Observations: Two Lanes into One and the Human Condition

in #life6 years ago

In the "wisdom" of our small town's leaders, a major traffic artery leaving town "merges" from two lanes into one. It leads to a major highway. From the other direction, exiting off this highway and coming home, we have the same problem.

Why? The road crosses a local stream on a single-lane bridge. When they had the chance to "bite the bullet" and spend the extra money to "do it right the first time" and replace this old bridge, they elected to pass. Decided years ago and no sign, in the foreseeable future, of it changing.

"Icing on the cake?" We're not talking about residential area 25 - 30 mph speeds. The speed limit on both sides is 55 mph, heading into these single lane merges. And, as you might imagine, people are often in a hurry to get home (or get to work) and view this as just a "suggestion" ...

So ... We are left to deal with the consequences … How is that working for us?

img src

Travelling this route to work, I get the daily opportunity to observe how far people are prepared to go in their "it's all about me and, in spite of any words I may say to contrary, my actions clearly are indicating I don't give a @#^$%&#^$# about you!" journey through this world.

We have a lot of traffic leaving town and, in this over-congested state, this is unavoidable, right? Sometimes, particularly at the usual times of the day, this may be somewhat true. But, that is not why I am writing tonight, as that would be somewhat understandable.

No, we are talking about people who are actually in the right lane, as the merge approaches, but then elect to swerve out into the wrong lane, i.e. the one about to end, and floor it to get past the car in front of them! Of course, their intentions are good, and they accelerate into a nice, safe merge back into the right lane, right?

No! Their objective is simply to get even a few feet in front of you, "playing chicken," so you have to hit your brakes to let them in (as well as everyone behind you ...). Or have an accident. They've made their decision. You have to make yours ...

Well, let's make one more attempt to try make this "okay" ... Surely these people are just "visitors" right? They didn't realize what was coming and "will do better" next time? Sure ... While that has to be true in some cases, the merges are well marked. And, like me, other residents of our town are travelling this route every day. They know very well what is coming ...

So, I'm exaggerating and this actually rarely happens, right? No! The opposite is true. There are certainly some days where we all manage "to play along nicely in the sandbox," but those days are the exceptions, not the rule.

Well, then, sure there are a few "jerks" out there @roleerob, but most of us just take it in stride and respond well, right? Of course we do ...

img src

😊

Definitely one way to handle the situation. Don't get even, get ahead! That's the spirit! That should take care of it ...

What does this simple and I imagine pretty common illustration say about our "human condition?" Twice a day, driving to and from work, I am given fresh opportunities to think about this question.

The progressives among us would say people are basically "good" and no problem really, right? Or, maybe for the evolutionists out there, this is just "survival of the fittest" in action and it will all sort itself out. Over time. A very long time ... "All's well that ends well," right?

Yes, well ... Let's just say the "empirical evidence" I am gathering every day, on my commute to and from work, suggests something different ... Stated in another way, educated as an engineer, if I plot this "empirical evidence" for some trend analysis, how are we doing? Just an unbiased, objective look says what? Moving in the "right" direction? We're "getting better?" Let’s see …

Years ago, in my "old life," I spent years travelling all over the western United States and quite a bit in western Canada, as well. No question, there were some areas in which I dreaded having to drive. One state stood out well above the rest.

I could sum up what I perceived to be the main focus of driver “education" in that area as, "the best defense is a good offense!" You get the idea. I'll leave out the names "to protect the guilty" (hint - it is on the "left coast" of our great country, is very large, and starts with a "C" ... 😊), but I was very thankful when my profession no longer required constant travel.

For awhile, these types of driving experiences were just memories and largely in my past, at least for the most part. Yes, there were the occasional “flare-ups,” but they really were fairly rare. At least where I lived. Not a problem.

Lately? The trend is most definitely in the wrong direction and I see this more and more. It’s worse than simply rude, inconsiderate “me first” behavior. I have lost count of the number of accidents I have driven past.

"A person who studies or is an expert in the branch of medicine which deals with the incidence, distribution, and possible control of diseases."

Oxford dictionary definition of Epidemiologst

If I were an epidemiologist, I'd say we have a disease. Maybe not a physical one, but of the heart. Of the soul. And it's spreading ...

Not good …

The answer? A lot to think about.

So, coming home this evening, contemplating on the latest incident of the above, I wanted to jot down these thoughts. How are driving conditions where you live? And how has it been over time? Going in the “right” direction? Or getting worse? What are your thoughts about the future and solutions to problems of "the human condition" like these?

As always, I look forward to hearing from you!

Posted using Busy.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28