💜sunday rambling | cape town beaches | endless summer | book talk 💜

in #life6 years ago

image1 (2).gif

Happy Sunday, Steem Fam. Here in Cape Town it seems that summer is upon us.

Cape Town is funny like that... Last week we had one of the most freezing days, possibly the coldest day of the year, it was so cold that I couldn't (read - was so lazy 😅) go for my evening walk... My ears would have frozen off! And now, we're sitting here with the Endless Summer vibes again.

Cape Town is possibly one of the most beautiful cities in the world, and I am not biased, I have been told this by well travelled friends too. In Summer the vibes are so chill. My Summers consist of beautiful weather, endless beach days, cool, crisp silk sheets, crunchy green salads, book upon book upon book and walks by the Sea Point promenade.

Currently, I am reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. You've probably seen the film - a psychological thriller. I am just getting into the book, and finding it extremely well written. That's the thing about a REALLY good book. It grabs hold of your thoughts, distracting your brain from what you are supposed to be doing, to the characters and plot.

Goodreads says:

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

Source

God, I am wanting throw this laptop down and grab my Kindle again.

image1.gif

Anyway, I digress... What's new?

This beautiful weather we are having just infused me with incredible positivity. Summer usually does this to me. I am not a Winter, or cold person. I love Winter, I love the cold, the stews, the cuddles and coffees clutched in frozen hands, but it all gets to be too much by the time Summer swings around.

I drove out to Sunset Beach yesterday, which is in the Blouberg/Milnerton area. This area is not one of the best areas of Cape Town, like Clifton or Camps Bay beaches - I tend to not go there because every second person there is a supermodel on holiday, and I start feeling slightly beached whale-esque.

It was quite windy, as this area tends to be, which unfortunately caused me to go home earlier than I would have liked to. The wind did mean that I could watch the amazing kite surfers though, and that was quite something.

image1 (1).gif

My wonderful day at the beach yesterday had given all kinds of quiet time, and my rested mind sprang into creative mode. I have been meaning to dust off my sewing machine after about a year of not using it, and last night I did. I turned an old boring scarf (I was literally on the brink of giving it away) into a cool new kimono. That was cool, man. Tomorrow I am going to buy some fabric and make ten million more - I think they will be great Christmas presents.

I woke up at 6am (Good God!) and felt so well rested, and just zen. The sun was already up and everything so still and preciously quiet. I made coffee and just sat on my balcony, where my lazy cats were already worshipping the sun.

Every year, at the beginning of Spring, I put my silk sheets onto the bed. It is so luxurious and cool, and I just changed the bedding yesterday. To wake up like that this morning was just ... bliss.

I'm off to the beach where the models hang out, I'm feeling tanned and non beach whaley, to see how much more of Gone Girl I devour, before coming home to make my favourite chicken salad, and chill out like cat in the sun, before I head back to the craziness that is work.

How is your weekend going, Steem Fam? 🌸

footer.png

Sort:  

I have enjoyed a world reading this post, @princessmewmew. I imagined everything: the morning coffee, the beach, the reading, the sun, the salad, the clean sheets. Wow. Normally I take the weekend to go to the sea too, go with a good book and take a little sun, but this week I have many exams to review, so it won't be fun this Sunday! In my country we don't have seasons, it's just hot all the time. As far as I can see your sea is wild, where I go is quiet, warm waters and a beautiful blue sky. Enjoy it and recharge your batteries, bella. Greetings

Thank you Nancy! It was very windy yesterday, and so, so was the sea. This is actually nothing copared to some parts of my country where the guys go surfing. The beach I was at today was much more calm though, I swam so much. You are right, it is so good for the soul!

Hopefully your exam marking is going well!

A gorgeous beach, you are starting your Summer we are moving into out Winter, the temperature is dropping everyday..

Thanks!! It’s funny how it works! We have Christmas by the pool 😻

As I am getting older I think I cold go for that lol :)

Lovely the blue skies! If you like genres like the "Gone Girl", I also suggest you to read The Girl On The Train. The twist plot is smart! An unexpected ending

Ah thank you! Actually it’s funny you say that, I had just downloaded The Girl on The Train to my kindle, when I saw that it was supposed to be similar to Gone Gorl, so I downloaded that too and decided to start with Gone Girl.

Girl on the Train is next on my list ! Xxx kisses

Have you seen the film The Girl On The Train? It was really mind-blowing for me! Many references mention that The Girl On The Train is able to match the success of Gone Girl in a surprising plot aspect.

Enjoy your currently reading! Kisses!

What a good day! Like you, I just get energized by summer. Hopefully the opposite of that doesn't kick in too soon :)

There is a place way downstream on the Columbia that is a huge windsurfing and kite surfing area. It's a really fun place to go sit and watch. Those people are truly amazing athletes.

Thanks for a great look at your Saturday. Which was typed in the cadence of the Bay City Rollers song...

If I know you, winter will be no deterrent to your great work ethic!

Now I'm going to look up this song... 😍

Wow, it does look so beautiful and amazing and well, I'm always for anything to do with the sea!

It's funny that you are just heading into Summer we we are thinking of Winter, silly old world.

If you like gone girl you should read YOU by my good friend Caroline Kepnes. She's done pretty well with her books and they have even made You into a made for TV series. It's pretty good, it's on about episode 3 we have it here on Lifetime tv but I think it is on international Netflix. Anyway, the book You might be interesting to you and as she's our friend I always like to spread the word :)

My weekend is busy, per usual, on top of keeping up with #inktober I am trying to decide what to pack for my upcoming trip and I have to head to the shops this afternoon .

Have a glorious Sunday!

It was amazing, Donna!

and yes, we are moving into summer, I hope it stays, Cape Town is notorious for switching seasons... so winter could come back still.

i will definitely check the book out! I have a list to get through before the end of the year, I am quite proud of myself - this year I have read seven books. It may seem like a little, but I am so busy, and possibly quite distracted that I struggle to finish books, but for the last three months I have been tearing through them, I read five of the seven in the last few months. I'm guessing it has something to do with me really turning off from social media and scheduling my steemit time.

Where are you going?

Hi dear beautiful Princess of Beautiful Capetown and finally the secret of your beauty is disclosed haha 😂
Because your city is among the most beautiful places of the earth full of beautiful weather too.
Enjoy your time.

God bless you dear Mam.

THank you Oodeyaa! It was lovely.

Beautiful Beach. I miss summer already.

Posted using Partiko iOS

And if I am not mistaken, you've just finished summer?!

Yes.. ahhh haaa haaaa ha aahhh (me crying) wahhhhh ahaha hahaha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Mother nature can be hard to keep up with
Looks like a beautiful day at the beach and being on the beach on a nice day is so revitalizing isnt it, I just got back from a quick visit tot he beach

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83