Can People Really Say That You Are The Reason They Smiled Today?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I got out of the bed with a rather strange goal and though I always thought of it every time, only that this time I chose to let it consume me.

There are more than 7.89 billion people in the world today and counting, with no doubt, we each have different goals, thoughts, ideas, perceptions, actions, and way of life, everything we do has a certain level of difference although we are one species.


Pixabay

Now, because everyone is too busy with his/her business, we fail to take note of the feelings of other people, we ignore the fact that, some people might be going through pains and life trouble that some of us have scaled out of or have an experience similar to it.

Sometimes, we miss the small things in life because we aim for the bigger things, and I must confess, the small things bring about big things. How many times do you stop to help a senior citizen even when you are late for work?
How many times do you feed a kid, and I don’t mean your child, I mean someone who's not even related to you? Can people truly say that you are the reason why they smiled today?

Every person in the world goes through stuff that makes them stronger and for some others, they need help to scale through. One day, I set out to go for a musical concert, on my way, I met this kid on the street, who had no parents, he was looking very funny like, he hadn't eaten for days.

When I approached him, he said that he was hungry and that he needed only a small cut out of my money, that he would find other people to make up the money for him to get the meal.


Pixabay

In my mind, I knew that the probability of him getting another person would be so slim and thin that, you might not even see it. While I was thinking of that, it struck me that I only had my transportation for the musical concert and if I broke the money then, I would be walking the whole night to the concert.

Besides all of this, I knew also that to get a proper meal for this kiddo, would cost me half of my transport fair, if not all though. When all these thoughts started to ransack my consciousness, I decided to get the little boy the meal.

I got the boy the meal, and it was fitting to watch him eat, oh the joy on his face, as he divided the chicken with his little teeth, swallowed the rice with wholeheartedness, and drank the coke with happiness crowding his judgement and when he was done, he smiled and said these words to me "Mr, You are a good Man, you will never go hungry, and you will always have to give to people. Thank you for putting a smile on my face, and I assure you that I will do the same for another kid, starting today."

After that day, I didn’t see that kid again, but deep down in my heart, there was a calm sensation and feeling that, he had indeed changed from the receiver and someday I would get to meet him.

Being good has no price tag, helping people doesn’t require anything but your heart, just be willing to put people beyond yourself, invest in them as little as possible, don’t just walk past that guy, don't see an old lady carrying a bag and ignore her because you are late for an interview, value people, wake up with the thought that you will put a smile on someone's face today.

P.S: If you are still wondering whether I made it to the concert that night, well I did! And I even got a better offer that allowed me to coach some kids on music theory and I earned twice as much than even what I spent that night for the kid.

''Be good, It never kills, it only makes you better." Thank you!☮

Sort:  

Oh wow! Beautiful post!

#Bigwaves

Congratulations @rhemakosi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You are the sweetest..I'm so glad I finally met you on Steemit!

Posted using Partiko Android

My deepest gratitude, the honor is all mine. I think I am privileged to know you. It's really an honor

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91