On the Curbing of Wanting & Harmonious Chill Spaces

in #life5 years ago

I want a almond coloured leather sofa in the corner of my house, near the bookshelves. Like, really want. It'll look so classy and cosy and beautiful. I've never been able to afford one, and think it's about time I splurged. We moved the table away from the bookshelves as it was all too cluttered, and thought a nook would be in order - a place to create, play guitar, read, and chill. We only live in a small house, but we're economical with space and it's all open plan so that there are 'areas' in one large room rather than separate rooms, with the kitchen in the middle.

It'd look really nice with my rug, bought in a souk in Morrocco after much green tea and haggling.

image.png

I had the couch picked out from a company in Melbourne and all - chrome legs, streamlined in design, elegant. They'd have it ready in six weeks - a long time to wait, but it'd be here in the new year so I was all prepared to be patient. 1800 bucks, but it was on sale, so I could get it for 1300. Perfect - we had a Christmas bonus to spend, plus I'd designed a website for a community group which would pay for it.

Wanting, wanting, wanting.

Was the couch going to make me happy?

Plus - um - cows? Thus, I slapped myself in the face and rethought the whole thing according to @riverflows values. I've always been good at putting spaces together without any money - charity shopping and making do has been part of my way of doing things forever. I don't need to compete with anyone and I know I can make a place look beautiful (at least from my point of view) just by re-arranging things and maybe splurging on a cheap cushion or two.

Plus, I had a sofa in the guest bus which I wasn't really using. Sure, it was old and the vinyl was cracking on the seat (we'd picked it up in hard rubbish collection on the side of the road in Melbourne coming back from a gig one morning) but a throw would work, wouldn't it?

image.png

Back in from the bus it came. I remembered why it was in the bus - it's not the most comfortable seat ever, being fairly narrow and being - well, a cheap Ikea throwaway couch. Then I remembered that it is actually a convertable bed, so I made it into it's bed formation. Still, it had all those cracks in the vinyl. A throw? No, it just slides off and is too messy for me. A-ha! Flip it! In it's new formation, with the back rest of the sofa now to the front, and the front of the sofa to the back with it's arms cranked up on an angle, it's perfect!

image.png

A bit of re-arranging and a couple of new cushions (I love the green, a colour that's also in the rug) and moving of the monstera deliciousa from the bathroom, and I'm happy.

Feeling good for not being part of a consumer culture.

Plus, it's damn comfortable and I think it's going to be my new chill spot for the summer.

Sort:  

I want to hug you right now.

I give hugs back. Big ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hang on.... why lol xxx I just take random hugs, didn't even ask what for haha...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A good BIG really comfy sofa was one of the major purchases we made. That was in 1999 and it is still going strong. One of the major things it had to have was long enough and comfy enough to sleep on.

But it looks like you made the old one work, and work well! Good for you! Like the green pillows!

Oh it's so important to have a good comfy sofa. We do have one in the other area... it's a 3 seater and one of the only big things we bought apart from a latex mattress and a big piece of granite for island bench.

Posted using Partiko Android

I too am a member of the makeshift and make do club. Great work, I say!
I have a convertible couchbed thingy like that that is totally broken on one side. I got it from the free-next-to-the-dumpster space, lol. I wish it had arms to turn around like that, that's pretty cool!

I love free stuff!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

oh wow! gorgeous!!!! I love the couch and everything in the picture, especially the view. Look at all that green, tropical paradise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11