The guilty feeling...

in #life5 years ago

We all have been there, we all experience this every single day. The guilty feeling is terrible, is not it? It's a killer. If we procrastinate, we feel guilty, if we do something wrong; maybe unintentionally we feel guilty. Guilty feeling hurts us. When we feel morally wrong or which doesn't meet our ethical standard, we feel guilty.

hustle-and-bustle-1738072_1920.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

But, I believe the guilty feeling is a good thing, you know. As long as we feel guilty, we feel human. Is there any way to live life without feeling guilty? Maybe, No! I'm okay with short term guilty feelings. But when it comes long term, okay, let me think if there any! ha ha ha...maybe not. I have very few guilty feelings and regrets in my life. But yeah, I struggle with the short term guilty feeling.

I usually feel guilty when a behavior or a particular thing bother me. Like when I procrastinate my works. You know, I'm a mom, I have so many things to take care of. And working on is major to run my life smoothly. I also sneak peek my social media feed and feels really guilty as it kills my working hour. There are so many, which one I sould pick? Like if I get mad with someone, or if I miss showing my smiling face; it makes me feel guilty.

So, what I do when I have to go through a continuous guilty feeling?

I try to see the bigger picture. It helps to recognize what I'm doing wrong, why I'm feeling wrong and what I need to do to feel better. Yeah, I try to make something up as an excuse. But the excuse is not a good thing. Rather pointing out everything locally helps a lot.

I apologize to myself and go on with my regular life. Yeah, saying sorry to thyself is not easy. Fake promises come in as a chain reaction. But it helps to reduce the guilty feeling.

I try to do some other things good to reduce that specific guilty feeling. Like saying something good to people or helping others in their office work or anything.

question-1301144_1920.png
Image by John Hain from Pixabay

I don't know what's your strategy is to reduce the guilty feeling or how much it bothers you. But I think long term guilty feeling is really harmful. So we should really think about it. And I think there's nothing to shame about to get help from others if we struggle to make us feel okay.

What do you think? What's your strategy to get rid of guilty feelings? I would love to know...

THANKS FOR READING

Much Love

text16.png

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter Facebook Discord

Sort:  

You might be interested in @abigail-dantes post this week. It's on guilt.
Nice discussion of it. Thanks.

Thanks for informing. I will look at it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing better than acting in the direction you think right. Done is done. Did you learn anything? What do you do next?

Not saying I have mastered that principle...yet.

Yeah, I understand that I can't make anything better what is already in action. And making me feel better in other ways and giving myself excuses is not a healthy process.
Im struggling to find a way as I have said. And I know they're lot more things to improve in myself to deal with it better.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I really appreciate that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you rem-steem! You've just received an upvote of 57% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

As a recovering catholic and gen Xer, guilt is built within me after a lifetime.

I use it as a motivator and know it is a passive notion that is put in place to battle complacency and laziness.

I will not put up with an organization that has a blame culture because of a lazy leader. Not worth the grief.

I just step back and focus on the solution and have to understand “it is what it is”. I try not to turn off the guilt totally, just not let it be predominant.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Guilty feeling can surely motivate us, as I have said. I also believe that we can't turn it off and accepting is a very good practice.
But you know the uncomfortable feeling can lead us to anxiety. I understand that we can't make everything good. But yeah, I feel guilty and try to make me feel better other ways. I know it should not be the way. And I will surely try to focus on this how can I improve myself. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It really helps me to understand better! 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

For sure!

This discussion is great to have for the improvement of all humanity. What better use of the blockchain?

😊😇

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Curated by @Rehan12

Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87