Sort:  

Awesome write-up man, the surprises that catch you, the things we stumble upon, those are sometimes where we catch our break.

I have a feeling consciousness is the new frontier, that's where my prep and time is going, I think it's the future, exploring and working with consciousness

You’re a smart man... ;-)

Yeah! So many people don't understand the pitfalls of goal-setting.

Whenever we set goals we insinuate searching for something we haven't yet. Goal-setting is the strategy of focusing on lack instead of abundance, detesting the beauty of the pathway and each moment's noteworthiness.

As soon as we set a goal it becomes crystal clear that the pathway itself isn't 100% in alignment with our Heart's fulfillment, because any goal comes along with at least a breeze of attachment to Time and discipline. Discipline is defined by potential outcome as the exclusive motivation to keep us on track with the execution of an occupation which is against our Heart's passion, as I told you in one of your previous posts.

Yet goal-setting's lure to achievement is a farce as well, for once attained, the ego's everlasting discontent tries its best to distract us from absorbing the splendor of our creation, instead longing for the immediate set of new goals which again tempt us with illusionary satisfaction.

Heart-based work doesn't require goals, for it is endowed with the unquenchable source of passion capable of creating a Universe of stellar Self-containment that instantly remunerates us with effervescent Joy. A Joy the ego's illusory enticement will never be able to emulate due to its discontent nature's relentless lookout for the fly in the ointment.

Ok.

This is absolutely the best comment on this thread yet.

As soon as we set a goal it becomes crystal clear that the pathway itself isn't 100% in alignment with our Heart's fulfillment...

This in particular. 👌👏⭐️

Epic last paragraph

I resonate with so much of what you've said that I can't possibly highlight it all, particularly as I'm writing from a horizontal position while I try to nurse an injured back. But to underscore a few key points....

It is so true that we often limit what can happen for us with our own faulty conception of what is possible and/or what is right for us. I too am so glad I failed to achieve all my goals of early life. I'd have been a ego-maniacal monster!

I am glad that life had grander plans for me, plans that continue to unfold in the form of unexpected blessings. Right now I appear to be buying a house in Taos, a place I'd never imagined going just a couple months ago. (I'm an island girl, not desert.) One thing after another keeps lining up around that and permaculture, community building, and natural building, the seeds of which I can see planted in my life across the decades, but which never added up to anything before.

I do think goals can be useful, but only if they are held more as the stepping stones you refer to. Sometimes we can only see the real destination once we've taken the step we can see. We grow in the taking of that first step, such that we now are the person who has the capacity to take the next one. So long as we're satisfied with this pattern, all is good.

I like to think of it as a spiral of creation rather than a line. If we look for life to progress as a line, we wind up discouraged when it seems like we're revisiting the same issues again and again, still not quite hitting the mark. But if we see it as a spiral, we know we're coming around that point again, but this time in an orbit that's closer to the center. This gives us that elusive sense of progress we humans so crave.

Btw, I also lived in Bali for a bit, though only a year. I was dancing there, teaching it and studying it. I also started channeling while I was there. Incredible place! Really attuned me to the spirit-led life, where the only prayer is "yes."

There's a lot of sense in the pieces you wrote, there's need for us to set a goal from our dreams and it should be goals that is visible to be realised. To set goals mean making a change in one's life In order to achieve certain, objectives sometimes it might be truly helpful and enlightening to explore new mental territory just like you did by hitting jackpots through steemit according to your experiences. But when you are not heading in a particular directions, you will arrive no where. Also, when you have no specific goals in mind, you will end up accomplishing nothing. But when you give yourself clear and specific goals, then your actions takes up the power of purpose that can help you to be more creative, resourceful, persistent and being effective.

It came once I finally let go of the whole goal-setting dogma and simply embraced the flow of life - making myself open to what presented itself in alignment, and showing up to engage fully without concern of what it would lead to.

Yes, accepting reality of life does matter, sometimes we might think of getting something done in our own way but the change will just come naturally without any form of preparation or such. If you find yourself in a good and useful situation, or you encounter a difficult and troubling situation, you can make the best from it no matter what. Accepting life's reality will surely push you to get yourself busy making your own unique positive contribution using whatever you have to get what you want by following certain protocol and process you will surely succeed.

Such as... sometimes what we think we want may really not be what is actually best for us....

The decision of setting a goal , and going after what we want does seems right to anyone who hears it. But the truth of the matter isn’t bitter but the fact . Some do find it bitter and fail to come to the reality of it , some got to realize and amend their course as it dawns on them that the goal they set is not what is best for them.

We don’t always know what life / the universe may have in store that is far better than what we might choose for ourselves, based in our limited awareness.

We never know what opportunities and blessings we might end up cutting ourselves off from, were we to so fervently think we know what is best for us.

And of course, there’s always the bit: what we think we want might actually end up being very different than we imagined it as.

This is so true about me talking from personal experience. I never knew I could be a singer , If I had known then I wouldn’t had studied Computer Science in College but Music. Now I realized my goal of being a computer scientist isn’t the best for me after all, I’ve earned nothing from being a computer scientist but I’ve earned some good and kind hearted friends with music and their support has been a blessing.

They say “luck = preparation meets opportunity,” and I had undergone alot of preparation. But there was no goal I ever could have set to have created the opportunity - whereas it presented itself in perfect timing.

Hmmmmm true words, preparations meets opportunity. Only a prepared mind is ready to flow with life the way it comes . Wrong goals pursuit will only get one going the wrong direction. Deep knowledge here I must say

That the opportunities leading to our wealth are probably not those we first think or expect.

Life lesson this is to me , I see myself walking the path I never imagined myself walk and I have no regrets.

For those who’ve been committed to cultivating their skills, investing in their knowledge, and tuning their senses to the changes occurring in the world - preparing themselves to create value when a specific opportunity arises that matches the talent they’ve diligently developed and is able to be effectively applied in tandem with the knowledge they’ve acquired... SURF’S UP.

Some valuable advice I must say, cultivating my skills, investing my knowledge and diligently developing my talents preparing myself for opportunities to arise are my newly found hobbies. Thanks @rok-sivante for impacting knowledge.

If I had known then I wouldn’t had studied Computer Science in College but Music. Now I realized my goal of being a computer scientist isn’t the best for me after all, I’ve earned nothing from being a computer scientist...

Well, there is probably something worthwhile you learned and gained through that chapter that may serve you well ahead, which you can leverage somehow in a different field, whether music or otherwise.

At least in my own life, there have been events and periods that seem scattered or unrelated - yet there comes a point of understanding of how the dots end up connecting, how while sometimes the steps seemed like they may have been going in “wrong,” distracting directions - the pieces of the puzzle end up fitting together quite well.

(Or maybe I’m still just trying to rationalize my decade of procrastination in having continually put producing music on the back burner. In either case... as having been through that, I’d advise that if you are strongly feeling the call to music, DO IT. And I wouldn’t say that if I didn’t recognize multiple talents you already have to work with that are fundamental to success on that path. ;-)

Well, there is probably something worthwhile you learned and gained through that chapter that may serve you well ahead, which you can leverage somehow in a different field, whether music or otherwise.

Yeah yeah , you’re so right . The knowledge I got there leads to how I figured out to making my music from my phone. A mobile studio I love to describe it as.

I’d advise that if you are strongly feeling the call to music, DO IT. And I wouldn’t say that if I didn’t recognize multiple talents you already have to work with that are fundamental to success on that path.

Yes I do , music is the only thing I do that seems effortless to me despite the whole lots of effort I put into it. Music is a life I want to live but limitations to dreams are inevitable. I look to have a degree in music , that is to professionally be trained to manage my vocals and of course in music production. This is a plan I’m gonna work hard to carry out cause I’m not seeing it as a dream anymore. No more setting goals but preparing myself for opportunities.

Thankfully, in this day and age, formal education is much less important/valuable - in fields like music, in particular.

Sometimes experience trumps classroom learning, practice being incredibly more powerful than being preached to. And, there is so much education online for free or cheap nowadays, that much of what you could learn studying music in school, you could simply find on YouTube.

Two of the best music production educational resources I’ve come across over the years:

Academy.fm
Sonic Academy

Both are very reasonably priced around $15-30/month, and well-worth it, as they have great tutorials.

And then again, YouTube is always a great source.

;-)

Sometimes experience trumps classroom learning, practice being incredibly more powerful than being preached to. And, there is so much education online for free or cheap nowadays, that much of what you could learn studying music in school, you could simply find on YouTube.

You’re right about this , you’re so right . I used to think having a musical degree is the best for me , it turned out that what I feel is best for me isn’t afterall. This is no longer a goal, all I need is to just prepare myself for opportunities which could be opened up to me. Thanks for mentoring, you’re so much appreciated sir .
Checking those music production educational resources out .

Loading...

From the times memorial some people get to set their goal and work towards it to achieve it, some bled for their goals but they didn’t even get close to achieving it,
Now am not saying that one should not set a goal for himself, but life have it own way of resetting one destiny.
For example in Nigeria where I come from I wanted to be a Lawyer , but after applying to read Law in different schools I was not given admission, eventually I ended up studying Performing and Media Communications. Now am enjoying been a journalist,both as broadcaster and print journalist.
So you see life have it own way of twisting one fate! Great post @rok-sivante

When we don't set goals for ourselves, our dreams become unachievable.

I have seen many ambitious people who dreams were caught short because they failed one and some abandon their goal and chase others because they feel theirs isn't good enough. You had a share of it all but kept trying and today,here is your success story. So many will not succeed on steemit, I have seen quite some numbers of friends though I ain't judging. They joined steemit before me and fell side ways along the line and market price was one of the reason their high level of interest dropped but forgot those successful ones on steemit started by building a foundation by setting up a block,then with time started adding other blocks. Everyone wants to be rich, yes I haven't found one person who doesn't. I have learnt in time that only persistence and zeal enables one to attain a goal or reach a success height. "The key to success is given to everyone, keep trying different locks until one or two opens"

This is great and I love how you go right to the point.
I have never been great at setting goals because when I tried setting goals, I don't really succeed and then I get disappointed.
What I have learned through my experiences and what works for me is just to always, always do my best, my 100% no matter what I am doing and what I start, I finish, otherwise I don't sleep or feel really good.
And because I know I did my best, I can rest in peace, knowing that at the right place, at the right time, things will happen for me, as long as I am moving forward, growing, no giving up and being consistent I will succeed in whatever life has to offer for me.

Thanks for this great read @rok-sivante

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34