We are the Rod Squad. A family of four out of NYC, starting a new chapter in our lives after our recent miscarriage.

in #life6 years ago

The video is in honor of my son, Michael Angel Rodriguez.

In December, my pregnant wife, Kelis Rodriguez, suffered from preeclampsia, and our son, Michael Angel Rodriguez, was stillborn at 24 weeks gestation.

After my son's miscarriage, my wife's preeclampsia developed into what is called HELLP syndrome - hemolysis (H), elevated liver enzymes (EL) and low platelet count (LP). She endured severe abdominal pain, and doctors heavily medicated her. My wife was under close observation while her blood pressure got back to normal and her platelet count increased.

We were in the hospital for 11 days, while my two boys Lance, 11, and Christopher, 8, had to stay with my cousin, and then with my mother in law.

I remember as I heard other newborn babies cry in the hospital, I wish I was the guy who had that problem. I yearned to be the father who had to feed him or her his or her bottle or massage his or her stomach to get the gas out or do whatever it took to soothe our crying baby.

To stop crying and beating myself up, I kept telling myself that I already had that chance with my two boys, and I should be grateful.

When my wife saw a newborn in the elevator on our way from a test, she began to cry, and I told her that we already had our children. We had to be grateful for them.

After I picked up my sons to take them to see my wife, I felt my sons' bones, and I realized how hard they were in comparison to little Michael who only weighed 1 lb. 8 oz.

In tears, I realized that there was still a lot of work that I had to do with my children.

My name is Neal Rodriguez. I am a fatherless son. My mission is to ensure that my children, my wife, and I do everything we can to become the happiest, most productive people, and most helpful people we can be.

Michael taught us to show more gratitude for each other, our boys, and everything we have.

The video is in honor of Michael.

The footage shows how he has helped us embark on a new chapter in our lives during the past six months where I have intensively taught myself, my wife, and two sons how to be mentally and physically prepared to deal with life in the best way possible.

Hope you like it. Please subscribe to our YouTube channel and join us on our journey:
https://www.youtube.com/rodsquad

Happy Father's Day to all the fathers and mothers who have to be fathers, and all the fathers in your lives.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit you and your family and a pleasure to meet your family


Welcome to Steemit @rodsquad!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Great post ..
Just work .. Be creative and sophisticated in your work
We have a wonderful opportunity
Thank you for sharing your words with us‏..

don't worry boss, God always done the good thing which is better for us. anyway , wish your happiness and enjoy your life. May God bless you @rodsquad

You are a great person to dedicate that video to your son

Thank you so much, merryslamb! Greatly appreciate you watching it. He really did teach us a lot.

Greetings, rodsquad! Wish you a very wonderful journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) All the best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you for the warm welcome and for linking me to those resources. I am very happy to be here! :)

You're highly welcome @rodsquad.. beautiful family u got there. Your story inspired me... enjoy the new chapters and face of your life....and also welcome to steemit.

Thank you so much for your kind wishes, favourjames! You take great pictures!

Loading...

You got a 14.48% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rodsquad!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Wow, what a journey you guys have already had. I'm sorry to hear about your experiences. Well done for joining steemit, I hope this brings you all some success! I'm sure you'll do well here.

Thank you so much for your kind wishes, yasminep. Greatly appreciate your welcoming words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71