Quit That Job! Entry #5 - Doing It!

in #life6 years ago

My god was I nervous. A friend told me that being nervous and being excited were basically the same feeling (hi if you're reading this!). I got home from work Thursday and wrote a resignation letter. I had told friends for months that I was tired of my job. I had been looking for a new one for so long that I knew I needed a complete change rather than just immediately moving to a new desk at a new company.

So I went into work a half hour early as usual and waited for the manager...and waited. My team leader came in. I thought of seeing her first but ultimately I knew I had to go to the department head for this. I think he finally came in around 10...and immediately closed his door. Finally I saw him leave and come back. The door was left open. So I went in.

I asked if he had a minute and just let it out. "I'm putting in my two weeks notice and leaving the company." He asked if I found another job. I was honest and said no. He asked me what my plans were. I said I plan to ride my bike. I mean that's the truth. I want some time off to just enjoy the summer. I told him I plan to look for some freelance and remote work as well. He asked why I wasn't happy there. I didn't feel I could be completely truthful, but I told him some of the reasons. Basically, I have lost all creativity there. I'm tired of writing and creating training about the same subject matter for ten years. I have to try something new. He said he understood and you're only young once. He said this was probably the only job I've had. OK, I'm almost 44, but thanks again to every single manager who thinks I look like I'm in my twenties. I'm flattered that you think I appear so youthful but I have to think this hurts me in my career there. That's alright. I didn't want to make that job my career.

Anyway, they took it surprisingly well and want me to finish my two weeks there. I could use a couple more paychecks anyway. They even asked if I would come back at a negotiable hourly wage to help train whoever replaces me. That can be worked out. In the meantime, my job for the next two weeks is to create documentation outlining how to do my job. My job is creating training materials for them. This will be fun creating training on how to do my own job. I even recommended someone in our QA department to take over for me. It would be helpful to have someone who already knows what the company does.

I went and told my team leader. She seemed happy for me. I told my co-workers. I think I might inspire others to quit and pursue their passion even if only temporarily. They even want to have a happy hour for me after my last day. I'm still not drinking at the moment though. I'll have to see how that goes.

I've taken such a leap in the past and it worked out, for a while at least. But when you aren't happy you need to change things. I would have become worse at my job, feeling uninspired, while seeing that so many people I know have found ways to enjoy life. I have friends who have quit and just taken to the road. They inspire me. I am a little tied down by a dog and a house, but I still can take bike trips. I'm working on getting a roommate who can help take care of the dog. I think it will help him just to have another person around. I'm going to try taking him on weekend rides but I'm not sure how he would be for anything longer than that.

Hopefully I can find work that is more fulfilling. I want to work remotely and take my job with me to other places. I can't be tied down to an office job anymore. I don't have a family to support. I have made sure now that I won't have kids. I don't need that false sense of security provided by a full time job. I'm excited to just be able to wake up any day and just ride my bike wherever I want to go.

DSC01193 (3).JPG

I use vote promotion services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I don't use bidbots that sell votes for low quality content. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus.

Sort:  

congrats, welcome to the free world from slavery :-)

my friend recently did the same and working on his online store

Thanks! That's also something to look into. I do plan to sell off collectibles and some records online. I party just want to make space but I also know they're worth money.

or just feelance, by selling you skills

Oh yeah. Definitely. I just need a couple weeks off before I start looking for freelance work.

Respppecccctttt! Takes a lot of courage to do what you have done my brother. Super proud of you. Please keep sharing, would love to see where your journey takes you :)

PS: Hopefully we can ride together one day

I have prepared for awhile, saving money, finding other sources of income and living on the cheap. I want to do what I enjoy and not what makes me miserable. It would be awesome to meet other cyclists from here someday.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Damn scary dude but a good move!

I did the same thing recently and am now unemployed back in europe on the road. You dont live in switserland perhaps right? :D Im looking for a house with a dog preferably haha. I love dogs but I am not always there.

Good luck!

Haha no, but do you want to move to Buffalo, New York? One of my hostel roommates in San Francisco last year was from Switzerland. I put that on a list of places to visit someday.

let me think about buffalo...hmmmmm, nehhhhh :)

But drop by when you are doing a euro trip!

Of course. It'll be fun to meet all the Steemians on here in real life someday.

This is so awesome, congratulations!!!!! I'm recently on a strikingly similar path, left the company I've been at for 7 years and helped build, and exploring my own projects. Riding my bike, re-discovering enjoyment in my life. I'm 41, so this really hit home. Way to go, thank you for posting this and I look forward to following your new adventures!!

Thanks! I'm glad to hear the stories of other people carving out their own path. It's not too late. I can't wait 20-some years to retirement to enjoy my life. And not to be morbid, but any of us could die any day. I'd rather have spent that day doing what I love. It would be a regret to have put everything aside for some future that never even happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37