Reminiscing movie way before internet tv

in #life5 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Back in the days, way back before internet tv were a thing, watching movies was unlike anything you can do today. You can only watch a movie on cable tv.

I don't normally watch Netflix but today I had a little time while preparing my blog materials. I opened my Netflix and the first movie suggested was Hong Kong 1980s movies.

I immediately remembered the days when there was only cable tv. Internet speed was at kbps at that time. No Facebook and no Netflix but only cable tv to rely on. Living in Malaysia, there were only 3 channel options, TV1, TV2 and TV3. The most popular movies back then were either Kung fu movies, Hindi movies, Philipines drama and Cartoon.

ckbgrze0mp.jpg
Image Source

Patience was the key to make sure I get to watch all the movies. For series movies, you have to wait one week for the next episodes to screen. If there were 12 episodes, you can finish the series within 12 weeks. Usually, the screening time and day is the same. If the movie falls on Monday at 8 in the morning, every week it will screen the same time and day. Sometimes, it will air twice in the evening, depending on my luck. You must not miss the time, otherwise, you won't know when it will be aired again.

Experiencing watching movies back in the isn't something you watch movies nowadays. There's no LCD or LED tv. Only good old CRT tv or what I call the big butt tv.

Tv advertisement was the only thing that can make you go to the washroom or elsewhere. Usually, you will only have 2 to 3 minutes to go elsewhere. There's no pause or rewind. You have to be there after the advertisement finished. Otherwise, you will miss out a few portions of the movies. I sometimes face this, so I have to ask my sibling what I missed. Depending on your luck, they will entertain you or they might just ignore you because they wanted to watch the movie too.

xli9ed8tb0.png

I watch Once Upon A Time in China. Starring by Jet Li. He looked so young in the movie. It was really a nice movie to watch. I kinda a sucker to Kung fu movies. I really like to watch these kinds of action movies. Watching this movie really brings me back to that early days. Bygone is bygone but the memories still live dearly in my heart.

tld83cu9cz.png

Looking into all the movies listed in here, a melancholy feeling flows deep in my heart. I see all the movies that I get to watch during the earlier days. Perseverance was the key to be able to watch your favourite movies.

Having the chance to again watch this movies has reminded me back of the good old days. It's not that I don't like the technologies nowadays, but it just reminded me of how cool it was back in the days.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11