What's Next? Graduating With A BA English

in #life6 years ago

April 21. I stand in line with my graduating class, all wearing black gowns and caps with a blue tassel dangling by our right ears. Music swells as the orchestra begins playing the graduation march. I walk down the aisle toward the stage and my diploma: a moment I have dreamed of and worked my butt off for four years. When they call my name, I walk across the stage, shake the hand of the President, and accept my diploma: BA English, Great Distinction. One small moment for years of work, and so worth it.

31357925_10155442544636475_4037574492975792128_n.jpg

Now that I’ve graduated, I have to come face to face with a question that I have been asked since I decided I would pursue a BA in English: “What are you going to do with that?”

Now, what follows might sound like a bit of a rant, but I hope it is a helpful and thoughtful rant, because this subject is very dear to me.

I’ve noticed that a certain kind of attitude accompanies the subject of English and the Humanities that isn’t applied to other disciplines. If someone is studying to be a plumber, then obviously they have a job as a plumber waiting for them at the other end. It’s the same for nursing, engineering, computer science, etc. STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) majors are celebrated because they have something tangible and obvious to contribute to society. Where do the Humanities and specifically my English degree fit into this equation?

If I had to fit my rant into three words, I would say: "Don't underestimate English!" I don't mean that English is more important than other disciplines, but it should be viewed as an equally valuable degree. The question I’m asked when I reveal I have an English degree, “Are you going to teach?” always irritates me. I’m annoyed, not because I don’t think teaching is important, which it obviously is (my teachers have been some of the most influential people in my life)! I’m mostly annoyed that people assume that teaching is the only thing you can do with an English degree. That could not be more false.

The skills that are required to succeed in the English program transfer over to succeeding in the working world. You might be asking, as I did until recently: What is the point of reading books? It isn’t really practical, is it? I originally studied English because I love the work, and I still do. I love reading and writing but despaired at the thought of finding a job.

My university requires all graduates to complete a Graduation Portfolio where students reflect on their years of learning, progress, and beliefs as they prepare to enter the working world. I was required to update my resume, “apply” for a job, and write a cover letter in preparation for my graduation interview. This exercise proved very enlightening as I realized the overwhelming opportunities that exist for individuals with my set of skills. I ended up “applying” for a job as a Content Writer for a real estate company in Toronto. The job asked for someone who could communicate clearly, both orally and in writing, and who had research skills. I was incredibly encouraged because I realized I have been practicing such skills for four years!

In an English degree, you practice close reading and critical thinking. You learn how give a concise five-minute oral presentation and to write and lead an hour-long seminar. You learn how to quote important statements from secondary sources, but also to comprehend and analyze them in your own words. You reflect on how society has changed through the eyes of novelists across history and how that applies to today. An English major is someone who is reflective, analytical, a communicator, and ultimately someone who has a lot of practical and tangible skills to offer to society.

Instead of being worried about the lack of an obvious job waiting at the end of graduation, I think the open-ended nature of an English degree is exciting! I know I have acquired essential skills that can benefit society in a myriad of ways. Does that mean my future employment is set in stone? Of course not. I actually intend to stay in school for one more year and pursue a diploma in Theatre Arts from a theatre school in the fall. Again, both you and I might be tempted to view the arts as a waste of time. Instead, I would encourage you to appreciate the role the arts and humanities play in benefiting society and sculpting culture just as much as you appreciate the tools that STEM offers to build a well-functioning society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76